A button not working out of nowhere, basic clean up did not fix it. (old 3ds)

Gowford

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Brazil
I'm fairly new to the 3ds scene, i bought the console about a month ago. For the entirety of that, it worked perfectly fine, even better than expected! I bought it used from a reasonably trustworthy seller and it came pre-jailbroken, which i thought about jailbreaking it myself since i don't necessarily trust pre-jailbroken stuff, but when i saw how slow it was to download anything on the 3ds, i decided against it. Not important though!

In the middle of the last week, i woke up to check my animal crossing stuff when i noticed the A button was no longer doing anything. Now, a few important details:

• The button still pressed as normal. Sound was perfectly fine, it clicked a little different than the others but every button clicked a bit differently than the last, so i thought this was fine.
  • It seems the button remains pressed no matter what, and releases only when the device is in sleeping mode/turned off. I know this because whenever i close the screen and open it back up, the button presses automatically, then continues to not work. I also know this because Animal Crossing behaves as if it's always pressed, but not as if it's pressed at any specific part of the game, so it never releases no matter what.

I have tried cleaning the 3ds 2 different ways. Putting some Isopropyl alcohol on the button from the outside then pressing it a lot, which made it work for around 5 minutes before stopping again. I did that a second time and it worked again for about as long, but it really seemed like it was on a timer and not related to actually pressing the button. Secondly i opened it up and cleaned the entire inside of the motherboard, including the outside of the membrane.