90nm or 65nm Cell

Discussion in 'Sony PlayStation 1 & 2' started by coolbho3000, Mar 1, 2008.

Mar 1, 2008

90nm or 65nm Cell by coolbho3000 at 6:33 PM (1,315 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. coolbho3000
    OP

    Member coolbho3000 GBATemp Kikkoman Naturally Brewed SoySauce Fanatic

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,095
    Location:
    Kikkoman Factory
    Country:
    Is there any pain-free way to check if a PS3 is using the 90nm or 65nm Cell? Without taking a power meter to it or taking it apart. I have an 80gB one bought last December and I'm curious to know.
     
  2. enigmaindex

    Member enigmaindex the Scarecrow

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    663
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    I dont think Sony has implemented the 65nm Cells yet.

    Im also curious, why do you want to know?
     
  3. lookout

    Member lookout GBAtemp Board Room

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,619
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    what the good about the 65nm Cell chip?

    - used low power and less heat? what else?....
     
  4. coolbho3000
    OP

    Member coolbho3000 GBATemp Kikkoman Naturally Brewed SoySauce Fanatic

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,095
    Location:
    Kikkoman Factory
    Country:
    They have already stated that they are putting 65nm Cells in PS3s now. [​IMG]
     
  5. ZeWarrior

    Member ZeWarrior TheWarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,810
    Country:
    Brazil
    You have the 90nm. Only the 40GB is currently packaged with the 65nm Cell. I know. My 40GB runs noticeably cooler than my 80GB.
     
  6. xcalibur

    Member xcalibur Gbatemp's Chocolate Bear

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,166
    Location:
    Sacred Heart
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You have more than one PS3...?
     
  7. kaotic_azn

    Newcomer kaotic_azn Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    Australia
    nothing wrong with having more than one PS3 in fact im thinking about having a second one put in my room and its cheaper than a 360 elite
     
  8. ZeWarrior

    Member ZeWarrior TheWarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,810
    Country:
    Brazil
    Exactly. I got a 2nd one to play GH3 with the Family, and watch BD Movies. Technically the 40GB is my Family's and the 80GB is mine. I consider both ''mine'' though. Besides me and my father have been on a Blu-ray shopping spree. 3 BD Movies in 1 week. @ this rate I'll be broke soon.
     

Share This Page