3ds system update

Discussion in '3DS - Games & Content' started by zlandar, Aug 19, 2012.

Aug 19, 2012

3ds system update by zlandar at 5:20 PM (1,028 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. zlandar
    OP

    Newcomer zlandar Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    Do system updates have to be manually installed or can Nintendo automatically install the update if you have the 3DS setup with a WIFI connection?

    If the system updates are manually installed is there a way to require the security pin to be entered so someone does not accidentally perform an update?
     
  2. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    You have to confirm/allow it.

    And no, there's no way to prevent accidental updating (Nintendo REALLY wants you to do it) other than never enabling wifi on the 3DS (so it never learns about updates).
     
  3. ferofax

    Member ferofax End of the World

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,564
    Location:
    Philippines
    Country:
    Philippines
    It's like Windows Update. If enabled, it can download firmware updates by itself and will nag you every chance it gets to update. But you can always say no.

    I wonder how long you'll be able to resist though.
     
  4. Tom Bombadildo

    Contributor Tom Bombadildo Honk!

    pip
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,820
    Location:
    I forgot
    Country:
    United States
    I thought parental controls required you to enter a pin in order to update?
     
  5. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    http://www.nintendo.com/consumer/systems/3ds/en_na/parents.jsp
    It's not in the list of things that can be blocked there, at least.
     
  6. spinal_cord

    Member spinal_cord Knows his stuff

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    2,871
    Location:
    somewhere
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    My last update didn't 'ask' me anything, I just opened the lid one morning and it told me I had to reset to finish the update.
     
  7. Tom Bombadildo

    Contributor Tom Bombadildo Honk!

    pip
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,820
    Location:
    I forgot
    Country:
    United States
    I vaguely remember having to enter a pin every time I had to update my 3DS when I had parental controls enabled. Might just be remembering wrong or maybe they change it since then, though.
     
  8. TheDreamLord

    Member TheDreamLord GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    924
    Location:
    Ireland
    Country:
    Ireland
    Is this not the DSi?
     
  9. Tom Bombadildo

    Contributor Tom Bombadildo Honk!

    pip
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,820
    Location:
    I forgot
    Country:
    United States
    No, it was a 3DS.
     
  10. Pleng

    Member Pleng GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,449
    Country:
    Thailand
    It changed on one of the more recent updates.

    Before you had to enter a PIN, now it's no longer required.



    True story. I read it in a book. Well on a forum.

    This one.
     
  11. Tom Bombadildo

    Contributor Tom Bombadildo Honk!

    pip
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,820
    Location:
    I forgot
    Country:
    United States
    Ah. I got rid of my 3DS before that update then I suppose.
     
  12. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    http://www.nintendo.com/consumer/systems/3ds/en_na/update.jsp?menu=about&submenu=ctr-info-menu-update

    [​IMG]

    Looks like Nintendo removed some info on their site about how updates are done... some info google indexed doesn't appear to exist on the page anymore, so Idunno' what the current situation is.
     

Share This Page