3DS partially regionfree?

Discussion in 'User Submitted News' started by GundamXXX, Jan 19, 2011.

Jan 19, 2011

3DS partially regionfree? by GundamXXX at 11:21 AM (4,204 Views / 0 Likes) 38 replies

  1. GundamXXX
    OP

    Member GundamXXX Ergo Ego

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,140
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Source

    Well this sounds intresting, how would they do that?
     


  2. cwstjdenobs

    Member cwstjdenobs Sodomy non sapiens

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,757
    Location:
    Ankh-Morpork
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Same as the 360 or Wii, have region locking as an option or an "all regions" region.
     
  3. heartgold

    Member heartgold GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4,276
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So wait, is it the hardware or the carts? [​IMG]

    EDIT: Nevermind, I assume it's hard coded in the hardware to lock out other regions. =/
     
  4. Kwartel

    Member Kwartel The fairest in all the land

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,298
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I think they mean that, because the hardware is different per region, the software may space out, because it's build for other hardware. Solution: Region-lock. So no foreign for you, mate.
     
  5. Tonitonichopchop

    Member Tonitonichopchop GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,210
    Country:
    United States
    I think Nintendo was talking under the assumption that if it was region free, some games wouldn't work properly. That's just what I got from it though.
     
  6. Nujui

    Member Nujui I need something to do.

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,933
    Location:
    Dreamland.
    Country:
    United States
    I like Region Free. Atleast then I can play games from a different region.
     
  7. GundamXXX
    OP

    Member GundamXXX Ergo Ego

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,140
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Maybe the regionlocks are a combination of hardware and software and when the software gets updates some games might no longer be victim of regionlocks due to incompatibility? Just a thought
     
  8. cwstjdenobs

    Member cwstjdenobs Sodomy non sapiens

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,757
    Location:
    Ankh-Morpork
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Someone else mentioned in one of the other 3DS region locked threads that the lock is only temporary. Maybe that's just to make sure that the stores don't move them to other countries so each region gets "enough" at launch. I can imagine for Wal-Mart say it may be more profitable for them to move a lot of US stock to ASDA stores in the UK. Then the US would have a shortage and hey, price hike...

    And maybe it's as simple with the "some games might not work" statement that you won't have the right fonts or whatever.
     
  9. GundamXXX
    OP

    Member GundamXXX Ergo Ego

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,140
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Thats sounds like a fair deal but how do you make it temporary?
     
  10. cwstjdenobs

    Member cwstjdenobs Sodomy non sapiens

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,757
    Location:
    Ankh-Morpork
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Updates, that also add "behind the scenes performance enhancements".
     
  11. TheTwoR's

    Member TheTwoR's Yay I can finally edit this thingy :D

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    670
    Country:
    Belgium
    I don't understand the point of this region locking garbage.
    They're actually LOSING money that way.
    "Hey I'm just gonna enter this store and get myself Mario Kart 3DS ..."
    "Oh crap my 3DS is Japanese. I guess I'll get the US game later."
     
  12. GundamXXX
    OP

    Member GundamXXX Ergo Ego

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,140
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Yeq but wasnt it going to be a hardware region lock? Not a whole lot software can do about that. If its possible to change the region with firmware then the 3DS will be exploited because hackers will eventually find out how to bypass it
     
  13. cwstjdenobs

    Member cwstjdenobs Sodomy non sapiens

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,757
    Location:
    Ankh-Morpork
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I don't know about how it's meant to be implemented, but I don't really see how it would work with just hardware, and I think a hardware solution would be easier to get around.

    And I didn't mean that a future update might let you change the region of the 3DS, just that it might take out the lock.
     
  14. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Seems I read somewhere that it will be up to game makers as to whether they want their game region locked or not on the 3DS. Sounds like region locking is a software-sided determination made by developers.
     
  15. gokujr1000

    Member gokujr1000 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,715
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    Australia
    Lets hope they all decide to make their games Region free.
     
  16. GundamXXX
    OP

    Member GundamXXX Ergo Ego

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,140
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    This would mean that the dumps will be regionfree regardsless. Even MORE reason to pirate in cases of bad localisation ^^
     
  17. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    yeah they'll let all the sw regionfree and that's it [​IMG]
     
  18. Celice

    Member Celice GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,916
    Country:
    United States
    It most likely won't be region free. The wording is to indicate that without outright stating so. There's no reason to fan bad flames, even if only a small minority would care anyways.
     
  19. Rock Raiyu

    Member Rock Raiyu Clock Up

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    5,066
    Location:
    Walking the path of heaven
    Country:
    United States
    If anything, I think it will be something like the PS3. Where the developers can choose whether to region lock the game or not.
     
  20. rockstar99

    Member rockstar99 Hi

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    7,375
    Location:
    Toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    If this gets confirmed, I will pre order a JAp console
     

Share This Page