Homebrew 3DS Outer Camera Crash

mouses11

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
I recently bought a used 3ds, after formatting it and setting it all up everything appears to be in order except the outer camera being "weird".

They work in games like Pokemon Ultra Sun QR code scanner.
They do not work when pressing the shoulders or launching the camera app and switching to them, it causes the system to freeze and turning it off\on is how I get out of it.

I've deduced that it is probably a software issue but I am not an expert by any means. Any help would be appreciated.

uyjulian

Homebrewer
Trophies
Website
sites.google.com
XP
Country
United States
You probably have a ribbon cable issue, preventing one of both of the outer cameras from working.

It is recommended to either repair the ribbon cable or replace the entire camera assembly to fix this issue. However, if you are not experienced in threading ribbon cables into circular holes, I would recommend getting someone else to fix it for you.

Clector

Trophies
XP
Country
Bangladesh
The console crashes on that if it isn't working properly, the best thing to do may be to replace the camera with a new one.

mouses11

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
You probably have a ribbon cable issue, preventing one of both of the outer cameras from working.

The camera works for QR Code scans, if the cameras ribbon cable wasn't attached then I shouldn't get feedback for QRs?

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

This is the best I've got to go off of, because it is identical to my issue except I do not seem to have the physical issues mentioned below unless it's a damaged trace inside the casing.

Markeyx said:
Sorry to drag this back from years ago but I am currently having the exact same issue with a NEW 2DS XL Pokeball edition.

The outer camera just shows a black screen in the main app and in camera calibration, but shows the picture just fine using the QR code function.