1. Hazelgirl98

    OP Hazelgirl98 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2020
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Ireland
    So I bought a 300in1 game off Etsy a few months ago. I tried to add a game to it, as it came with the usb and everything g I needed. Then all of a sudden the whole thing wiped? Must of cleared the whole thing!! Does anyone know if I can start the whole thing from scratch? Or what firmware I’ll need? I’m so clueless about the whole thing (that’s why I bought a ready done one!) I have no idea where to start or what to do! Any help would be great! I’ve lost hundreds of hours of gameplay
     
  2. Hazelgirl98

    OP Hazelgirl98 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2020
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Ireland
    I bought a pre loaded R4 with 300 games on it. I tried to add one game to it as a usb game with us to do so but I ended up wiping the whole thing! I need to redo the whole thing but I have no idea where to start! I also have no idea what type of R4 it is as it has a sticker over it! I’ve lost hundreds of hours of gameplay! Any help would be great! Thanks in advance!!
     
  3. FAST6191

    FAST6191 Techromancer
    Reporter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    33,464
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Before you do anything else see if you can recover the data from the SD card
    https://recuva.en.softonic.com/

    https://www.cgsecurity.org/wiki/PhotoRec

    Make sure to recover to your main PC hard drive or another USB drive or something -- if you try to recover to the SD card you are trying to get data back for then you risk overwriting the data you want.

    I don't know what you would have done to wipe it (possibly selected all and moved or something) but the data is still there in most cases and can be brought back.

    After that if that does not work we are going to need to find out what type of R4 it is. There are any number of them and they often work in different ways/need different files.
     
    tw_fan, Fugelmir and Hazelgirl98 like this.
  4. Hazelgirl98

    OP Hazelgirl98 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2020
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Ireland
    How do I figure out what type of r4 it is? I tried to recover it but it didn’t work :(
     
  5. JaapDaniels

    JaapDaniels GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    724
    Country:
    Netherlands
    send us a picture
     
    Hazelgirl98 likes this.
  6. Hazelgirl98

    OP Hazelgirl98 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2020
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Ireland
    This is what the chip looks like and what came with it! :)
     

    Attached Files:

  7. JaapDaniels

    JaapDaniels GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    724
    Country:
    Netherlands
    could be it is nds9 happy set restickered but i doubt the website is still the same site. i don't trust the setup they provide now.
    it shouldn't carry an .exe setup file for your card.
    they resticker it to get passed customs.
    can jou make a picture of the backside of the card mainly at the ds connection side sometimes is printed a website.
    if not, could you open the case to see the chip (it's most likely click system, sometimes there is one screw hidden behind a sticker.
    i checked the source: most likely r4 carts uk.
    they only seem to sell from: www.r4isdhc.com
     
    Last edited by JaapDaniels, Sep 15, 2020 - Reason: hope that helps
    Hazelgirl98 likes this.
  8. Hazelgirl98

    OP Hazelgirl98 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2020
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Ireland
    It says r4isdhc dot com on the back! Does that mean I can find the proper firmware and stuff on that website
     
  9. Hazelgirl98

    OP Hazelgirl98 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2020
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Ireland
    This is what came up! I added the English kernel? And one game! Do I need to add anything else?
     

    Attached Files:

  10. master801

    master801 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    464
    Country:
    United States
    It looks like the menu files couldn't be found. What firmware did you use?

    Also, make sure you installed it correctly. In the micro sd card's root directory, there should be a file named "R4.dat" and another named "R4iMenu", or something along those lines.

    Also, can you take a picture of the card's backside? They used different pcb colors for different years and models.
     
    tw_fan and Hazelgirl98 like this.
  11. Hazelgirl98

    OP Hazelgirl98 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2020
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Ireland
    This is the back of the chip! I downloaded a firmware called R4i-v4-on-English.zip, extracted it.. put it on the sd with a game.. It still did nothing ‍♀️ I’m close to just giving up lol
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Hazelgirl98

    OP Hazelgirl98 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2020
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Ireland
    This is what’s on the sd at the moment. There is an r4.dat and a r4i menu :)
     

    Attached Files:

  13. master801

    master801 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    464
    Country:
    United States
    You need to move everything from the "R4i-V4-0b-English" folder back a level.

    So just go into that folder, select everything, cut, then go back up a folder level (Alt + Left or Alt + Up, shortcuts), and paste those files.

    So, your sd card should have the "R4.dat" file, the "R4iMenu" folder and whatever other folders they included.
     
    Hazelgirl98 and The Real Jdbye like this.
  14. Hazelgirl98

    OP Hazelgirl98 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2020
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Ireland
    Ok so I did that and this is what I have now? Does that look right? Thank you so much for this!
     

    Attached Files:

  15. The Real Jdbye

    The Real Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    20,913
    Country:
    Norway
    That's right.
     
    Hazelgirl98 likes this.
  16. Hazelgirl98

    OP Hazelgirl98 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2020
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Ireland
    It’s worked!! Thank you soooo much is it the same for game boy games? :)
     

    Attached Files:

    tw_fan likes this.
  17. The Real Jdbye

    The Real Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    20,913
    Country:
    Norway
    You mean GBA? You need a slot-2 cart to run those natively in GBA mode (like an EZFlash Omega, or an EZFlash 3-in-1 if you can still find one of those, the Omega is better though) but you can try GBARunner2, it's not perfect but it works from NDS mode.
    GB(C) you'll have to download an emulator for.
     
    Last edited by The Real Jdbye, Sep 15, 2020
    tfocosta and Hazelgirl98 like this.
  18. Hazelgirl98

    OP Hazelgirl98 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2020
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Ireland
    I’ll give that a try!! Thank you! :)
     
  19. tfocosta

    tfocosta GBAtemp Z-Warrior
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2020
    Messages:
    595
    Country:
    Canada
    For GBA games, you can just add GBARUNNER2.nds and some GBA games to the root of your memory card and it should work. I have that in mine and it works perfectly. :)
     
    tw_fan likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - 300in1, wiped,