1. Extrasklep

    OP Extrasklep gbaTemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2017
    Messages:
    768
    Country:
    Poland
    I recently bought an old 2DS with a broken touchscreen and it boots to the home menu, but when I try to open to open anything the 2DS will softlock get a luma error like on the attached picture. I tried updating luma to the latest version but no change. Is there anything I can do to fix it if I can't access anything like FBI or homebrew launcher?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Majickhat55

    Majickhat55 The Red Woman
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2016
    Messages:
    4,926
    Country:
    United States
    Seems like your home menu is corrupted. Try to boot in recovery mode and update your DS even if you're on the latest firmware.
     
  3. Extrasklep

    OP Extrasklep gbaTemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2017
    Messages:
    768
    Country:
    Poland
    Do I need an internet connection to update from recovery mode?
     
  4. Majickhat55

    Majickhat55 The Red Woman
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2016
    Messages:
    4,926
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah you do. Otherwise, you can find someone to dump a clean homemenu.cia (or find one on a warez site) for you and install it through Godmode with a mod_HomeMenu script...
     
  5. Extrasklep

    OP Extrasklep gbaTemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2017
    Messages:
    768
    Country:
    Poland
    I can't connect to the internet with this 2DS, trying to open system settings will softlock the system like with any other title

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Wait, can I use my working 3DS to dump a working home menu?
     
  6. Majickhat55

    Majickhat55 The Red Woman
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2016
    Messages:
    4,926
    Country:
    United States
    More than likely it would dump it "as is" so I don't think it would help. You can always try it though and see. Throw that script in gm9/scripts and run it. When it prompts you, select "grab .CIA".... When it's done run the same script again and when prompted select "Install".
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Extrasklep

    OP Extrasklep gbaTemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2017
    Messages:
    768
    Country:
    Poland
    Should I do a NAND backup before installing the .cia?
     
  8. Majickhat55

    Majickhat55 The Red Woman
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2016
    Messages:
    4,926
    Country:
    United States
    I would. The script prompts you to anyhow...
     
  9. Extrasklep

    OP Extrasklep gbaTemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2017
    Messages:
    768
    Country:
    Poland
    I installed the home menu dumped from my working 3DS and nothing changed
     
  10. Majickhat55

    Majickhat55 The Red Woman
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2016
    Messages:
    4,926
    Country:
    United States
    You can try a CTRNAND transfer....... As per the guide. https://3ds.hacks.guide/ctrtransfer.html
     
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2018
  11. TurdPooCharger

    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Messages:
    5,529
    Country:
    United States
    Does the o2DS crashes when using it without an SD card?
     
  12. Extrasklep

    OP Extrasklep gbaTemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2017
    Messages:
    768
    Country:
    Poland
    Yes it does the same thing without the SD card
     
  13. TurdPooCharger

    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Messages:
    5,529
    Country:
    United States
    Turn on the o2DS and hold (Select) to access Luma3DS v#.# configuration.

    Check what version you're running.
    • v7.0.5 or older, you have arm9loaderhax
    • v7.1 - v9.1, you have boot9strap
    • We'll worry about updating 3DS firmware and custom firmware later.

    If you have v8.0 or newer...

    Boot to HOME Menu and try to quickly access Rosalina menu by pressing L-shoulder + Down (d-pad) + Select. Turn off the WiFi in System configuration... Toggle wireless. See if the o2DS crashes without WiFi.
     
  14. Extrasklep

    OP Extrasklep gbaTemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2017
    Messages:
    768
    Country:
    Poland
    I updated luma to 9.1 and I have b9s

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    It crashes without wifi
     
  15. TurdPooCharger

    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Messages:
    5,529
    Country:
    United States
    Turning off the WiFi was to check if the WiFi module became loose from the motherboard. o2DS will not boot or work correctly if it's not securely connected. You may still need to open it and look.

    ***
    1. Take an SD card and copy everything off it onto a computer.
    2. Reformat the card as FAT32 + 32 KB cluster size with Windows File Explorer or guiformat.
    3. Check the (empty) card in a Full Write + Verify Test with H2testw. Do not skip this step.
    4. If the card passes, delete the *.h2w test files.
      • If an error was reported, stop the test. Replace the faulty or fake card. Go back to step 1 or 2.
      • :!: A failed card can brick the o2DS in step 6.
    5. Build a test custom firmware setup. You may use the archive found here.
    Assuming you don't have a backed up SysNAND *.bin image file because you bought this o2DS used.

    6. CTRTransfer with Old 3DS or 2DS - 11.5.0 - EUR - CTRTransfer.​
     
  16. Extrasklep

    OP Extrasklep gbaTemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2017
    Messages:
    768
    Country:
    Poland
    There's no wifi card and antenna it's just an atheros chip
     
  17. TurdPooCharger

    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Messages:
    5,529
    Country:
    United States
    !!! Wait, you opened the o2DS and did not find these?

    [​IMG]
     
  18. Extrasklep

    OP Extrasklep gbaTemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2017
    Messages:
    768
    Country:
    Poland
    Yes there's just an atheros chip in the spot where the wifi card should be
     
  19. TurdPooCharger

    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Messages:
    5,529
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, so you have a newer production model o2DS with baked in WiFi module like this.

    Edit - This image may in fact be early models without the WiFi board and antenna. Pictures of new model o2DS motherboard are scarce.
    [​IMG]

    This is new info to me as that part is a concern for o3DS, o3DSXL, and o2DS.

    Yah, continue with the SD card check and CTRTransfer instructions.
     
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2018
  20. Extrasklep

    OP Extrasklep gbaTemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2017
    Messages:
    768
    Country:
    Poland
    I can't format with 32KB cluster size

    FSCTL_ALLOW_EXTENDED_DASD_IO OK
    ClusterCount=62828
    FAT32 must have at least 65536 clusters, try to specify a smaller cluster size or use the default
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - softlocks, anything, crashes