1tb USB Drive

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by mrdavie, Feb 18, 2012.

Feb 18, 2012

1tb USB Drive by mrdavie at 8:58 PM (1,107 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. mrdavie
    OP

    Newcomer mrdavie Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    77
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm not sure if this is the right section of the forum or not - sorry if not.

    I've just purchased a 1tb Verbatim drive as my 500gb was full. With this drive I wanted to partition it so I had 30gb for all my roms/mp3 and movies etc and then the other 900gb for isos.

    The drive was NTFS so I performed a simple right click > format and changed it to FAT32. Alas once the quick format completed the drive no longer shows in my computer. If I go into windows disk management it sees a 931gb drive which is "unallocated".

    Anybody have any ideas?
     
  2. PsyBlade

    Member PsyBlade Snake Charmer

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,204
    Location:
    Sol III
    Country:
    Germany
    allocate it
     
  3. mrdavie
    OP

    Newcomer mrdavie Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    77
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Got my drive back!

    Managed to make a FAT32 partition of 25gb and have a 900gb NTFS partition. When I go to format the NTFS partition in WBFS manager it just keeps erroring....?
     
  4. mrdavie
    OP

    Newcomer mrdavie Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    77
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just to confirm it a Verbatim Store n Go 1tb Usb 3.0
     
  5. mrdavie
    OP

    Newcomer mrdavie Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    77
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Managed to
    Copied a couple of games over just to test that my wii sees it and is able to fire up a game.

    When wiiflow fires up I get the message :- WBFS_Open failed: -1
     
  6. Taleweaver

    Member Taleweaver Storywriter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    5,121
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    Christ...WBFS manager is like zombies in horror movies: it just won't die!

    Just use easeus partition manager to partition the whole drive as FAT32, then use wii backup manager to properly put your wii games on it (they'll be put in a \wbfs subfolder), then copy your homebrew, movies, MP3's and whatever to it as well.

    The only reason to use a partial NTFS drive is when you have movies that consist of one file that is larger than 4GB. If not...then there's no need to overcomplicate things with outdated partitioning tables.
     
  7. mrdavie
    OP

    Newcomer mrdavie Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    77
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Formatted the whole drive as FAT32, wii backup manager made the /wbfs folder. I copied a game in to check it works and I'm still getting the same error message:- WBFS_Open failed: -1
     
  8. PsyBlade

    Member PsyBlade Snake Charmer

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,204
    Location:
    Sol III
    Country:
    Germany
    which cios are you using?
     
  9. mrdavie
    OP

    Newcomer mrdavie Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    77
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sorry for such a lengthy delay in my reply, especially as you took time out to try and help me with my issue.

    System info screen tells me I'm running System Menu V4.2E on IOS70.
     
  10. mrdavie
    OP

    Newcomer mrdavie Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    77
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Problem solved *sort of* installed the latest USB Loader GX and boom I'm in business....

    Many thanks to all that contributed....

    :yay:
     
  11. PsyBlade

    Member PsyBlade Snake Charmer

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,204
    Location:
    Sol III
    Country:
    Germany
    no, the question was which cios are you using for your usb loader

    seeing you don't know much about this stuff it might be best if you just go ahead ant update you softmod with modmii
     

Share This Page