YSMenu Questions

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by bekar, Jan 14, 2010.

Jan 14, 2010

YSMenu Questions by bekar at 10:59 PM (2,497 Views / 0 Likes) 20 replies

  1. bekar
    OP

    Member bekar GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    159
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, to clear things up I'm using an original R4 running YSMenu.
    It isn't the newest YSMenu... in fact it's quite old (Probably cos Im too lazy to update it [​IMG]

    Okay I have some questions here:

    1. How can I configure my YSMenu so it makes a .SAV file taking the LEAST amount of space possible? (256, 128?) [​IMG]
    2. Can I trim my .SAV's? [​IMG]
    3. How can I make loading time for my NDS Games to be super quick (if it's possible? Because mine takes a while)

    Just to confirm, I've updated my savlib and infolib with the 'weekly infolib.dat updates'. Just today.
    Is it possible to make the games load even quicker than this?

    Okay, I think that was all... Can anyone answer my questions?

    Thanks!! [​IMG]
     


  2. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    Make sure you build the latest YSMenu (0903270000 -- removed from yasu's site?) with the latest (DSTT 1.17a12).
    Then update with the most recent infolib.dat, savlib.dat, and extinfo.dat files.
     
  3. bekar
    OP

    Member bekar GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    159
    Country:
    United States
    I have the latest one ready to go but when I tried it... it was working fine, except the patched version of Bowser's Inside Story failed to work. So I tried a clean ROM. No success. Is there some way to make Bowser's Inside Story work with the latest YSMenu??
     
  4. Depravo

    Global Moderator Depravo Jaded curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    5,079
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes. Build it correctly.
     
  5. bekar
    OP

    Member bekar GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    159
    Country:
    United States
    It is built correctly. That isn't where the problem lies
     
  6. Depravo

    Global Moderator Depravo Jaded curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    5,079
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you are 100% sure that YSMenu is built correctly then the problem lies with the ROM, the SD card or the flashcart you are using.

    I can assure you that M&LBiS works fine on R4/YSMenu if all is done properly.
     
  7. bekar
    OP

    Member bekar GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    159
    Country:
    United States
    Nvmind, it's working now... thanks guys!
     
  8. bekar
    OP

    Member bekar GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    159
    Country:
    United States
    By the way, the loading bar at the bottom is black. Is there some way to change the color? [​IMG]
    By Loading bar I mean the bar the comes at the bottom when you boot a .NDS game.
     
  9. I am r4ymond

    Member I am r4ymond PFE

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,703
    Location:
    Ionia
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, you can. Just edit the settings for YSMenu. Edit the YSMenu.ini. Go HERE for the Color Codes. And go HERE to find out how you can change the color of the font. (It's at the end of the first post)
     
  10. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    No, you can't.

    The loading bar is built into the loader and as of DSTT 1.17x is black for commercial ROMs and the original blue for Homebrew since the homebrew loader hasn't been updated.
     
  11. bekar
    OP

    Member bekar GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    159
    Country:
    United States
    Is there an update to the homebrew launcher??
     
  12. lolzed

    Member lolzed The GBAtemp Pichu

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,466
    Location:
    There
    Country:
    Philippines
    there's no need for updates on homebrew launchers,all are usually read the same way,plus no one adds AP to homebrews( [​IMG] )so the answer is simply no
     
  13. I am r4ymond

    Member I am r4ymond PFE

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,703
    Location:
    Ionia
    Country:
    United States
    Oh, I see. I didn't know about the blue loading bar for homebrew.
     
  14. bekar
    OP

    Member bekar GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    159
    Country:
    United States
    Okay then... everything seems to be working fine right now.

    Thanks everyone!
    Just one last question... Is there a 'template' to make YSMenu skins? I'm thinking of creating my own but I need a 'starting point'. Anyone?

    Oh, and this may be extremely irrelevant, but there is a cheat in New Super Mario Bros DS called 'trampoline time magazine'. What the heck does that do?!

    Thanks!
     
  15. Depravo

    Global Moderator Depravo Jaded curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    5,079
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The color codes are in BGR15. The conversion site that I use is down. [​IMG]

    It's back again! http://www.conradshome.com/html2bgr15/
     
  16. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
  17. Depravo

    Global Moderator Depravo Jaded curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    5,079
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That's why I had to search for an alternative. I didn't realise it was all arse-about-face.
     
  18. bekar
    OP

    Member bekar GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    159
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks 4 the template!
     
  19. bekar
    OP

    Member bekar GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    159
    Country:
    United States
    Oh, and are there 'plugins' for YSMenu to load a file extension (example, something that can play mp3's straight from ysmenu)??
     
  20. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    No... but if you're interested in that, you can always do what I do and run Moonshell 2.06 as your firmware.
    Moonshell 2.06 is the last version to support linoul's YSMenu Loader.

    You can follow the guide here on how to set it up:
    http://www.gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=149734
    It's no more difficult than setting up YSMenu.

    Another up side is, Moonshell can load NES, SNES, Gameboy/Color, Sega Genesis and NeoGeo ROMs directly using loaders (Some loaders work better than others and will launch the game directly, others just load the emulator).
    The only down side I've found is that you cannot use cheats.
    The work around is to hold the B button after selecting a game and that will cancel YSMenu loader's auto-boot so you can launch the game directly from YSMenu with cheats.

    It's almost like the M3's Sakura [​IMG]
    .....almost [​IMG]
     

Share This Page