YSMenu as a secondary firmware

Discussion in 'DSTT' started by raiderscrusade, May 17, 2010.

May 17, 2010
  1. raiderscrusade
    OP

    Member raiderscrusade GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    433
    Country:
    Australia
    Hello.

    Recently I have been thinking about running YSMenu as a secondary type firmware, which can be run from a .NDS file if selected.

    I currently have Wood R4 and want to load YSMenu as a .nds file, as I believe I should not just ditch YSMenu after it helped me with game loading for months.

    Basically, I was wondering if it is possible to load YSMenu from a .nds file, and what files would be needed to do so, as when installing the main YSMenu there is over 10 files needed. I was hoping to reduce this required file amount to say, 1 or 2, if possible.

    Any help would be very appreciated!

    Thank you.
     
  2. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    Just change the .bin file that goes in the root of the SD to .nds
     
  3. raiderscrusade
    OP

    Member raiderscrusade GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    433
    Country:
    Australia
    Do I still need all the other files and folders? Or can I just use this .nds file.
     
  4. jurassicplayer

    Member jurassicplayer Completionist Themer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,280
    Location:
    Pantsuland
    Country:
    United States
    You need everything that goes along with running YSMenu normally.
     
  5. magicksun

    Member magicksun GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    464
    Location:
    Argentina
    Country:
    Argentina
    if u have wood is better then ysmenu
     
  6. Infinite Zero

    Member Infinite Zero Almost!

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,922
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    He wants both to have better compatibility


    ...I think
     
  7. Blade4474

    Newcomer Blade4474 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Wood has around 99% compatibility, so I don't think that it will be a problem.
     
  8. retrogamefan

    Member retrogamefan GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    790
    Country:
    Antarctica
    You need these 4 files for full usage of YSMenu :
    1. YSMenu.nds
    2. YSMenu.ini (configuration file)
    3. YSMenu1.bmp @ 256x192 (Top screen skin)
    4. YSMenu2.bmp @ 256x192 (Bottom screen skin)
     
  9. raiderscrusade
    OP

    Member raiderscrusade GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    433
    Country:
    Australia

    What about the infolib, extinfo and savlib?
     
  10. basher11

    Member basher11 GBAtemp's Official Vocaloid Lover

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,382
    Country:
    United States
    of course you need them. how else are you suppose to play games
     
  11. raiderscrusade
    OP

    Member raiderscrusade GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    433
    Country:
    Australia
    I know but the previous guy confused me saying I only need 4 files when really it's more like a nds file and a folder containing the other files needed...
     
  12. retrogamefan

    Member retrogamefan GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    790
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Well you stated in your 1st post that you want to run YSMenu as a secondary firmware, hence why I only stated those 4 files. Naturally, you should also have all the necessary files required to run the Wood R4 firmware on your card and all the files from the DSTT firmware too.
     
  13. raiderscrusade
    OP

    Member raiderscrusade GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    433
    Country:
    Australia
    Hm.

    When I rename the:

    _DS_MENU.DAT file to:

    YSMenu.nds

    and boot it up in my Wood R4, Wood classifies it as a 'corrupt' NDS file?

    Any help here?
     
  14. Crystal the Glaceon

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Inkling™ Squishies~

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14,776
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    You need to decrypt it first.
    OR do the easy part and just redownload the YSmenu.nds from the main site and use that one.
     
  15. raiderscrusade
    OP

    Member raiderscrusade GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    433
    Country:
    Australia
    Ah I see, will do that right now.
    Works like a charm - thanks!
     
  16. Infinite Zero

    Member Infinite Zero Almost!

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,922
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    Hmmmm I might want to install it as my secondary firmware.

    How exactly will I do it?
    I cant understand a thing [​IMG]
     
  17. retrogamefan

    Member retrogamefan GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    790
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Follow this easy guide here YSMenu/TTMenu Setup with screenshots. You will see at the bottom of my post, what to also do to have YSMenu as your secondary firmware.
     
  18. Infinite Zero

    Member Infinite Zero Almost!

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,922
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    When I rename the ds menu.dat to ysmenu.nds its still in .DAT formwat [​IMG]
     
  19. retrogamefan

    Member retrogamefan GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    790
    Country:
    Antarctica
    In the guide, if you look through the steps and screenshots, TTMenu.dat is renamed to TTMenu.nds and then YSMenu.nds is renamed to TTMenu.dat. You can't just rename your primary firmware, in your case _ds_menu.dat since you have an R4, and expect it to work.
     

Share This Page