xdelta3/ubuntu patching howto

Discussion in 'NDS - ROM Hacking and Translations' started by krutomisi, Jan 26, 2010.

Jan 26, 2010
  1. krutomisi
    OP

    Newcomer krutomisi Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Location:
    over there
    Country:
    United States
    This is a guide for using xdelta3 under the Ubuntu operating system ...
    I haven't seen any around at all sooo ~

    You have two files - patch.xdelta3 and old.file
    You have them in /home/user/folder/
    You want that old.file changed into a shiny new.file
    You want it now.

    Install it :
    Open good ole' Synaptic Package manager and search for xdelta.
    Some stuff will come up, and check install on xdelta3, not plain xdelta.

    Patch it :
    Open up the terminal and run the stuff after the $ :
    Code:
    user@computer:~$ xdelta3 decode '/home/user/folder/patch.xdelta3'
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂxdelta3: using default output filename: /home/user/folder/new.fileÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂxdelta3: using default source filename: /home/user/folder/old4.file
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂxdelta3: file open failed: read: /home/user/folder/old4.file: No such file or directory
    user@computer:~$
    Rename that old.file into old4.file ...
    Open up the terminal and run the stuff after the $ :
    Code:
    user@computer:~$ xdelta3 decode '/home/user/folder/patch.xdelta3'
    ÂÂÂÂxdelta3: using default output filename: /home/user/folder/new.fileÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ
    ÂÂÂÂxdelta3: using default source filename: /home/user/folder/old4.file
    user@computer:~$
    The resulting patched file - new.file - is located in /home/user/folder/

    Error it :
    xdelta is different than xdelta3, therefore the two don't play nice.
    Putting an xdelta patch into xdelta3 will produce this error message :
    Code:
    user@computer:~$ xdelta3 decodeÂÂxdelta3 decode '/home/user/folder/something.patch'
    ÂÂÂÂxdelta3: not a VCDIFF input: XD3_INVALID_INPUT
    user@computer:~$
    ~ Extra stuff ~

    The encode function is what creates those patches :
    Warning: Spoilers inside!

    Full a overly full list of commands, run the handy dandy in-program help :
    Warning: Spoilers inside!
     
  2. XWolf

    Member XWolf GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    745
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nice.

    I have Virtualbox installed with a tiny stripped down XP on it, only reason it's there is for patching.
     
  3. krutomisi
    OP

    Newcomer krutomisi Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Location:
    over there
    Country:
    United States
    I have a windows vm too, but I only have a crappy computer to run it.
    It's just that it takes ages for everything to get up and running, so this is much faster.

    Oh, and I made a slight update to the first post - now with 70% more codeboxes!
     
  4. XWolf

    Member XWolf GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    745
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Awesome, nice to see someone actually contributing something so useful in their first 2 posts!

    Linux FTW.
     

Share This Page