Xbox 360 Slim, hackable?

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Hacking & Homebrew' started by Andim, Mar 3, 2013.

Mar 3, 2013

Xbox 360 Slim, hackable? by Andim at 7:00 PM (11,036 Views / 0 Likes) 50 replies

  1. Andim
    OP

    Member Andim GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Messages:
    128
    Country:
    Australia
    I just got myself a 4GB 360 slim off eBay.
    It's not here yet, but I know it has the Metro Dash, and the latest it could have been updated is February 13th. Which is before whatever the sticky in this section is about, at least.

    Can I hack this thing? How much will it run me? Will I have to do extensive hardware modding?
    Edit: And can I use an xk3y?
     


  2. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene The Gift of Dino

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    12,947
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Ofcourse you can use an Xkey.

    The question however is if you need a RGH to obtain the keys or if you can dump them from your DVD drive.
    On that, you'll need to open up your 360.

    Yes both are "expensive"
     
    Andim likes this.
  3. Andim
    OP

    Member Andim GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Messages:
    128
    Country:
    Australia
    I said "extensive". As in, so I have to go in there and do some soldering. I'd need to for an RGH, I assume?
     
  4. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene The Gift of Dino

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    12,947
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Sorry, me eyes are a bit out of focus ;s

    Yes, if you have a new Liteon or Hitachi in it then yes, you'll need to solder a chip and USB SPI flasher to the 360 and dump the NAND and glitch the 360 to obtain your DVD key.
     
    Andim likes this.
  5. hundshamer

    Member hundshamer GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,810
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    NVM (ninja'd)
     
    DinohScene likes this.
  6. Andim
    OP

    Member Andim GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Messages:
    128
    Country:
    Australia
    That sounds like quite the task. Is there any chance that newer exploits will allow recent drive firmware dumping without an RGH?
     
  7. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene The Gift of Dino

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    12,947
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Nope.
    They will require a RGH.
     
    Andim likes this.
  8. Andim
    OP

    Member Andim GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Messages:
    128
    Country:
    Australia
    Alright, so it got here.
    It's a Trinity model. Manufactured on 2011-04-01. Dashboard 16202. Model 1439.

    Have my options changed, or is it still RGH or bust?
    Edit: And are RGH options better for Trinity than for Corona? I've heard they are.
     
  9. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene The Gift of Dino

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    12,947
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    You can RGH it yes.

    You won't need a DGX, but any regular glitchchip will work ;]
    Wait for the new JRunner to be released and you're good to go.
     
    Andim likes this.
  10. Andim
    OP

    Member Andim GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Messages:
    128
    Country:
    Australia
    If I install a glitchchip, do I still need to buy an adapter to dump and flash my drive firmware?
     
  11. Devin

    Member Devin "Local Hardware Wizard"

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,701
    Location:
    The Nexus
    Country:
    United States
  12. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene The Gift of Dino

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    12,947
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Yes, a NAND-X or JRunner programmer.
     
  13. glennie1

    Newcomer glennie1 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    dirty south
    Country:
    United States
    if you have a trinty you could dump your dvd key without rgh just buy the replacement dvd board on xconsole. more than likely you dont have the new liteon drive. its the old slim dvd drive. dump your key then get the replacement board. as long your dvd drive model is a dg-16d4s your dont need rgh to get key.
     
    Vinnymac likes this.
  14. BORTZ

    Global Moderator BORTZ wtf, nintendo

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    10,652
    Country:
    United States
    Wow hacking a slim is a bit of a wallet shot isnt it?
     
    EZ-Megaman likes this.
  15. glennie1

    Newcomer glennie1 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    dirty south
    Country:
    United States
    thats the only way
     
  16. glennie1

    Newcomer glennie1 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    dirty south
    Country:
    United States
    its better than giving your kids your new game that cost 59.00 and they mess it up and you have to buy it again just make a copy of it them put it up. says you money.
     
  17. BORTZ

    Global Moderator BORTZ wtf, nintendo

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    10,652
    Country:
    United States
    Consolidate you posts in the future. Keeps things easy to read.

    I mean you could get an older phat360. but whatever.
     
    EZ-Megaman likes this.
  18. glennie1

    Newcomer glennie1 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    dirty south
    Country:
    United States
    slim is better because it has wireless connenction to xbox live wi fi i could be over to my friends house and play on my network if he doesnt have internet
     
  19. ccdeal30
    This message by ccdeal30 has been removed from public view by Depravo, Mar 20, 2013.
    Mar 20, 2013
  20. nukeboy95

    Member nukeboy95 Leave luck to heaven.

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,273
    Location:
    not sure
    Country:
    United States
  21. glennie1

    Newcomer glennie1 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    dirty south
    Country:
    United States
    i know but slim is wi fi ready. it cost for that extra wi fi
     

Share This Page