xbox 360 modding questions

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Games & Content' started by simoonsoon, Dec 30, 2007.

Dec 30, 2007

xbox 360 modding questions by simoonsoon at 10:04 AM (2,128 Views / 0 Likes) 17 replies

  1. simoonsoon
    OP

    Newcomer simoonsoon Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    64
    Location:
    ANGWIN CALI
    Country:
    United States
    so ive looked around and seen that to play backups you need to flash your drive..
    and if you wanna play live WITH backups you need to get Iextreme or something? it stealthes your backup disc but even then it can still be detected in turn resulting in a banned account..

    Well i want to play backups because i hate the idea of spending heckuv money on games.. =X but i am really cautious.. i guess.. lol
    i dont want to play backups on live.. i only want to play backups for games like uhh assassins creed or orange box.. like single player stuff but for live i would buy the games.. like nba 2k8 and halo 3.. but can they still detect that you flashed your drive even if you use real copies for live but backups when not on live??
    also that the ONLY thing you need to do in order to play backups? JUST flash the drive?.. seems,, too easy.. lol
    THANKS
     
  2. domislong

    Newcomer domislong Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    42
    Country:
    Australia
    Sorry to tell you but there is no method of playing originals on live without the risk of being banned.

    My suggestion is to a) have one console for live and one for backups, b) buy all your games, or c) run the risk of being banned.
     
  3. adgloride

    Member adgloride Its A Wii Wario

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,261
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    At the moment if your 360 hasn't been flashed, ixtreme 1.4 is meant to be safe. You never know though, M$ could find a way to start banning again.
     
  4. Duke_Jay

    Member Duke_Jay GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Messages:
    158
    Country:
    Netherlands
    At this moment, a flashed drive canot be detected, bad backups can.
    But you never know, maybe m$ wil find a way.
     
  5. coolbgdog

    Newcomer coolbgdog Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    76
    Country:
    Thats a good idea. Because you could always play backup games on it and the ones you want to play live on just buy the original. That way you can save money on single player games.
     
  6. 754boy

    Banned 754boy :D

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    3,469
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Country:
    United States
    Well personally, I think the risk is well worth the reward. I have over $2000 worth of 360 games and have only spent a FRACTION of that for them. [​IMG]
     
  7. phoood

    Member phoood taking it to a whole new level.

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,001
    Location:
    Jewgoslavia
    Country:
    United States
    Disconnect from live before playing. I thought this would help hide the fact you're playing a backup.
     
  8. simoonsoon
    OP

    Newcomer simoonsoon Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    64
    Location:
    ANGWIN CALI
    Country:
    United States
    hm ya i thot about unplugging the ethernet when using backups.. with a flashed drive and then when playin live games plug it in and use original copies.. flashed drives were undetectable i thot?..
     
  9. domislong

    Newcomer domislong Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    42
    Country:
    Australia
    The 360 keeps some sort of internal log of what you play and will update as soon as you hook it back up to the internet.
     
  10. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,108
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No it doesn't. There is no evidence that it logs incorrect backups while you are offline , then updates when you are connected back. The checks that are made against the disc and get you banned if failed are done online and online only (for now). No one has been banned for playing back ups offline only.

    You find some people claiming they have, but it always turns out that they say they are offline , but are signed into live , but playing single player. Signed into live=online.
     
  11. simoonsoon
    OP

    Newcomer simoonsoon Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    64
    Location:
    ANGWIN CALI
    Country:
    United States
    can i get some more confirmations?..

    what armadillo is saying sounds like good news =D
     
  12. T-hug

    Chief Editor T-hug Always like this.

    pip
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    8,602
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Backups patched properly on live = ok
    Original retails on live using ixtreme1.4 on live = ok
    I've had my 360 flashed since early 2006 and am not banned (though I haven't played on live for a while).
    Some of my friends are running older firmwares than ixtreme 1.4 and are also not banned and play on live daily.
     
  13. simoonsoon
    OP

    Newcomer simoonsoon Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    64
    Location:
    ANGWIN CALI
    Country:
    United States
    also when banned.. that means the CONSOLe cant even go on live.. correct?
     
  14. aZnXrAvEr

    Member aZnXrAvEr GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Messages:
    148
    Country:
    United States
    I'm about to get a 360 and I have a question too. If the console gets banned, are we still able to get updates for it?
     
  15. MC DUI

    Member MC DUI GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,916
    Location:
    Newcastle, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Once banned the console can never connect to Xbox LIVE again.

    In order to update the console you would need somebodies harddrive with the update on it.

    I'm not sure but you may also be able to download them from Xbox.com and update via CD?
     
  16. T-hug

    Chief Editor T-hug Always like this.

    pip
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    8,602
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Correct.
     
  17. tjas

    Member tjas The Gbatemp HRManager

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    972
    Location:
    BoZ
    Country:
    Netherlands
    And is there anything special you need to do to burn scene releases? Or is it simple burning an iso with nero?
     
  18. Duke_Jay

    Member Duke_Jay GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Messages:
    158
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Jup but instead of using nero you should use IMGburn [​IMG]
     

Share This Page