Wiikey config disc wont work

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by killerkamikaze, Nov 1, 2007.

Nov 1, 2007
  1. killerkamikaze
    OP

    Newcomer killerkamikaze Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Norway
    I downloaded v.1.3 of the config disc and burnt the pal version but when the game is sposed to load it comes up with an error message and tells me to remove the disc and restart the console. Any ideas what might be wrong?
     
  2. cauffy

    cauffy Newbie

    hi,


    FOR PAL USERS ONLY....


    once you have updated to v1.9g you then need to run the setup disc v1.3 to change your region setting so the USA SMG version will boot.

    to do this you will be the GCOS on a dvdr to be placed in your wii and a gamecube pad connected as well.

    boot the GCOS disc and the select BOOT DISC

    eject the GCOS disc and put in the SETUP DISC V1.3 and press A on the pad.

    you will now be presented with about 4 choices, choose the one that says BOOTLOADER (something like that...

    and the wii will now boot the setup disc and the menu will appear on the screen.

    change your region setting and then save changes...

    reset console...

    enjoy SMG....

    Cauffy:))
     
  3. killerkamikaze
    OP

    Newcomer killerkamikaze Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Norway
  4. aardvarks

    Member aardvarks GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    245
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    didnt need to do that on my pal wii wiikey. my region free was still on!
    tested on two pal wii's
     
  5. slapusillydawg

    Newcomer slapusillydawg Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    73
    Country:
    United States
    I have an ntsc-u wii with a wiikey installed with a 3.0 update for my wii. Can someone give me instructions on exactly what I need to do to play Galaxy? I haven't used a setup disk yet, but I have the 1.9g update downloaded, and I have the 1.3 setup disk downloaded. Can someone help me? I'm new to this so I don't know what to do.
     
  6. mattm025

    Newcomer mattm025 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    I'm on the same boat as the guy above me except I have 1.9g burned. However, when I stick in the dvd it says "unable to read disc." What's going on?
     
  7. wicky28

    Newcomer wicky28 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Netherlands

    Set burn speed to 2x.
     
  8. jimmyjam

    Newcomer jimmyjam Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    66
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Didn't need to use the Setup disc on my PAL machine for Galaxy..
     
  9. zaXu

    Newcomer zaXu Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Norway
    I installed the 1.9G update before using any of the config discs. Burned SMG at x1 with brickblocker and get a black screen also treid to burn with x1 with brickblocker and regionfrii and still dont work. Dont have a gamecube controller, is there another way than using the CGOS method to turn on the region thingy?
     
  10. kingmathyou

    Newcomer kingmathyou Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    United States
    If you don't have a gamecube controller, you can press the reset button on the wii to change what you have selected on the menu, and hold it down for a few seconds to select something. I think that's all at least.

    So yeah... I want to get SMG to work too. I have a wiikey and 3.0 NTSC Wii. What exactly do I need to do to get it working? Download and install update 1.9 on my wiikey and that's it..?
     
  11. zaXu

    Newcomer zaXu Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Norway
    After what I have read, yes. 1.9g that is. Download 1.9g and follow the instrictions. Boot SMG (need to be burned at x1 i think) and play.
     
  12. zaXu

    Newcomer zaXu Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Norway
    And where to get CGOS?
     
  13. adgloride

    Member adgloride Its A Wii Wario

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,261
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Don't use brickblocker, it gives you a black scree on SMG. Make sure your firmware is upto date 3.1.
     
  14. zaXu

    Newcomer zaXu Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Norway
    Crap, I used brickblocker on the iso file I downloaded. Do I need to redownload or is there any way to unbrickblock? =p
     
  15. killerkamikaze
    OP

    Newcomer killerkamikaze Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Norway
    Yeah, i would also like to know if theres a way to navigate around the GCOs without a GC controller ;(
     
  16. cauffy

    cauffy Newbie

    Killerkamikaze,

    as far as i know you need a gc controller to use the menu on the wiikey configuration screen.

    do not alter the image of the game at all, just extract and burn.....

    let me know if you need anymore help, i will be on here for the next few hours...

    C:)
     
  17. MrGoogles

    Newcomer MrGoogles Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Germany
    you also could change your region in the system settings just change the system language in english this should work. And it does work on my wii no other disc than the 1.9g update is needed

    edit: the region free patch of the wiikey is only for gamecube games the wii games doesnt need a region fix by the chip.

    Sorry for bad language but i hope i could help you
     
  18. killerkamikaze
    OP

    Newcomer killerkamikaze Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Norway
    Mr googles, my language is already set to english. Thanks for the help anyways guys.
     
  19. zaXu

    Newcomer zaXu Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Norway
    You can use the modified 1.2 disc. It's somewhere on the net, don't remember where. You should try asking google...
     

Share This Page