Hacking wiikey 1.99 disc burning

chadders

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2005
Messages
153
Trophies
0
Location
Manchester
Website
Visit site
XP
200
Country
Hi guys,

right, i've not been in the wii scene for a while now, but with all the good games coming out at the minute, DKCR, Epic Mickey, etc
i want to get my wii updated to play them.

im on a launch wii, with a Wiikey V1 installed on FW 1.9s?? i think?

I updated the wii the other day using the guide from these forums "modify any wii 4.3 and below" and all went fine.

So!!!! I decided to get DKCR, burned it as i used to do, turned the wii on, loaded up priiloader, enabled block disc updates and put the disc in. Games shows up in the disc channel but when i start it, it gives disc could not be loaded or something along those lines.

so i thought i'd update my Wiikey to see if that would solve the problem, downloaded the .RAR packet and extracted the PAL .iso, load it into Imgburn and for some reason, it will not burn, keeps giving incompatible format or something. Burnt it 3 times now and its proper burnt my head out. I need some help with this guys!!!!!!!

I know i could softmod the wii and im all up for that, but i just want to get this sorted out, just for the sack of it if you know what i mean, i can't let it better me!!!!! lol

Just a note - Imgburn is the latest one off there site today, no settings changed, someone must know how to do this, please!!!! lol.

By the way, i know these updates run as GC games but i think this update can just be burnt without padding. Please give step by step instructions for any advice.

Cheers guys for the help, must remember not to leave so long time inbetween updates!!!!!

I've got the HBC installed to if thats any help????
 

jservs7

Witcher of Whores
Member
Joined
May 14, 2008
Messages
892
Trophies
0
XP
222
Country
United States
Hmmm, without too much research, is your drive able to burn anything at all? Bad discs? Do you have any virtual image software installed? I know Alcohol had a conflict with a Imgburn driver used. When you start Imgburn, do you get any weird messages in the startup log? Are you sure the ISO filed you downloaded is not corrupt?

Can be a few things wrong really. :/
 

chadders

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2005
Messages
153
Trophies
0
Location
Manchester
Website
Visit site
XP
200
Country
jservs7 said:
Hmmm, without too much research, is your drive able to burn anything at all? Bad discs? Do you have any virtual image software installed? I know Alcohol had a conflict with a Imgburn driver used. When you start Imgburn, do you get any weird messages in the startup log? Are you sure the ISO filed you downloaded is not corrupt?

Can be a few things wrong really. :/


cheers for the reply mate, ive got no virtual software installed or funny messages on start up of imgburn?????

Is there a way of running these new games without doing this cos im loosing me rag with it????

If i ran ModMii again would it install the right stuff or what???
 

Porobu

Gbatemps Shiny Latias
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
1,042
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
422
Country
chadders said:
guys if i use pimp my wii V2.11 will the disc channel still ask for an update???, i dont really want to update to 4.3e, i think im on 4.2 at the min???
dont use pimpmywii unless you know what you are doing and you can use priiloader to block updates
 

icecold

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 7, 2008
Messages
72
Trophies
0
XP
55
Country
Have you tried to start the game with Geckos ?
Wii update 4.2 killed regionfree from your Wiikey and you must run games from your own region or with Geckos.
 

75UR15

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 5, 2010
Messages
83
Trophies
0
XP
94
Country
United States
Also, if (s)he updated and likely got rid of whatever cioscorp/darkcorp that was installed, wouldn't (s)he have to use a backup loader program to make it work? I don't believe the stickied guide includes loading backups from disc channel (though I haven't read it in a while).
 

techboy

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2009
Messages
1,720
Trophies
0
Age
30
Location
Pennsylvania
Website
Visit site
XP
295
Country
United States
chadders said:
guys if i use pimp my wii V2.11 will the disc channel still ask for an update???, i dont really want to update to 4.3e, i think im on 4.2 at the min???
I'd recommend staying away from PimpMyWii.

QUOTE(75UR15 @ Dec 3 2010, 08:08 PM) Also, if (s)he updated and likely got rid of whatever cioscorp/darkcorp that was installed, wouldn't (s)he have to use a backup loader program to make it work? I don't believe the stickied guide includes loading backups from disc channel (though I haven't read it in a while).
He has a chip, so disc channel backup loading will work fine. CORP is irrelevant here. Even if he did have CORP, updating officially wouldn't remove it since the version numbers are maxed on all the IOSes.
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    I suppose you have to resort in buying the components for yourself, after all they cost little.
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Why not they do the same with the BIOS replacement kits?
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    I'd rather wait for a kit to become a available
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    I'm happily more confident to do it myself without a kit.
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    And If you get a part that might be defective you'd need to wait longer and spend more
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Unless there are additions that need to be done.
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    @K3N1,
    You're right.
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Why it's better to buy directly from reputable sources
    +2
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Yes, and not from some shitty Chinese store.
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    They are many repetable component stores to name such as RS Components.
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    But then there's added tax to the mix.
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Makes them more expensive. :(
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Rumors going around about USB4
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    It has been discussed for quite a long time now.
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    It's about time for the upgrade
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    I'm fine with everything USB wise.
    +1
  • Shape @ Shape:
    USB is fine, but shouldn't it be replaced with bulky, hard to use cables and all sorts of proprietary male-female connector port shapes?
    +1
  • Shape @ Shape:
    It's so frustrating to have one simple cable that you can plug in upside down for everything!!!
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    USB4 can do up to 40gbps I'd welcome it
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    From a Linus video it's essentially just a type c with an advanced chip
    +1
  • Shape @ Shape:
    40Gbps is just going to result in even more more lazy developers writing sub-optimal, lazy code.
    +2
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    How? That transfer speed is insane
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    That's like saying fast transfers is going to be the downfall of gaming
    +2
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Then when devs that actually do take their time makes people cry over them taking their time and having to wait even longer
    +2
    K3N1 @ K3N1: Then when devs that actually do take their time makes people cry over them taking their time and... +2