Wiiconnect24 on or off?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Ilfrit, Jun 7, 2009.

Jun 7, 2009

Wiiconnect24 on or off? by Ilfrit at 4:32 PM (972 Views / 0 Likes) 3 replies

  1. Ilfrit
    OP

    Newcomer Ilfrit Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United States
    I recently softmodded my wii using bannerbomb. So I had to turn wiiconnect24 off. Is it save to turn it back on after using bannerbomb or is it dangerous, because of the homebrew channel and cios, which I installed in my wii?
     
  2. Eddie_Brock

    Member Eddie_Brock GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    341
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    Country:
    Canada
    Regardless of what you may hear, its perfectly safe to have WC24 enabled if you have homebrew installed. Nintendo is not in the habit of snooping sleeping Wii's during the evening.

    The main resoning behind turning WC24 off is that while it is on, the wii is only in stand-by mode, so its still powered and produces heat while it is visually "Off". I argue that Nintendo was aware of this when they made the Wii and wasn't concerned about the heat output. I for one still have my WC24 on, and experience no problems. But to each their own... If you dont want or use its features, why bother?
     
  3. Helsionium

    Member Helsionium Alpha and Omega

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    348
    Location:
    Innsbruck, Austria
    Country:
    Austria
    The service WiiConnect24 is, as the previous poster said, perfectly safe. You might want to disable Standby Connection mode if you are concerned about overheating causing irreversible GPU damage. I have lost two Wiis because of such overheating, but I know of other users who have no issues. So it's up to you to decide what you want to do about it.
     
  4. Hooya

    Member Hooya GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,878
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    Country:
    United States
    I've left it on the entire time, even when doing my bannerbomb install and everything. No issues here.
     

Share This Page