1. Scdi

    OP Scdi Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2020
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    Hello,
    I have a EU console, and using FTP I changed Game_region in config file to 2 to make it US
    After restarting, I cannot do anything from the game pad. I cannot go to system settings or open the browser .
    how do I reset the console it back to my old region?

    thanks
     
    Last edited by Scdi, Feb 23, 2020
  2. TheChosen

    TheChosen Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2017
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    Germany
    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —
     
  3. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    8,873
    Country:
    United States
    I don't know if this has something to do with it, but the gamepad is region locked. afaik, there's no way to fix this besides a hard mod.
     
  4. TheChosen

    TheChosen Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2017
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    Germany
    Your WiiU is a brick now. Sorry. I doubt you can repair it. Gamepad is essential. You literally told the WiiU´s processor "Hey, i´m on another region now! Only boot when this region is being used (gamepad/games)!"
    And this cpu has some of the most-advanced security out there/ever built. Preventing you from doing anything.

    A WiiU can boot without a gamepad or with a damaged gamepad (it can repair the console´s OS via the gamepad)! But: Since the console itself has NO FIRMWARE in it, you cannot update it when you literally killed the console´s OS, when your gamepad doesn´t match the correct region (since the cpu will refuse to accept your boot-command ;)
     
  5. Scdi

    OP Scdi Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2020
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    What’s a hard mod?

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

     
  6. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    8,873
    Country:
    United States
    opening up the system and reflashing the nand. should be easy to change back after that.
     
  7. Scdi

    OP Scdi Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2020
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    I don’t mind completely wiping out the system and setting it back to my original game region. Can I reach out to the WIiU support team and do you think they would be able to help?

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    I cannot open even the browser to go to loadiine . I cannot launch home brew, I can’t even go to system setting!
     
    Last edited by Scdi, Feb 24, 2020
  8. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    8,873
    Country:
    United States
    a hard mod should correct that. if you mean contacting nintendo, I thought I read that they no longer repair wii us.
     
    alexander1970 likes this.
  9. Scdi

    OP Scdi Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2020
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    yes Nintendo support.
    I haven’t installed any pirated games. All I did was that I bought a legit US region game and try to make it work. But I do not know if this is legit either
     
  10. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    8,873
    Country:
    United States
    looks like they're not repairing wii systems actually, so I think you might be able to get repairs for the wii u. I'm not sure what's entailed.
     
  11. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    6,904
    Country:
    United States
    It is a hard brick if you have no NAND backup.
     
  12. The Real Jdbye

    The Real Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    18,976
    Country:
    Norway
    You can make the console region free by editing system.xml, but that's not how you do it, you enable every region at once. What made you think it was a good idea to disable the original region that the firmware runs on?
     
  13. MikaDubbz

    MikaDubbz GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2017
    Messages:
    781
    Country:
    United States
    Did you install CBHC? If so, you might be able to cold boot into the Homebrew Launcher (if you installed that as a channel) and then go into FTP and change back what you changed. Though I think even if you do have all that it very well may not allow you to launch into Homebrew Launcher in this way all the same, I'm pretty doubtful, but it's worth a shot if you have that setup already.
     
  14. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    8,873
    Country:
    United States
    you need either a nand dump from before you changed that value or the otp.bin. if you don't have either, then it's impossible to fix. I'm not even sure if nintendo can fix that. they probably wouldn't be bothered by it and send a refurbished system back to you.
     
  15. MikaDubbz

    MikaDubbz GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2017
    Messages:
    781
    Country:
    United States
    Nintendo definitely wouldn't touch a system where the region has been changed. That'll be considered hacking and not of their concern. Sad reality is, without a backup, it likely is just a brick.
     
  16. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    8,873
    Country:
    United States
    you could consider it a device error even if it was changed by the user. there's no way nintendo would know for sure of that.
     
  17. MikaDubbz

    MikaDubbz GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2017
    Messages:
    781
    Country:
    United States
    I mean, you could plead ignorance, but I really think they'd see through it.
     
  18. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    8,873
    Country:
    United States
    either way, I doubt nintendo would fix that specific system rather than just sending a refurbished unit back. the cost of that would likely be what a standalone wii u without gamepad would be, so it wouldn't be worth it. the only real bad thing is the loss of saves if they weren't backed up, but he says he doesn't care about that.
     
  19. YOUCANTSTOPME

    YOUCANTSTOPME GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    274
    Country:
    Canada
    Andddd once again, if you're doing any mods/hacks, make sure you have a NAND backup at the first opportunity before doing anything else.
     
  20. oji

    oji GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Messages:
    408
    Country:
    Russia
    Pro Controller is region free, so if you have one, you can try to change your settings back by it.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - game_region, unusable, changing