wii system menu 4.2

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by random_thing, Sep 29, 2009.

Sep 29, 2009

wii system menu 4.2 by random_thing at 9:41 AM (3,994 Views / 0 Likes) 22 replies

  1. random_thing
    OP

    Newcomer random_thing Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    Australia
    Just wondering if updating to system menu 4.2 will make wiiware and vc that u installed from wads stuff up.
    Thx ppls
     


  2. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    just don't update

    Although they should work unless they're on SD
     
  3. random_thing
    OP

    Newcomer random_thing Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    Australia
    so if i update, i cant load the wiiware and stuff from sd... right?
     
  4. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    Don't update

    How hard can that be?

    But my guest would be that they don't work from SD
     
  5. Raysie1

    Newcomer Raysie1 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    I heard you shouldn't update to 4.2, things like bannerbomb don't work, homebrew channel, bootmi, IOS70 are all stopped.

    If I were you, for the time being I wouldn't update.
     
  6. random_thing
    OP

    Newcomer random_thing Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    Australia
  7. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    To be exact it stops:
    • Bannerbomb
    • Deletes HBC and blocks Hackmii installer
    • Overwrites cIOS 249, 250, 222 and 223
    • Preloader doesn't work
    • Bootmii doesn't work
     
  8. random_thing
    OP

    Newcomer random_thing Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    Australia
    one more thing... wat should i do when they try to force me to update when i try to play games that i bought from the shops (so they are not patched like the backup games)?
     
  9. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    As preloader still works till 4.1, install it and block updates

    Or if you don't like it get Startpatch (4.0 and 4.1 only)
     
  10. random_thing
    OP

    Newcomer random_thing Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    Australia
  11. Mark McDonut

    Member Mark McDonut GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    495
    Country:
    United States
    No, use GeckoOS to load your new games the first time, It will add and update appropriate non-stub (working) IOS files so your game runs but system menu stays intact.

    Running Wii sports resort on 3.2 so it currently works.

    Blocking updates alone could make some newer games blackscreen or error due to needing Certain IOS files installed.

    Do block updates if you tend to boot through disc channel a lot so you don't accidentally update, just like I said boot your original disc games the first time with GeckoOS.
     
  12. random_thing
    OP

    Newcomer random_thing Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    Australia
    does startpatch work on pal wii???
     
  13. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    Yes
    There is a version for PAL

    http://wiibrew.org/wiki/StartPatch#Download


    and just got a report telling it DOES remove ALL pirated channels
     
  14. random_thing
    OP

    Newcomer random_thing Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    Australia
    i tried to install startpatch but it just says 'The patch section was not found in the DOL. Nothing to do.'

    little bit help plz...
     
  15. random_thing
    OP

    Newcomer random_thing Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    Australia
    i think it is because i hav preloader...
     
  16. marice

    Member marice GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    131
    Country:
    Netherlands

    correct...

    but if u have preloader.. whats the point of getting startpatch?
    just leave it, as it is now.
     
  17. Screemer

    Member Screemer GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,248
    Country:
    Germany
    what i am wondering is if the update removes every fakesigned channel. that would mean that it removes hacked vc/ww and selfmade channels as well as it removes hbc. that would be a huge leap forward when it comes to piracy prevention.
     
  18. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    it does as I've heard
     
  19. Screemer

    Member Screemer GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,248
    Country:
    Germany
    over at tehskeen someone said he installed ios70 and sm4.2 and only hbc got effected. i think they are simply filtering the haxx channel in some way.
     
  20. 9th_Sage

    Member 9th_Sage GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,481
    Country:
    United States
    Actually, I just tried it (since I updated with a WAD it didn't update the boot2, so I can roll back using BootMii). My USB Loader channels created by Loadstructor were still there. HBC was gone though. I never would have tried it without having BootMii still installed.
     

Share This Page