Wii Swiss Booter

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by WiiPower, Feb 1, 2011.

Feb 1, 2011

Wii Swiss Booter by WiiPower at 1:32 PM (39,115 Views / 0 Likes) 66 replies

  1. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Version 0.3:
    http://www.mediafire.com/?hxd1skdqmr9qzzz
    (savegame date bug fixed)

    Version 0.2:
    http://www.mediafire.com/?l94drvg5efk2g03

    Version 0.1:
    http://www.mediafire.com/?spdzt88k4zfwaxx

    What's this?
    This program searches all storage for the swiss executable and then runs it in gamecube mode. It does require a cMIOS to do this like other gamecube homebrew booters. But this is modified to execute one command MIOS would execute and which is required to reset the drive. Short: Other gamecube homebrew booters may not allow the booted gamecube homebrew to reset the drive, this one does.

    Current status:
    - No graphics output at all
    - No errors or warnings, it will either work or not
    - USB storage might not be working(did not work for me, but the code is there...)

    I'm open to suggestions on how to improve this or how to spell the text for the HBC better.
     


  2. Yuan

    Member Yuan GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,267
    Country:
    Brazil
    Doesn't GC Booter Homebrew allow for example? I was using it to load Swiss (I was only using my SD Gecko, not disks so I can't tell).
     
  3. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    The 1st issue i found:
    http://code.google.com/p/swiss-gc/issues/detail?id=1
    can only be fixed if Swiss can reset the drive. Swiss could unlock the drive itself, but then it would need to know that it 1. It's running a wii and 2. the drive is locked.

    Or to understand better, boot Gecko OS for gamecube:
    http://www.gc-forever.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=98
    with both booters and try to load games with it.
     
  4. QueenKong

    Newcomer QueenKong Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Country:
    France
    Good job lol, I see Swiss is waited as a prophet. [​IMG]
     
  5. VatoLoco

    Member VatoLoco Don't crush that dwarf, hand me the pliers.

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,255
    Location:
    Ya Cant Get There From Here
    Country:
    United States
    thanks for this, Wiipower=)
    time for some sdgecko game testing on me wii
     
  6. Skater4599

    Member Skater4599 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    809
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    I tried this out last night and could not get it to work. I put the dol on both USB hdd and the sd card thats in my SD Wiikey adapter. I realized i did not have a patched MIOS (Forgot since I have a modchip, so never dealt with any gamecube homebrew before) So I downlaoded/installed Homebrew MIOS patcher, Now instead of restarting the Wii, it sits at a blackscreen no wiimote or nothing. Any Ideas/insight?

    Could it be my MIOS? I used v4 since i read it was the latest that could use cheats, no gamecube launcher so my MIOS wont play burned discs since my modchip already does this, and i version patched it to 65535

    Or is Wiikey adaptor not compatible, I thought i read it was but maybe im wrong. Or maybe it has something to do with the sd card inside my wiikey adaptor? Does it need a certain format/layout? Wiixplorer reads and writes to it fine how it is now.

    P.S. Thanks for this app and making it possible on the wii!
     
  7. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Try this cMIOS:
    http://www.mediafire.com/?4ayvwgqey66qc9v
    It also allows you to use Action Replay, but is based on the latest MIOS.

    Does it work if you load Swiss from front sd? Also, can you load the Wii Swiss Booter itself from SD Gecko in HBC?
     
  8. Skater4599

    Member Skater4599 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    809
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States

    Thanks WiiPower I will try that MIOS today when I get home from work.

    I did not try loading swiss or swiss booter from front SD card but i'll try today as well. I meant that i had put swiss.dol on my SD gecko sd card root, not the loader, Does HBC even read SD gecko as a way to boot homebrew? Never tried that before
     
  9. chop

    Member chop GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    487
    Location:
    Pontefract
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've got an SDGecko on the way, but in the mean time I've been giving this a run.

    It boot's my original disc's fine. but won't run my DVD-R backups, is this normal.
    and when my gecko comes will it run backups from there, and can they be shrunk?


    and, what we need now is some sort of front-end that will transfer my gamecube.iso's from my usb drive to the SDGecko.
     
  10. Category

    Member Category Trainee Romhacker

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    221
    Location:
    Bournemouth
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    WiiXplorer is what I use
     
  11. Skater4599

    Member Skater4599 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    809
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    I updated my MIOS with this and still no go so I ran the booter from the sd gecko in hbc and it worked!

    I dumped Mario sunshine and it was a full 1.4~gb does swiss not "scrub" games? What's the best way to do this?
     
  12. farcry15

    Member farcry15 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    225
    Country:
    United States
    i tried some games known to work with sd-boot.
    animal crossing froze at nintendo.
    metal gear solid twin snakes gave an error (something about a file being too large to fit in memory)
     
  13. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    http://www.mediafire.com/?gv56hcsnsl3hcqs

    Can you try these 2 test versions? If one of them works, could you please tell which one, and what's the error exactly? Then i can tell emu_kidid directly.
     
  14. farcry15

    Member farcry15 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    225
    Country:
    United States
    this game loads up fine in sd-boot 0.4 however it freezes for me whenever you call anyone on the codec effectively preventing saving.
     
  15. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Thanks, was worth a shot. I notified emu_kidid, hopefully he finds the problem.
     
  16. Levente

    Member Levente GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    243
    Country:
    Hungary
  17. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
  18. Adr990

    Member Adr990 To boldly go where no man has gone before!

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,407
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Sweet, this indeed is better than other loaders I see.

    Thanks for this WiiPower! (To lazy to setup the Gamecube eheh.)

    Adr990
     
  19. jordan_ch

    Newcomer jordan_ch Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    51
    Country:
    China
    is here the lastest version to download?
     
  20. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,950
    Country:
    United States
    All that's needed now is for someone to create a channel for it... (I would, but I'm no good at designing banners)
     

Share This Page