[?] Wii slot light.

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by DaWiis, Jun 16, 2009.

Jun 16, 2009

[?] Wii slot light. by DaWiis at 2:16 AM (8,630 Views / 0 Likes) 75 replies

  1. DaWiis
    OP

    Newcomer DaWiis Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    Norway
    shouldn't this be possible now with all the new hacks we have? Preloader hack or anything else?
     


  2. Darkzero51521

    Member Darkzero51521 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    174
    Country:
    United States
    It's really easy if you just solder a wire to the base. Mine does it. Go google.
     
  3. vergilite

    Member vergilite GBATemps Regular Clown

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    737
    Location:
    Liv-Liv-Liverpool YEAH!
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    that would be awesome, on all the time, but wouldn't that have any adverse effects
     
  4. Tichinde925

    Member Tichinde925 Marth Ditto Money Match?

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,096
    Location:
    Warwick, Rhode Island
    Country:
    United States
    No adverse effects. Its just 2 LEDs.
     
  5. DaWiis
    OP

    Newcomer DaWiis Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    Norway
    Hope someone makes a code for the preloader for this [​IMG]
     
  6. natemckn

    Member natemckn GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    120
    Location:
    New York (State, not City)
    Country:
    United States
    really simple solution:
    Send yourself an email! The slot lights up when you have a new email. Send an email to wXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX@wii.com where the X's are your 16 digit FC. Now never open that email and your slot will always be lit
     
  7. Sstew

    Member Sstew GBAtemp's Grim Reaper.

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,463
    Location:
    Florida
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah but once you power on the Wii doesnt the light go off?
     
  8. natemckn

    Member natemckn GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    120
    Location:
    New York (State, not City)
    Country:
    United States
    Dunno. You want the light on ALL the time? I agree that it looks nice but I feel its unnecessary to have the light on while playing it
     
  9. Sstew

    Member Sstew GBAtemp's Grim Reaper.

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,463
    Location:
    Florida
    Country:
    United States

    I believe that's what he's referring to. "And the Wii was always seen with that sleek blue slot light while people were playing with it."
    and under the Topic title the description mentions making the light permanent".

    I agree it's a bit unnecessary, but it would look cool, I suppose.
     
  10. SifJar

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    well he was asking how to get it to stay on all the time, while playing, so yeah, I guess he would want it on all the time
     
  11. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    there was a wii homebrew demo (called Wiilight) that could control the light. But I think it doesn't exist anymore [​IMG]
     
  12. Thanatos

    Newcomer Thanatos Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    39
    Country:
    United States
  13. PrimeTime 84

    Newcomer PrimeTime 84 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Messages:
    96
    Country:
    Brazil
    Tires have led always connected. I tried this because I received a message while he hours in Brawl. [​IMG]
     
  14. Matt93

    Member Matt93 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    469
    Country:
    United States
    I think it would be awesome to have a hack for this too. But doesn't the hardmod way still keep your slot light on even if the Wii is in standby? If thats true then I don't want that. I only want the slot light on whenever the Wii is showing something on the screen and not in standby. And when it's off and there is a message. A hack would be awesome for this and i don't see why it couldn't be possible.
     
  15. Thanatos

    Newcomer Thanatos Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    39
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, on the hardmod the light stays on if you have connect24 on and if you leave the Wii in standby mode, but for someone like me who had a Launch Wii get a burned GPU due to the heat produced by the standby mode(nintendo repair was great and i got a new 1 year warranty with the repair so no real complaints) and someone who never gets messages to his Wii i leave those things off. If your worried about not getting messages im pretty sure the Wii points out that you have a new message in the main menu anyways. Im going to try the mod tonight and have a few ideas on how to do it without solder or stripping of the original wires. Good thing i got that Tri-wing screwdriver from dealextreme "just in case" a couple of months ago.
     
  16. BillandAlisha

    Member BillandAlisha GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Messages:
    185
    Location:
    Michigan
    Country:
    United States
    While I think this may look cool for about oh, 10 minutes. After that, the blue light would start to annoy me and affect my game play.
     
  17. jcasas392

    Newcomer jcasas392 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    United States
    i did this about 8 months ago. really easy. dont even need to solder. i ordered my triwing screwdriver from ebay. they sent 2 for like $4.99. you just have get the front panel off, and expose a bit of the red cable thats hooked up to the LED. with another piece of copper wire, wrap it around the exposed cable, and you can just jam the other end into the wii itself. the metal inside gives it ground and causes it to be on all the time. even on standy by mode. looks cool.
     
  18. Hells Guardian

    Member Hells Guardian GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,113
    Country:
    United States
    there is a hardware register that can be controlled by the sofware..... In fact it's a static value in both system menu and game....... if one created a hack that would force a specific value to the address that controls it then you would have what you want. it's kind of like creating a cheat code for ocarina but without as much support for multiple code types..... that and the preloader won't write to the memory area that you need......
     
  19. DaWiis
    OP

    Newcomer DaWiis Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    Norway
    Using preloder we should be able to run a program before the systemmenu boots. That program could force it to be on. The Beauty of making this software hack is that when you don't like the light any more you can just turn it of [​IMG]
     
  20. Hells Guardian

    Member Hells Guardian GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,113
    Country:
    United States
    hmmm very true.... however the address resets when loading a game or channel..... we would have to figure out whats resetting the value and try and disable that...... but with that simple hack we should be able to get it to work. with the source from wiilight the address in question was easy to find. I can look at it with the USB Gecko Debugger and give a dump of the ASM thats writing to it if someone want's to do the actual code work.

    by poking an 8 bit value of A0 to this address it turns the light on

    CD0000C3

    the memory viewer shows this starting at

    CD0000C0

    the 32 bit value at that address is 0000C1A0

    if we change the C1 to a value of 00 it will disable the ability to use the wiimote..... So what we need is a simple to to force an 8 bit value of A0 to the memory address CD0000C3. otherwise we also need to determine the code that resets it when loading a game and disable it. by doing that we would create a software based hack for this...... I would think it wouldn't be too difficult to do.....


    Well upon taking a closer look at it I don't see the code thats reseting the light..... It may be that the hadware it's self is resetting.... I'm waiting for an email to myself to arrive now though.....
     

Share This Page