Wii Freezing

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by WiiFSA, Dec 19, 2009.

Dec 19, 2009

Wii Freezing by WiiFSA at 11:07 PM (3,295 Views / 0 Likes) 35 replies

  1. WiiFSA
    OP

    Newcomer WiiFSA Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    United States
    Hello, everyone

    Well they wouldn't help me on the noob thread, I didn't find an answer by searching, and I'm kinda in a hurry because i leave town soon, so this is my last hope...

    So I had a problem...my Wii keeps freezing out of no where. :\
    I noticed it first when I was playing brawl and I thought it was the hacks, but while using other applications on the HBC it froze many times again. It didn't freeze that often before, but now its just ridiculous, I also didn't do any changes to my Wii nor installed anything new from when it didn't freeze often to now when it freezes way too much, and I don't know if this has anything to do with the freezing problem, but a lot of my apps often just load into a black screen, and I have to
    restart my Wii and load the app again.

    Also is there a fix for the fan problem on standby?(I'm guessing it's the fan) If I play a game by disc and I put the Wii on standby the fan stays on, it only does this when i start a disc, if I don't use a disc and I put it on standby the Wii makes no noise.

    I don't know how to fix this, hopefully someone can help me.

    Thanks.


    tl;dr - My Wii freezes a lot, some one help me.
     


  2. Cruton

    Newcomer Cruton Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    I may be having the same problem that just started today, Saturday the 19th.
    The Wii seems to work fine until I either go into the Homebrew Channel or try to play one of the games I installed with the .wad manager.
    When I do that, sometimes the Wii freezes, but most times it just seems to lose connection to the Wii remotes.
    The four bottom lights start to flash, then go off.
    After that any time I push a button, the 4 lights start to flash, then go off.
    Like the Wii console is off and the remotes have nothing to connect to.
    But then I can reset the console and everything works fine again until I go into the HBC or the other .wad games.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks!
     
  3. Hatsu

    Banned Hatsu Someone's been killing, eh?

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,143
    Location:
    __________________ Warn: 50%
    Country:
    Australia
    Maybe your IOS's are stuffed up. Do a safe update to 4.2
     
  4. Cruton

    Newcomer Cruton Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    I am at 4.2U already.
    How do you do a safe update?
    Got a link?
     
  5. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
  6. Cruton

    Newcomer Cruton Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    Do that even though it was your guide I followed in the first place a couple of weeks ago?
     
  7. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    hmm well i guess you can re install your cIOS.
     
  8. Cruton

    Newcomer Cruton Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    I'll give it a try and report back later.

    Thanks!
     
  9. Cruton

    Newcomer Cruton Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    Well, my Wii started working right again, so here is what happened:
    I unzipped the modify.zip to my SD card and put it into the Wii slot, but then I had to go do some other stuff.
    I come back, and my daughter turns on the Wii and goes to the HBC, but doesn't see what she normally sees and asks me about it.
    I told her that I was working on something, and I then removed the SD card.
    After that, the Wiiflow came up, and everything started working right.
    Even rebooted the Wii a few times to be sure, and so far everything is good.

    Go figure.
     
  10. WiiFSA
    OP

    Newcomer WiiFSA Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    United States
    Well I updated my IOS using Dope-IOS and the problem persists...I even had to restart my Wii at least 5 times while updating the IOS because of random freezes.

    btw im still 4.1 does that matter?
     
  11. WiiFSA
    OP

    Newcomer WiiFSA Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    United States
    Using Dope-IOS I got a upside down HBC when updating IOS36 only thing that fixed it was reinstalling it with out Hash Check nor ES_identity are any of those important?
     
  12. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    yeah those are important man.

    Thats what install cIOS.

    you need to reinstall HBC so it can run under IOS61, and not IOS36
     
  13. WiiFSA
    OP

    Newcomer WiiFSA Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    United States
    ok so I update IOS36 with both Hash Check and ES_identity on then get upside down HBC then reinstall HBC to IOS61... and will this stop all the freezing? ._.
     
  14. Eddie_Brock

    Member Eddie_Brock GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    341
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    Country:
    Canada
    This likely not your fan. Its your disc spinning endlessly inside the Wii. Its a known bug with an outdated version of PreLoader. There are two options: 1) Remove your game discs when you power down the Wii 2) Update your Preloader to 0.30, or Install Priiloader, both of which fix this issue.

    I hope this helps. [​IMG]
     
  15. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    you should re install HBC before dopping IOS36
     
  16. WiiFSA
    OP

    Newcomer WiiFSA Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    United States
    apparently i need to convert the .elf file to .dol anyone have a converter?
     
  17. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
  18. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    just rename the boot.elf to boot.dol
     
  19. WiiFSA
    OP

    Newcomer WiiFSA Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    United States
    Umm sorry for being so noob, but how do I install HBC to IOS61? I don't see an option for it on the HackMii Installer.
     
  20. WiiFSA
    OP

    Newcomer WiiFSA Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    United States
    Oh so that's what it was...lol thanks

    Which one is better? I heard there was one called Starpatch or something like that, also will they just install over my old Preloader?

    Thanks.
     

Share This Page