Hacking Wii Black Screen Issue

aznmarvo

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 4, 2009
Messages
12
Trophies
0
XP
1
Country
Ok... I have had an issue with my Wii.
It's on system menu 4.1e.
I firstly installed a wad, ios16-64-v247-prod.
After I did this every time I tried to launch an app in HBC I get a black screen.
Then I thought I should reformat it and see if it helped, but there was no success in that.
I then tried to bannerbomb the Wii using the Hackmii installer, when it loaded it also gave me a black screen.
Now I am stuck and need to ask the question, does anyone know how to fix this?
I remember installing Bootmii as an IOS, but I have no preloader.
Also, will Nintendo's system update to 4.2e save my Wii, brick it, or do nothing at all?

Thanks.
 

techboy

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2009
Messages
1,720
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Pennsylvania
Website
Visit site
XP
316
Country
United States
If all else fails, update it. Try installing HBC again. If it bricks during the update, call N and tell them update to 4.2 failed. You'll get a refurb, likely cheap or free since the update has caused quite a few bricks. Some people report getting bootmii/boot2 capable wiis back.

As tattar8 said, IOS16 is horribly outdated. It was worthless for modding as of 4.0.
 

TroyTheZombie

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2009
Messages
1,631
Trophies
0
Age
42
Location
Calgary, Canada
Website
Visit site
XP
257
Country
Canada
see the stickies at the very top of this forum?

xzero's guide, follow it from the very beginning, to the very end. do EVERY step. don't skip any.

By the end, you will have a fully hacked wii.
 

aznmarvo

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 4, 2009
Messages
12
Trophies
0
XP
1
Country
So is v2 suppose to work with system menu 4.1e? and also with v1 I've tried all of them before and they all froze my Wii except 1 so I think I can only use the one I got at the moment.
 

rctgamer3

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 5, 2008
Messages
321
Trophies
1
XP
569
Country
Netherlands
Bannerbomb v2 is only for 4.2, Bannerbomb is for 4.1 and lower, so don't use V2
wink.gif
 

aznmarvo

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 4, 2009
Messages
12
Trophies
0
XP
1
Country
ios16-64-v247-prod just stuffed everything up I guess, ever since I installed that wad I haven't been able to load many apps, including SSBB.

*EDIT* It's a long story... Was being stupid, went through my random list of wads, thought one would work in order to run my backup loader.. Then Boom...
 

techboy

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2009
Messages
1,720
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Pennsylvania
Website
Visit site
XP
316
Country
United States
Are you sure your IOS16 v257 was actually an IOS16? I have a feeling it might have been an IOS36, since SSBB won't run. Your IOS36 is corrupt or missing.

Never trust the name of the wad. I once had an IOS34 that was labeled as an IOS60. I'm sure you can guess what happened. Ended with a bootmii restore. For the future, it's best to make IOS wads with NUS Downloader, since you can guarantee they are the IOS you wanted, and are not corrupt.

See if Wad Manager or DOP-IOS MOD will run from bannerbomb. If so, select IOS60 as the IOS to use, then install the latest IOS36 (no trucha if using DOP-IOS MOD). Try hackmii installer again.
 

aznmarvo

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 4, 2009
Messages
12
Trophies
0
XP
1
Country
I would try bannerbomb v2 asap, but that won't be any time soon, cause I'm tired at the moment. Please come the support coming. Will updating through Nintendo brick my Wii is still my main question? Because I can just update and try the 4.2 hack.
 

aznmarvo

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 4, 2009
Messages
12
Trophies
0
XP
1
Country
Umm.. Tried Bannerbomb v2 but it freezes. Does anyone actually know the answer to my simple question???

*treat this as a bump*
 

ringorinfret

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 10, 2008
Messages
306
Trophies
0
XP
142
Country
United States
when you go to data management and bannerbomb pops up to ask you if you want to run the boot.dol (or boot.elf) , do you even see that qustion or you get instantly a black screen? if you get the question but then you accept, maybe it is the boot.dol (or .elf) that is in the root of your SD card that is corrupted, try putting the hackmii installer as the boot.dol so you can re-install the hbc

my 2 cents
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @mthrnite, Cheetah Girls, the sequel to Action 52's Cheetah Men.
    +2
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Pokemon Black I played that one a lot
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Honestly never messed with Pokémon on ds much
  • mthrnite @ mthrnite:
    I played pokemon once, was bored, never tried again
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Oh Dragon Quest IX
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Spent like 5 hours on switch one never touched it again
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Sentinel of the stary skies
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Ds is 20 years old this year
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    So MJ no longer wants to play with it?
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    He put it down when the 3ds came out
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @K3Nv2, RIP Felix does great videos on the PS3 yellow-light-of-death.
  • Jayro @ Jayro:
    Eventhough the New 3DS XL is more powerful, I still feel like the DS Lite was a more polished system. It's a real shame that it never got an XL variant keeping the GBA slot. You'd have to go on AliExpress and buy an ML shell to give a DS phat the unofficial "DS Lite" treatment, and that's the best we'll ever get I'm afraid.
    +1
  • Jayro @ Jayro:
    The phat model had amazingly loud speakers tho.
    +1
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @Jayro, I don't see whats so special about the DS ML, its just a DS lite in a phat shell. At least the phat model had louder speakers, whereas the lite has a much better screen.
    +1
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    They probably said "Hey, why not we combine the two together and make a 'new' DS to sell".
  • Veho @ Veho:
    It's a DS Lite in a slightly bigger DS Lite shell.
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    It's not a Nintendo / iQue official product, it's a 3rd party custom.
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Nothing special about it other than it's more comfortable than the Lite
    for people with beefy hands.
    +1
  • Jayro @ Jayro:
    I have yaoi anime hands, very lorge but slender.
  • Jayro @ Jayro:
    I'm Slenderman.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    I have hands.
    Veho @ Veho: +1