1. g00gly0eyes

    OP g00gly0eyes Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2013
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    United States
    My Wii took a nasty fall, and some hardware got damaged, and some other less readily apparent hardware may have aswell. The physical SD card slot that holds it in place and has the push-in to eject with the little spring loaded mechanism, both have come completely off. I can hold an SD card against the contacts to get it to read though.

    Now, when I press the power button, nothing happens at all, for about a minute, which, if I remember correctly, is bootmii stalling waiting for an input before autoloading into the system menu. I cannot see bootmii. After what I suspect to be bootmii stalling is over, the disk drive flashes blue and I suspect that would be when the stock wii system menu would load. When it does this, my TV recieves a signal, which is a black screen with nothing on it, with no sound. The only difference between that state and the previous state is that the TV reads "no signal" at first, then when the drive flashes blue, that goes away and the TV reads "480i", but doesn't display anything. I can't connect a wii remote to the console in either state.

    I tried holding the reset button while booting the console, and Priiloader loads, and displays on the TV normally. I'm able to load from the SD card from priiloader, and load the Homebrew channel through there aswell. Some homebrew apps do load, but some do not. Maybe someone has created a diagnostic tool to tell if the bluetooth and wifi chips have failed? The only leverage I have is priiloader. Please help me troubleshoot!
     
  2. The Real Jdbye

    The Real Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    20,641
    Country:
    Norway
    Sadly I think you are likely to be able to fix that, it could be just about anything. Luckily Wiis are pretty cheap so it is probably not worth the hassle troubleshooting it, and most likely not being able to fix it in the end anyway.
     
  3. g00gly0eyes

    OP g00gly0eyes Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2013
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    United States
    I would like to at least get a NAND backup of this wii before I get another one. Is that possible?
     
  4. TheTechRobo

    TheTechRobo Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2020
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    Canada
    Creating a syscheck will allow us to help you further. since we can see what SysMenu and IOSes are on your console.If that homebrew works.

    When you turn on the wii and it takes a minute, and bootmii doesn't load, does the SD card have bootmii?

    You could also check "System Menu Hacks" in priiloader to make sure you didn't change a setting that screws something up.

    You could also try pressing "A" when you get the input but don't see anything, that could be a corrupt version of the healthscreen.

    This also could be due to corrupt RAM or something, since some homebrew works. In this case that would be because some programs use more ram than others and the corrupt RAM screws it up.

    Don't take my word on that though. I'm by no means an expert.
     
    Last edited by TheTechRobo, Mar 8, 2021
    alexander1970 likes this.
  5. g00gly0eyes

    OP g00gly0eyes Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2013
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    United States
    ios 202, 222, 223, and 224 freeze

    The SD card does have a bootmii folder on the root with armboot.bin, bootmii.ini, ppcboot.elf in it. I did notice that when I'm holding the SD card in place (which is rather difficult to keep in position for a long period of time) I'm able to hold the reset button for a period of like 3 seconds to get to priiloader rather than waiting a minute.

    In particular, the only homebrew app that I found didn't work was WiiXplorer, a file browser for wii. I haven't tested everything, but a lot of other apps do work.

    EDIT: I noticed the bootmii ini there as i reported it, so i checked and it was set to progressive. I hadn't switched back to my component rgb cables since I figured the composite would give me the best compatibility chances.. oops! I can in fact see bootmii now! system menu is still black screen though.

    edit: syscheck.csv was infact old so I removed it.
     
    Last edited by g00gly0eyes, Mar 14, 2021
  6. TheTechRobo

    TheTechRobo Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2020
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    Canada
    Haven't used your Wii in a while I see. :P

    Corruption of metadata creahes WiiXplorer? I don't know about that one, don't trust me there.

    So, if you have access to HBC, try loading SaveGame Manager GX. Make a NAND backup before hand. If SGMGX doesn't work, you can always restore your saves from nand backup and then put them in your new wii manually... though it's rather tedious. :unsure:
     
  7. g00gly0eyes

    OP g00gly0eyes Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2013
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    United States
    I think that's a result of the clock battery being removed. I just created that report a moment before I posted the results.


    I believe WiiXplorer has to load into one of my ios that is corrupted or whatever it is that's wrong with them.

    Does anybody know exactly what's wrong with my ios 202 and 222-224? It could be that the Wii fell during the wrong time and power cut to corrupt something, but physically isn't damaged? Would restoring an old NAND backup fix those ios that cause crashes during SysCheck HDE?
     
  8. TheTechRobo

    TheTechRobo Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2020
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    Canada
    Potentially yes, but make another one first.
     
  9. g00gly0eyes

    OP g00gly0eyes Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2013
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    United States
    Bad news, the NAND restore did not fix my black screen. Also, I just realized that the syscheck.csv I uploaded was old. I tried getting a new one after deleting the one that was on the SD card, but it didn't save a report. It said success, would you like to view the report? It's there, but it doesn't save to the SD card root. I could painstakingly transcribe it I guess..
     
  10. KokoseiJ

    KokoseiJ GBAtemp VOCALOID Enthusiast
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2020
    Messages:
    297
    Country:
    Korea, South
    First of all, did you install BootMii in a boot2?

    fyi, If the drive blinks twice fastly, It just indicates that your BootMii has kicked in but couldn't find a payload. I think this thread could help: https://gbatemp.net/threads/drive-light-flashes-twice-fast-when-bricked.217343/

    For now, You can access priiloader so I assume you can boot to sysmenu or homebrew channel via there- Can you boot into BootMii from homebrew channel?

    EDIT: nvm, just checked the whole thread. scrap everything I just said.

    Apparently, in some versions of BootMii, if BOOTDELAY value in bootmii.ini is set to 0, It hangs at startup. The thread itself was from 2010 so it could be no longer relevant, but since I'm not sure about what version of BootMii you're using, I think it's worth a shot.
     
    Last edited by KokoseiJ, Mar 14, 2021
  11. g00gly0eyes

    OP g00gly0eyes Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2013
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    United States
    Here is my current Syscheck.csv that I transcribed by hand:
    SysCheck HDE v2.4.0 HacksDen Edition by JoostinOnline, Double_A, R2-D2199, and Nano
    ... runs on IOS58 (rev 6176).

    Region: NTSC-U
    System Menu 4.3U (v513)

    Could not detect the drive date!
    Homebrew Channel 1.1.2 running on IOS58

    Hollywood v0x11
    Console ID: 39918682
    Console Type: Wii
    Shop Channel Country: United States (49)
    Boot2 v4
    Found 109 titles.
    Found 47 IOS on this console. 9 of them are stubs.

    IOS4 (rev 65280): Stub
    IOS9 (rev 1034): Trucha Bug
    IOS10 (rev 768): Stub
    IOS11 (rev 256): Stub
    IOS12 (rev 526): Trucha Bug
    IOS13 (rev 1032): Trucha Bug
    IOS14 (rev 1032): Trucha Bug
    IOS15 (rev 1032): Trucha Bug
    IOS16 (rev 512): Stub
    IOS17 (rev 1032): Trucha Bug
    IOS20 (rev 256): Stub
    IOS21 (rev 1039): Trucha Bug
    IOS22 (rev 1294): Trucha Bug
    IOS28 (rev 1807): Trucha Bug
    IOS30 (rev 2816): Stub
    IOS31 (rev 3608): Trucha Bug
    IOS33 (rev 3608): Trucha Bug
    IOS34 (rev 3608): Trucha Bug
    IOS35 (rev 3608): Trucha Bug
    IOS36 (rev 3608): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Access
    IOS37 (rev 5663): Trucha Bug
    IOS38 (rev 4124): Trucha Bug
    IOS40 (rev 3072): Stub
    IOS41 (rev 3607): No Patches
    IOS43 (rev 3607): No Patches
    IOS45 (rev 3607): No Patches
    IOS46 (rev 3607): No Patches
    IOS48 (rev 4124): No Patches
    IOS50 (rev 5120): Trucha Bug
    IOS51 (rev 4864): Stub
    IOS52 (rev 5888): Stub
    IOS53 (rev 5663): Trucha Bug
    IOS55 (rev 5663): Trucha Bug
    IOS56 (rev 5662): Trucha Bug
    IOS57 (rev 5919): Trucha Bug
    IOS58 (rev 6176): USB 2.0
    IOS60 (rev 6400): Trucha Bug
    IOS61 (rev 5662): No Patches
    IOS62 (rev 6430): Trucha Bug
    IOS70 (rev 6912): Trucha Bug
    IOS80 (rev 6944): Trucha Bug
    IOS202: Skipped
    IOS236[36] (rev 65535): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Access
    IOS247[57] (rev 21006): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
    IOS248[56] (rev 21006): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
    IOS249[56] (rev 21010): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
    IOS250[57] (rev 65535): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
    IOS254 (rev 65281): BootMii
    BC V6
    MIOS V10
    Report generated on 12/05/2005.

    Apologies if anything there is obviously incorrect, please let me know.

    IOS202, 222, 223, 224 freeze.
     
    Last edited by g00gly0eyes, Mar 14, 2021
  12. KokoseiJ

    KokoseiJ GBAtemp VOCALOID Enthusiast
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2020
    Messages:
    297
    Country:
    Korea, South
    Have you tried this? It also did the same thing to my Wii so this could be the case.

    EDIT: damn, you transcibed that? Images would've been enough in this case.. thanks for your hard work.

    Can you try apps which utilizes wiimote and see if it works? If bluetooth module is the problem, They should fail to work in that part. same thing goes to wifi module.
     
    Last edited by KokoseiJ, Mar 14, 2021
  13. g00gly0eyes

    OP g00gly0eyes Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2013
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    United States
    Just checked my bootmii.ini, the delay is set to 5, or I guess whatever default is, since it's commented out with the #? I think? I don't know much about that sort of thing.
    # BootMii config file

    # Video mode, possible settings:
    # NTSC, PAL50, PAL60, PROGRESSIVE
    VIDEO=PROGRESSIVE

    # Autoboot, possible settings:
    # SYSMENU, HBC
    #AUTOBOOT=SYSMENU

    # Autoboot delay, in seconds:
    # Default is 5
    #BOOTDELAY=5
     
    Last edited by g00gly0eyes, Mar 14, 2021
  14. KokoseiJ

    KokoseiJ GBAtemp VOCALOID Enthusiast
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2020
    Messages:
    297
    Country:
    Korea, South
    I edited the post once again. Does your Wii work with homebrews that are using Wiimotes? You can determine if your bt module has gone bad that way.
     
  15. g00gly0eyes

    OP g00gly0eyes Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2013
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    United States
    I'd since synced up my wiimotes to my Wii U, should I be able to sync them back in the homebrew browser?
     
  16. KokoseiJ

    KokoseiJ GBAtemp VOCALOID Enthusiast
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2020
    Messages:
    297
    Country:
    Korea, South
    Sync button is a thing.

    Also, If you have a GC controller, You could try to boot up to Recovery mode by using a method called "SaveMiiFrii"- Which is plugging your GC controller to 4th port and press all 4 directions in D-Pad when booting. This requires cutting a bottom part in D-Pad(I heard that just jamming D-Pad in 4 directions as fast as you can could also work), so I suggest you to do that with counterfeit one, if you happen to have one.

    If you got into recovery mode and it shows "4.3U" in the bottom right- most likely BT module issue. take your Wii apart, see if BT module has become loose.

    I mean, From the symptons you've been describing and how you bricked the wii(A bad fall), It seems like BT module coming out loose is the issue here. Try to take it apart using iFixit's guide and see if there's something wrong.
     
    Last edited by KokoseiJ, Mar 14, 2021
  17. g00gly0eyes

    OP g00gly0eyes Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2013
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    United States
    Yup I've had my Wii open this whole time, I've been removing and reseating the wifi and bluetooth modules. The only way I can read SD cards on the Wii right now is by holding it carefully against the contacts that would normally be underneath the metal shield thingy.
    I could try the savemiifrii thing but I don't want to damage my controller. Do I need to put any files on my SD card to be able to use that, or does it come with bootmii or similar?
     
  18. KokoseiJ

    KokoseiJ GBAtemp VOCALOID Enthusiast
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2020
    Messages:
    297
    Country:
    Korea, South
    It is a backdoor implemented by ninty themselves, no additional files needed. You only need to press 4 directions in your GC pad. You could also use a piece of dongle that goes to the memory card slot- It's called SaveMii. imo, not worth buying it.

    I mean you can just open the controller and press the rubber pad yourself. but if just opening the controller also counts as damaging, we would have to find a new way.

    As someone above recommended, at this point I suggest you to get a new Wii... seems like it's been heavily damaged. You could also try to order wifi/bt module from online and swap it to see how it works out.
     
    Last edited by KokoseiJ, Mar 14, 2021
  19. g00gly0eyes

    OP g00gly0eyes Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2013
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    United States
    I took apart my controller and did the thing, I now see a black screen with the text "4.3(USA)" in the bottom right corner.
     
  20. TheTechRobo

    TheTechRobo Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2020
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    Canada
    You could in theory now boot an autoboot disc. So now we know that at least part of the system menu works
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - priiloader, displays, bootmii