WI-IC modchip

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by DookeyDakey, Feb 14, 2008.

Feb 14, 2008

WI-IC modchip by DookeyDakey at 6:33 AM (1,195 Views / 0 Likes) 4 replies

  1. DookeyDakey
    OP

    Newcomer DookeyDakey Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    South australia, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    well anyway, i was asking if the "WI-CI" modchip was compatable with my WII...

    i was looking for a wiikey. i found out there that my version of wii is not supported with the wii key and i have to get a D2C chip or something... but it takes up to 31 wires to connect :0

    so, compared to the D2C, the WI-Ci seems as a much more basic and easier approach to chipping my wii... but im not so sure that i have a compatable wii to work with it.

    i bought it in late 2007... and my serial no. is LAH103****** (if that halps with anything) yer, one of the later ones

    i wanted to know if i could still install it... due to the change in wii hardware, it seemed as if i couldn't (due too the wii-key team having to design a new chipping model!). or is it best i get a pro to install the D2C for me?

    thanks for your help! [​IMG]

    Post edited by shaunj66 to remove part of serial number
     
  2. lenselijer

    Member lenselijer GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,497
    Country:
    Netherlands
    you have most likely a d2c chipset, so you cannot use wii-ic or wiikey.

    only way to find out is to open your wii first, then check if your chip says d2b or d2c.

    if its d2b --> wiikey
    if its d2c --> d2ckey or d2pro.
     
  3. Scorpei

    Member Scorpei GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,295
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Regardless, I wouldn't get the WiiC. I was unable to update my sample (which is why I didn't include it in my media tests eventhough I did get a sample for it).
     
  4. DookeyDakey
    OP

    Newcomer DookeyDakey Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    South australia, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    aww, thats too bad [​IMG]

    eh, i guess the D2C going to have to do with my wii...

    thanks n e way!
     
  5. piepants

    Member piepants GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    108
    Location:
    Dubbo, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Get a pro to install the D2CKey. It's a little expensive but worth it.

    I got mine chipped at OzModChips.com in melbourne FWIW on a recommendation from a friend. Service was pretty good.
     

Share This Page