Why should I NOT buy Acekard 2i ?

jbloggs

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 10, 2008
Messages
43
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
41
Country
I'm thinking of getting the Acekard 2i and I would like to know if there is ANY reason I should NOT buy that and instead buy another brand. The couple of things that concerned me when looking at the Acekard 2i on shoptemp site was the following text in the description :

QUOTE said:
PLEASE NOTE: While the Acekard 2i is compatible with the DSi and DSi XL (1.4 firmware and above), the cart may need to be patched with firmware update that enables this compatibility. You will need a regular Nintendo DS or DS Lite to perform this update, or alternatively we can do it if you choose the Premium Flashing Service.

Since I'm just looking at these cards for the first time, I'm concerned that if it need special 'tricks' to do updates then it really isn't for newbee like me. Also in another thread some talked about needing to do a "paper trick" not sure what that was about but doesn't sound good.

On the other hand I have read positive reviews about the card and I really wish its not an "expert" only card. I would just like it to be plug and play and be able to easily update when necessary.
 

Opium

PogoShell it to me ™
Former Staff
Joined
Dec 22, 2002
Messages
8,201
Trophies
0
Age
34
Location
Australia
Website
www.gbatemp.net
XP
1,133
Country
Australia
It's a great card. All you need to do to make it compatible with the later DSi firmwares is to run one update file on it. Unfortunately you will need access to a regular DS, DS Lite or DSi with firmware under 1.4 to run that update on the cart obviously.

DSi firmware updates are trying to block flashcards so that is why you need to do this. All DSi compatible cards need updates when new firmwares come out.

As for getting another card, the Supercard DSTwo is great. It also needs updates to run on later DSi firmwares, but they do not need to be run on an older DS. Just drag and drop onto your microSD and you're good to go. It also has good GBA and SNES emulation and divx video playback. If those and the higher price tag don't interest you then go for the Acekard 2i. It is easily the best card next to the DSTwo.
 

Knyaz Vladimir

3DS Hacker
Member
Joined
Apr 18, 2009
Messages
556
Trophies
0
Age
26
Location
Unconfirmed
Website
Visit site
XP
58
Country
Canada
Yeah, AK2i is a decent card, but it needs to be patched to run on DSi/XL 1.4.1 or later by a system that's 1.4 or lower or just a DS without cameras.

If not, just take my recommended flashcard, a DSTWO. I recommended Cyclos before, but TC's being mean and no DSi support. So, buy a DSTWO (and maybe a Dingoo)
 

Moose13

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2008
Messages
249
Trophies
0
Location
New York
XP
236
Country
United States
I love my acekard, and there are many store that will upgrade the firmware for you, including Shoptemp, for just a few bucks if you don't have a DS/DS lite to upgrade.
 

AndroidDem0man

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 28, 2010
Messages
295
Trophies
0
Location
New York
XP
229
Country
United States
AK is a good card, i thought it looked amazing when WOOD wasnt around.
You can just use Wood R$.
you could get an R4i gold and use wood on it i believe.



@ vladimir, he could just go with an iedge, it just released the bootstrap for 1.4.1, and its made by tc and a really low price too, it has everything cyclo has except for some of the extra features.
 

RoMee

??
Member
Joined
Sep 3, 2010
Messages
2,314
Trophies
0
Location
??
Website
Visit site
XP
181
Country
United States
reasons to NOT buy it??

1. ghetto rigged (paper trick)
2. DSTWO
3. CycloDS iEvloution
4. final price on the acekard after registered mail, and flashing= $21.49 USD

Reason to buy??
AKAIO, this is all the reason you need, and it out weighs all the negatives
 

Knyaz Vladimir

3DS Hacker
Member
Joined
Apr 18, 2009
Messages
556
Trophies
0
Age
26
Location
Unconfirmed
Website
Visit site
XP
58
Country
Canada
AndroidDem0man said:
AK is a good card, i thought it looked amazing when WOOD wasnt around.
You can just use Wood R$.
you could get an R4i gold and use wood on it i believe.



@ vladimir, he could just go with an iedge, it just released the bootstrap for 1.4.1, and its made by tc and a really low price too, it has everything cyclo has except for some of the extra features.
iEdge is TC's only DSi card, but it doesn't work perfectly. Missing all those extra features that my regular 2-year old Cyclo has. On B.4.
 

AndroidDem0man

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 28, 2010
Messages
295
Trophies
0
Location
New York
XP
229
Country
United States
Knyaz Vladimir said:
AndroidDem0man said:
AK is a good card, i thought it looked amazing when WOOD wasnt around.
You can just use Wood R$.
you could get an R4i gold and use wood on it i believe.



@ vladimir, he could just go with an iedge, it just released the bootstrap for 1.4.1, and its made by tc and a really low price too, it has everything cyclo has except for some of the extra features.
iEdge is TC's only DSi card, but it doesn't work perfectly. Missing all those extra features that my regular 2-year old Cyclo has. On B.4.

Well, but if you dont want to waste 40$ on a cyclo and dont care for its extra features you can go with an iedge.
 

FireGrey

Undercover Admin
Member
Joined
Apr 13, 2010
Messages
3,921
Trophies
0
Website
www.youtube.com
XP
1,251
Country
It has contact issues.
And it bricks easier then other cards.
He wants negatives guys
tongue.gif
 

AndroidDem0man

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 28, 2010
Messages
295
Trophies
0
Location
New York
XP
229
Country
United States
FireGrey said:
It has contact issues.
And it bricks easier then other cards.
He wants negatives guys
tongue.gif
Oh yeah theres actually a video on youtube, some person bricked the dsi and now the acekard also wont work on any ds.
but then she compared it to her brothers, which wporked fine on thatr dsi

Edit: i still think an r4i gold with wood firmware would do the trick...
 

FireGrey

Undercover Admin
Member
Joined
Apr 13, 2010
Messages
3,921
Trophies
0
Website
www.youtube.com
XP
1,251
Country
lolzed said:
FireGrey said:
lolzed said:
FireGrey said:
And it bricks easier then other cards.
Proof?
I hear people that have got bricked Acekards but not with other cards.
You believe them? They must've just done something wrong. They're easy to fix anyway.
Believe them?
It happened to my friend and took a month to find out what the heck is wrong with it.
 

Etalon

Former Akaio Fanboy
Member
Joined
Oct 18, 2010
Messages
1,204
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
35
Country
Macau
The only negative thing about Acekard is it's price.

It should be $6-8. Just like R4i Ultra and it's clones (R4 Gold).

Or Akaio should start to support R4i Ultra. I don't really get it why Akaio supports "Acekard Classic" that much.
 

Rydian

Resident Furvert™
Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2010
Messages
27,880
Trophies
0
Age
34
Location
Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
Website
rydian.net
XP
8,907
Country
United States

jbloggs

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 10, 2008
Messages
43
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
41
Country
RoMee said:
reasons to NOT buy it??

1. ghetto rigged (paper trick)
2. DSTWO
3. CycloDS iEvloution
4. final price on the acekard after registered mail, and flashing= $21.49 USD

Reason to buy??
AKAIO, this is all the reason you need, and it out weighs all the negatives

Thanks all for the input.

What exactly is this "paper trick" , when/why would it need to be used?. The bricking aspect is now concerning me too.
 

Knyaz Vladimir

3DS Hacker
Member
Joined
Apr 18, 2009
Messages
556
Trophies
0
Age
26
Location
Unconfirmed
Website
Visit site
XP
58
Country
Canada
jbloggs said:
RoMee said:
reasons to NOT buy it??

1. ghetto rigged (paper trick)
2. DSTWO
3. CycloDS iEvloution
4. final price on the acekard after registered mail, and flashing= $21.49 USD

Reason to buy??
AKAIO, this is all the reason you need, and it out weighs all the negatives

Thanks all for the input.

What exactly is this "paper trick" , when/why would it need to be used?. The bricking aspect is now concerning me too.
You need to place a piece of paper between the AK2i to make it read better and to avoid it getting stuck in it.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Maximumbeans @ Maximumbeans: Everybody knows you slice that shit like a cake