Why do foreign games not work for me?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by another_waster, Feb 11, 2009.

Feb 11, 2009
  1. another_waster
    OP

    Member another_waster GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    192
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United States
    They seem to play but my screen flickers so they arent viewable...

    Is it because I have a really old tv?

    Anything I can do about this?
     
  2. LxTrix

    Member LxTrix GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Messages:
    613
    Country:
    United States
  3. games2007

    Member games2007 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008
    Messages:
    263
    Country:
    United States
    I'll be unlike most people and actually tell you, rather then tell you to refer to somewhere else.
    On the backup loader you're using, set Force NTSC to On, go back to the main menu, then launch the game. If you're hoping to boot a different region disk from the boot menu, there are region patching things, but since you already burned a different region game, just use the Gamma loader 0.3 and force NTSC.
    If you're playing on a USA Wii, Force NTSC.
    If you have a PAL (European) Wii, Force PAL
     
  4. deanmavis

    Newcomer deanmavis Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    Canada
    i have a question
    im pretty new to this softmod thing but i manage did it on my new wii.
    i follow all the step to mod my wii and i got 2 wii games one in ntsc and the other are pal
    when i ran the ntsc game with gamma loader v3 it works fine, and when i use pal game on my wii and i set to force pal 50 or 60 the result was black and white.
    i was wondering did i do something wrong on my mod or i miss some important step?
     
  5. Wiisel

    Member Wiisel GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,182
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    force to match your tv
     
  6. deanmavis

    Newcomer deanmavis Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    Canada
    like i said im pretty newie for this
    now im in the tutorial http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=125909
    and i got both r6 and wii generic wii patcher but i dont understand what he meant by
    2. Run my toy while the game you want to play is inserted. Press - in the main menu to start the dumping process.
    (if you have autoboot enabled in SoftChip you need to tap(not press) 1 to enter the menu, before pressing
    how to i get to the main menu and start dumping.....????
     
  7. Lumstar

    Member Lumstar Princess

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,531
    Location:
    Darling
    Country:
    United States
    Many TV sets in North America are incompatible with PAL.

    If the TV handles PAL fine, don't do anything. Just play the games in PAL as normal.

    If the TV doesn't show a picture, you'll likely need to use the force NTSC option.
     
  8. deanmavis

    Newcomer deanmavis Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    Canada
    i use gamma loader and force pal 50 or 60 it should black and white screen.
     
  9. Lumstar

    Member Lumstar Princess

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,531
    Location:
    Darling
    Country:
    United States
    Is the game you're trying to play pal or ntsc?
     
  10. deanmavis

    Newcomer deanmavis Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    Canada
    softmod ntsc game works perfect
    pal game works but in black and white
     
  11. Lumstar

    Member Lumstar Princess

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,531
    Location:
    Darling
    Country:
    United States
    That's probably the tv not being designed for pal. I can't help you there.
     
  12. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    I'm sorry dumping doesn't work in this version. Until i finished the new version, which at least theoretically works very well, use the force PAL60 480i or NTSC 480i option.
     
  13. kitt050383

    Member kitt050383 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    648
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    in the loader apply the vidtvpatch and force ntsc patch....
    should work...
    -kitt050383
     
  14. another_waster
    OP

    Member another_waster GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    192
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United States
    Its not working for me?

    I have a pal wii and an ntsc game...

    On my downstairs tv I can just press A and it works fine, but the TV in my room when I do this its just really flickery and I cant see anything really but you can tell the game is working?

    Ive tried forcing on every mode available...

    Its just the TV aint it? It doesnt have a scart on the back its that old - I have to play the Wii through my VCR and then link it up to my TV, hmmm.
     
  15. Lumstar

    Member Lumstar Princess

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,531
    Location:
    Darling
    Country:
    United States
    Scart is virtually unheard of in the US. Pretty much zero TVs here offer it. I've never seen one in person.
     
  16. another_waster
    OP

    Member another_waster GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    192
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United States
    ok, is it because ntsc games are 60hz? as my pal games only wok in 50hz when given the choice
     
  17. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    PAL is 50Hz, but most games contain PAL60 too and most (PAL) tvs support PAL60 too. If you video playback is black&white, that's because your tv doesn't support the PAL colorspace, and if the screen is falling/jumping, that's because it's running at 50Hz, but your tv doesn't support 50Hz.

    I'm working at a better loader with included patching, here's a test version of it:
    http://rapidshare.com/files/197749348/videotest.zip.html
    It's a modification of SoftChip.

    This test patches all NTSC video modes to PAL and all PAL video modes to NTSC. Yes i'm paranoid. Then it looks if the video mode set in the Wii settings is found in the new video modes, if not if falls back to the next similar videomode of the same region. For example NTSC480p -> NTSC 480i or PAL576p -> PAL480p -> PAL576i -> PAL480i. If the game doesn't work with correct colors with this, please post the content of the logfile located under /SoftChip/ here. NTSC480i is videomode 0, PAL480i is videomode 20.
     

Share This Page