Why can't I access CNET websites?

Discussion in 'General Off-Topic Chat' started by Smash Br0, Jan 3, 2010.

Jan 3, 2010
  1. Smash Br0
    OP

    Member Smash Br0 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    504
    Country:
    United States
    Hi. I'm trying to figure out why I can't access some of my favorite websites anymore, particularly GameFAQs.com.

    The last time I was able to access these sites (which I think are all owned by CNET) was New Year's Eve. Since then, whenever I try to visit one of them, I get an error like "the connection was interrupted" or "cannot find servers." However, all other sites are working fine...

    Is this a regional server issue or what? Is there anything I can do to fix it? Thanks for any help. [​IMG]
     
  2. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    Just tried gamefaqs/cnet/gamespot

    No problems here

    edit: sorry no help from me [​IMG]
    the only thing I'd do is to try another browser
     
  3. Elritha

    Member Elritha GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,037
    Country:
    Canada
    It could be a DNS issue. Try changing to OpenDNS or Google DNS servers.
     
  4. Brian117

    Member Brian117 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    3,249
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    Country:
    United States
  5. Smash Br0
    OP

    Member Smash Br0 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    504
    Country:
    United States
    How do I do that? I've never had this problem before...
     
  6. Elritha

    Member Elritha GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,037
    Country:
    Canada
  7. Smash Br0
    OP

    Member Smash Br0 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    504
    Country:
    United States
    I tried using those opendns settings on my pc (which is running xp), but it didn't work.

    Could it be a local server issue or a problem with my ISP?
     
  8. NeSchn

    Member NeSchn GBAPimpdaddy.

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,533
    Location:
    Troy,New York PimpStatus: King
    Country:
    United States
    It does sound like a local ISP problem, however don't take my word because I am not a computer techy guy lol.
     
  9. Hop2089

    Member Hop2089 Cute>Hot

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    3,810
    Country:
    United States
    You may have been IP banned if you have been banned from gamefaqs prior to this but a browser and/or DNS problem is not out of the question.
     
  10. BORTZ

    Global Moderator BORTZ wtf, nintendo

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    10,647
    Country:
    United States
    hmm. works for all of us. thats odd.
     
  11. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
    Probably issue with your ISP. Call them up. I was unable to connect to wordpress.com for about a week and called the ISP and they said they were having issues on their side.
     
  12. playallday

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    Most likely your ISP. My ISP sometimes just blocks Google... It normally comes back within half an hour. Still a pain in the ass though.

    Dang it, you beat me to it.
     

Share This Page