White Screens with a DS Fire Card?

Discussion in 'Other Flashing Hardware & Software' started by KYUSS123, Jan 7, 2008.

Jan 7, 2008
  1. KYUSS123
    OP

    Newcomer KYUSS123 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi guys,

    can some kind person help me?

    i have bought 2 Firecard DS cards one 1gb and one 2gb.

    i tried setting the first card up... i switched it on and it created another folder DSYSTEM.
    i then connected the linker cart and booted up into usb mode and dragged a few games onto the card.
    when i rebooted the nds the games showed up in the menus but when i tried to play any of them it just went to 2 white screens!
    i tried this on 6 different games and it was exactly the same.
    i then tried the other card with exactly the same results.

    i have an R4 card and all the roms work on that.

    i am using an apple iBook to transfer the files, could this be a factor?
    Does anyone know where i am going wrong?


    Thanks in advance
    KYUSS
     
  2. Porkdish

    Member Porkdish GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    335
    Country:
    Australia

    Bingo.

    Apple's finder mounts the usb disk differently to windows. I have never found the correct combination of switches to make it work via terminal (I have also had this error occur with os 9 mind you).

    The short of it is, copying files via finder results in files the DS cannot read (thus the white screens). It can also effect the file table on the card making existing files on there screw up. You haven't damaged the card beyond use, a quick format via the DS key combo will restore it perfectly for use with a windows PC...

    I have a very tiny hope that the new USB devices for the n-card such as the fire reader with the f-card, will mount such cards properly in finder. I just don't have one yet to try it.

    The small hope comes from finding *ONE* guy who claims he got os X to mount his MK5 (another n-card clone) correctly by hooking it up to the Mac via a particular 1.0 speed usb HUB. I went out and bought a generic usb 1.0 hub but still had no luck. It was a different model to the one he had though...

    No N-card clone works with apples, some retail websites still claim they do and they're total bums in my opinion.
     
  3. KYUSS123
    OP

    Newcomer KYUSS123 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks Pal, now i will have to boot up my PC and hope it don't crash!

    i'll do a reformat on the card.......are there 2 types of reformat? i have seen reference to a quick format.....is there a Full format option?


    thanks again for the help.

    KYUSS
     
  4. Porkdish

    Member Porkdish GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    335
    Country:
    Australia
  5. KYUSS123
    OP

    Newcomer KYUSS123 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  6. joef

    Newcomer joef Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yep, I had the same problems with my F card. As soon as the mac touched it...... white screens all round... gonna have to switch on my old crusty server under the stairs and try it with windows. that is aftera full format ...and its slow....
    However M3 simply works fine with os X [​IMG] strange
    Joe
     

Share This Page