1. Enlapse

    OP Enlapse GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2014
    Messages:
    226
    Country:
    Good evening, everybody!

    I have bought recently a JIG for about 4€ (four euros) on eBay, which by mistake (or not, I'm not sure) I got two instead of one. I thought they'd work even knowing the appearance was bad. I tried both of them, multiple times, in different ways, and it didn't work a single time, so I got a refund.

    [​IMG]

    So, I was reading about JIGs and eventually, I reached a post where someone said to buy SXOS Jig which I thought it'd be expensive, but I found it for as low as about 4€ in a site. So I was wondering if you could tell me what Jig do you use, or which one you recommend me. I'd go for an "expensive" trustful one if I knew for sure my Switch is unpatched, but since I don't know, I just want to get one for test and if my switch is unpatched, consider to get a better one.

    So as for now, this is my list of possibilities:
    If somebody has a different one or a suggestion, I'm glad to know about it.

    Thank you very much for your help!
     
  2. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    6,903
    Country:
    United States
    I would get one from a kit such as the NS Atmosphere kit or the RCM Loader one if possible. The one that is 3D printed has a chance of it not working.
     
  3. BaamAlex

    BaamAlex DON'T TOUCH ME!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2018
    Messages:
    2,103
    Country:
    Germany
    You can build your own one with a simple paperclip. Otherwise it doesn't matter which jig you buy and use as long as you shorten pin 10 with another pin. Except pin 4. There are 5 volts which can fry your console iirc.
     
  4. RHOPKINS13

    RHOPKINS13 Geek
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,177
    Country:
    United States
    There's a good chance you can probably fix the ones you have. These jigs can be a little finicky. When I first got mine with my RCMLoader One it didn't work. If it's not working, it's because it's not making contact with the pins that it needs to. So you just need to make a minor adjustment to the pins on your jig.

    In my case, I just took a small needle and pried the pins up a little. This allowed them to make better contact with the pins in the joycon rail, and now my jig works perfectly.

    It's worth trying!
     
  5. comput3rus3r

    comput3rus3r GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2016
    Messages:
    3,430
    Country:
    United States
    Don't listen the the cheapos on here. get a good quality jig if you don't want the hassle of having to replace your rail in the future.
     
  6. RHOPKINS13

    RHOPKINS13 Geek
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,177
    Country:
    United States
    The jig he has looks "good quality" enough, it's not going to damage his joycon rail. Just needs the pins adjusted a little, but it certainly doesn't look like one of those crappy jigs that you'd jam a paperclip in.
     
    comput3rus3r likes this.
  7. crazyguy

    crazyguy Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    Austria
    Another way to get a jig is:
    As it was very important for me not to damage my rail or the contacts, I just bought an joycon replacement rail on amazon, soldered a small cable between pin 1 and 10 and use that as jig - works perfectly and don't damage the rail pins in any way.
     
    Lacius likes this.
  8. Retroboy
    This message by Retroboy has been removed from public view by linuxares, Jul 25, 2019, Reason: Ad.
    Jul 24, 2019 Show
  9. hippy dave

    hippy dave BBMB
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    5,650
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I went with the original:

    [​IMG]
     
  10. Enlapse

    OP Enlapse GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2014
    Messages:
    226
    Country:
    Okay, I will take it in care, but for now, I have solved it thanks to @RHOPKINS13 's message. Thank you anyways!

    Yeah, but I didn't want to use a paperclip until it wasn't really needed.

    Yeah, I managed to do it. I'm not really good with handwork even if it's as simple as this was, but I did it. And my switch is not patched. Thank you very much, mate!

    Thanks for the tip, but I'm not good at hand working. I don't have the patiente it requires to be done properly, haha!

    I will take it in care, but as for now, I've solved it.

    Thank you everybody for your help!
     
    RHOPKINS13 and hippy dave like this.
  11. laramie

    laramie GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2014
    Messages:
    596
    Country:
    United States
    I'd personally wait for the Dragon Injector. It is estimated to be in customers hands by late aug. the developer said. Feel free to check it out, and it'll run you a cheap 25$
     
  12. comput3rus3r

    comput3rus3r GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2016
    Messages:
    3,430
    Country:
    United States
    show pics please
     
  13. gbazone

    gbazone GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2014
    Messages:
    200
    Country:
    A piece of copper wire works just fine. Strip it quite a bit, 4mm or 5mm on both ends, then jam it into pin 5 on one end and hold the other end either on of the screws on the side, or into the fan grill to short it. Once in RCM install auto RCM and never worry about it again. No jig necessary.
     
  14. crazyguy

    crazyguy Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    Austria
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    The solderings are realy bad, I did it in a haste with an ancient solder iron in a dark room, but it works ;)

    I could cut the plastic above the pins away, but I like that it locks like a joy con and cannot move. That way I can be sure that RCM works every time
     
    Last edited by crazyguy, Jul 24, 2019
    comput3rus3r likes this.
  15. BaamAlex

    BaamAlex DON'T TOUCH ME!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2018
    Messages:
    2,103
    Country:
    Germany
    Not beautiful, but rare ;) As long as it serves its purpose
     
  16. Basketto

    Basketto GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2019
    Messages:
    205
    Country:
    Australia
    Use ismyswitchpatched website to check the serial number. If it is in the grey area(your unsure), use tinfoil or a paper clip to test the first time, then bother buying products.
     
  17. BaamAlex

    BaamAlex DON'T TOUCH ME!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2018
    Messages:
    2,103
    Country:
    Germany
    If its not safe that your unit is patched or not, send a payload to the console. If the screen stays black, your switch is patched
     
  18. Fugelmir

    Fugelmir GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2016
    Messages:
    450
    Country:
    Canada
    I just used tinfoil. worked perfectly every time.
     
  19. BaamAlex

    BaamAlex DON'T TOUCH ME!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2018
    Messages:
    2,103
    Country:
    Germany
    But tinfoil is not a payload btw
     
    Fugelmir likes this.
  20. 345742D

    345742D Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    United States
    He's talking about the OG tinfoil. The tinfoil that tinfoil got its name from. You know, tinfoil.
    (Put tinfoil on your pins on the joycon and jam it into your switch. Highly unadvised.)
     
    Fugelmir likes this.
  21. Zuzuooloo

    Zuzuooloo Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 30, 2017
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United States
    Made my own pretty easily (although “easily” can be interpreted differently). It took a few hours since my fingers are clumsy...

    Did the tinfoil method + tape. I’ve used it a good dozen or so times since I hacked my Switch a few months ago. Since I got it to work the first time it’s never failed me yet.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted