Which Hack is the best

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by TudorBlue, May 20, 2009.

May 20, 2009

Which Hack is the best by TudorBlue at 1:17 PM (2,816 Views / 0 Likes) 24 replies

  1. TudorBlue
    OP

    Member TudorBlue GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    317
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Im looking to softmod a wii but Im a little confused as to which hack to use. Ive seen the twilight hack but Ive also seen the bannerbomb one. Is this the same as the twilight hack??? All I want to do is to be able to play back ups and have the homebrew channel on my wii. Im looking for the easiest but best option, so can someone please advise me. Thanks in advance guys (Im a bad noob btw) [​IMG] [​IMG]
     


  2. Linuks

    Member Linuks GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    299
    Location:
    France
    Country:
    France
    Bannerbomb because : compatible 4.0 and no need of Zelda.
     
  3. piratesmack

    Member piratesmack GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    787
    Location:
    $(pwd)
    Country:
    United States
    Both do the same thing, load Homebrew on an unmodded Wii..

    If you are on System Menu 4.0, then you will have to use Bannerbomb
     
  4. SifJar

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    use bannerbomb, no game required, works on all firmwares and is quicker than booting game, loading correct file and then talking to guy.
     
  5. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
  6. TudorBlue
    OP

    Member TudorBlue GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    317
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'll check my wii but I think its 3.2. Ive also got a copy of zelda but Im not too bothered which hack I use as long as its straight forward.
     
  7. manueld64

    Newcomer manueld64 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    54
    Location:
    Tempe, AZ
    Country:
    United States
  8. TudorBlue
    OP

    Member TudorBlue GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    317
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Im not too botered tbh. As long as I can play back ups and install the homebrew then Im easy but from reading the replies to my original post, bannerbomb might be the way to go. I have checked my wii and its definately 3.2 btw.
     
  9. mikeyt1998

    Member mikeyt1998 YouTube Glitcher

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,359
    Location:
    Dalton-in-furness, north west
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i find that the 4.0 firmware if far better than the 3.2 i used to use for al of my homebrew/ backup needs.

    since the 4.0 firmware installs all the IOS, there isnt a game that wont run due to missing one.

    if you want to run backups on 4.0. follow this little guide. i wont go into detail, but this is all you need to do...

    install homebrew channel (twilight hack or banner bomb)
    install cIOS_rev9 (through HBC)
    update via nintendo (so you have all IOS and such)
    install the latest cIOSCORP
    install Preloader 0.29 (optional brick protection,. though is needed for skip disc updates)
    install mios Xi (optional for Backup GC games)

    and there you go. backup games through disc channel simply.

    and the cIOS_rev9 also allows for USB Loaders to be used. [​IMG]
     
  10. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany

    ...
     
  11. afif95

    Member afif95 I own a bungalow on Mars, and booked 4 corner lots

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,805
    Location:
    Malaysia!
    Country:
    Malaysia
     
  12. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    I wanted to say, it's ABSOLUTELY USELESS to have all IOS installed, just to overwrite them with cIOS from cioscorp anyways.
     
  13. TudorBlue
    OP

    Member TudorBlue GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    317
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    That guide is a little hard to follow, remember, Im modding a wii for the first time from start to finish. I am going to do the twilight hack on my own wii
     
  14. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Bannerbomb works on most(if not all) system menus up to 4.0, and is easier to understand and much faster. Look here for a bannerbomb guide:
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=155844
     
  15. TudorBlue
    OP

    Member TudorBlue GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    317
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Once I have intalled the softmod and homebrew channel, is there anyway to take it all off in case I have to send my wii back to nintendo?? If so, how can I do this?? And once I got my wii back, can I just softmod it again??? Thanks yet again guys but Im just curious and want to know everything.
     
  16. Sterling

    Member Sterling GBAtemp's Silver Hero

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    4,023
    Location:
    Texas
    Country:
    United States

    in order to take HBC off go to Wii Options -> DATA managment -> Channels -> (Make sure you have the wii tab selected) Choose the channel that you want -> Either erase (Get it off memory entirely) or move to an SD card (if im not wrong, if they send your fix'd same wii then you can put the HBC back on your console)

    correct me if I made a mistake.
     
  17. TudorBlue
    OP

    Member TudorBlue GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    317
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ive used the twilight hack and have installed the homebrew channel ok. But I am having a problem. Where the disc channel is I now have a "wii update system" icon. I can disconnect the internet but when I try and put a back up game in, when I select the disc channel, it says it cannot read the disc. I can however, start a back up game through the Back Up Launcher. How can I resolve these issues. Thanks again guys
     
  18. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Your disc channel is completely gone? It's not anymore even displayed?
     
  19. Alexrose

    Member Alexrose Untitled

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    783
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It is displayed, it just asks for a system update. Because he doesn't accept it, his disc won't run. Same for Rock Band on 3.2 even if you have IOS it asks that, which is why I used downgrader (ironically enough) to go to 3.2v1 all those months ago.
     
  20. TudorBlue
    OP

    Member TudorBlue GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    317
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    No, sorry, the disc channel is there but it said "wii system update". I have put a legit game in the my wii updated, and the "wii system update", has now gone. When I put in a legit game, it comes up and I can see it. But if I put in a back up and select disc channel, my wii cannot read the game. The back up will work if I go through the back up launcher. How can I get to play back ups through the disc channel?? I have seen this working on other modded wii's and I think I have just forgtten something or other. Thanks
     

Share This Page