Where to buy older Cyclo DS card?

Discussion in 'CycloDS' started by Bobbarooskie, Apr 8, 2011.

Apr 8, 2011
  1. Bobbarooskie
    OP

    Newcomer Bobbarooskie Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    83
    Country:
    United States
    Hi all I;ve been away from the scene for awhile. I need to buy my wife a Cyclods card for her ds lite.
    Can anyone recommend a good place where I can buy the older Cyclo evolution card that worked only for the ds lites? The one that only used Microsdhc memory cards.
     
  2. soulx

    Member soulx GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10,130
    Country:
    Canada
    Check these shops
    [shoptemp]42[/shoptemp]​

    Also, I would suggest you get a different flashcart such as an Acekard 2i or a Supercard DSTWO instead of a CycloDS.
     
  3. shanefromoz

    Member shanefromoz GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    813
    Country:
    Australia
    No get the cyclods the Supercard dstwo is a piece of crap and hardly ever gets updates well for the gba side anyways where the cyclo runs gba pefectly.
     
  4. soulx

    Member soulx GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10,130
    Country:
    Canada
    What the hell are you talking about?

    The DSTWO is a great device with a number of great features such as GBA and SNES emulation and a number of things. It also doesn't need constant updates. The CycloDS is overpriced considering other flashcarts that are cheaper have more features and are updates more often.

    @OP:
    Look at the below chart and this guide for more info
    [​IMG]
     
  5. WiiUBricker

    Member WiiUBricker Insert Custom Title

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    5,813
    Location:
    Espresso
    Country:
    Argentina
    Better get a DSTWO for your DS lite.
     
  6. Pyrmon

    Member Pyrmon Burnin' Monkey Love

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,086
    Location:
    Montreal
    Country:
    Canada
    Or an Acekard 2
     
  7. RupeeClock

    Member RupeeClock Colors 3D Snivy!

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,307
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The Supercard DSTwo rarely gets updates because it doesn't need them! That's how good the games compatibility is!
    Granted the GBA emulation isn't perfect but the CycloDS can't even do GBA by itself, it NEEDS and EZ Flash 3in1 for perfect GBA games.

    But yeah, the Supercard DSTwo is a much better purchase than the CycloDS, it has better features, performs a lot better, and is even cheaper.
     
  8. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    Besides, since he has to buy a 3in1 anyway to play GBA games perfectly, he should as well get a DSTwo and a 3in1 for near perfect GBA and perfect NDS compatibility.
     
  9. DeathStrudel

    Member DeathStrudel GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    354
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Country:
    United States
    Does the DS2 officially support the 3-in-1 like the CycloDS does? Or at least does the 3-in-1 work just as well with the DS2?
     
  10. Berthenk

    Member Berthenk Epitome of Awesomeness

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,314
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Weird comparison chart, the DSTWO supports SDHC.
     
  11. DeathStrudel

    Member DeathStrudel GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    354
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Country:
    United States
    ...so whats the problem then?
     
  12. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    It works with GBA ExpLoader.
     
  13. DeathStrudel

    Member DeathStrudel GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    354
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Country:
    United States
    So if you have a DS2 and a 3-in-1, is it better to use the 3-in-1 with all GBA games or just ones that don't work properly on the DS2 itself?

    edit: I don't actually own a DS2 or I would test it myself, but I've been thinking about getting one to replace my CycloDS
     
  14. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    Well, if you think that the DSTwo doesn't emulate the GBA games you want to play well enough, you should play them on the 3in1.
    But the downside with the 3in1 is that if the battery inside it runs dry, you will start losing your save files with no warning whatsoever.
     
  15. Qtis

    Member Qtis Grey Knight Inquisitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    3,762
    Location:
    The Forge
    Country:
    Antarctica
    On the other hand, the cart makes a backup of the save every time it's loaded. If the save isn't backed up, it'll be obvious quite soon that the battery is nearing the end of its life cycle. Personally I've got to say that the 3in1 is superior for GBA than the DS2 if you use a DS/DSL. On the DSi/XL it's a good option, but not a must (compatibility isn't 100%, anyone who has tried it can say so.. It's still emulation). Also the CPU usage with the DSTwo shortens the battery life of the console quite a bit, which should be kept in mind when thinking of playing GBA..


    -Qtis
     
  16. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    I wish it worked like that.
    I've had some save files (notably Yoshi's Island) getting deleted randomly, even though my Slot-1 backed up the save files each time.
     

Share This Page