Whats wrong with this subtitle file? (SRT extension)

Discussion in 'General Off-Topic Chat' started by test84, Jan 5, 2009.

  1. test84
    OP

    Member test84 GBAtemp's last ninja 2.

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,685
    Location:
    Iran, Tehran.
    Country:
    Iran
    Hi,
    I tried many programs and many different stuff to fix this, but won't work.

    I extracted this subtitle from an .mkv file to fix it since it won't playback when it was in the .mkv file but no matter what I try, I can't get it work on any program.

    The file structure seems ok to me when I compare it to other .srt files but I have no idea why it won't playback on my .avi files.

    I uploaded it here
    mirror on rapidshare

    Any Help is Appreciated.

    EDIT:
    I tried changing the file encoding from UTF-8 to ANSI, didn't work.
     
  2. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,738
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Works fine here: standard CCCP ( http://www.cccp-project.net/ ) with nothing special on the subtitle front.

    Note the first subtitles are at 58 minutes 50 seconds.

    I looked at the structure too and can see nothing wrong, subtitle workshop does not say anything either.
     
  3. test84
    OP

    Member test84 GBAtemp's last ninja 2.

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,685
    Location:
    Iran, Tehran.
    Country:
    Iran
    I'm using ffshow codec or something to playback the file but it won't load the subtitle, it loads anyother SRT file perfectly.
     
  4. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    is your avi file named exactly the same as the .srt file?

    this usually helps if your trying to auto load the subs along with the avi file

    example would be CD3_ENG.avi CD3_ENG.srt

    a lot of programs look for subtitles named the same as the file it belongs to ... have you changed it to a new name name it again same as the avi it is matched too .....


    also have you changed any of the timings as well as the texts !? or added/removed any timings!?

    most of my conversions to DVD are done with CONVERT X TO DVD if it has subs they have to be named exactly the same as the AVI files for it to import them correctly and in the right order with the avi clips [​IMG]

    suggest check it side by side with the un altered version and compare them for things like proper syntax (comma's etc) and timings etc these could be the key to getting it to work or not [​IMG]

    make sure also you are using the same font as the original and check the encoding of the original see if they are the same!

    check that the unaltered sub actually works with the original avi file too if it does then its something you altered that's glitched it.
     
  5. test84
    OP

    Member test84 GBAtemp's last ninja 2.

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,685
    Location:
    Iran, Tehran.
    Country:
    Iran
  6. mariocundari

    Newcomer mariocundari Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    My name is Mario Cundari and I live in the UK.
    I have seen that some forum members have used t-gate media (technology gate) we have never seen this media in the UK and would like if possible to get in touch with the manufacturers to see if they want to export their products here. Any ideas who the manufacturer is? The only information that we have is that they are based in Tehran.

    even a website address will do

    thanks
    mario cundari
     

Share This Page