What's the best way to system update a softmodded Wii?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by borgmanjayce, Nov 22, 2010.

  1. borgmanjayce
    OP

    Newcomer borgmanjayce Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What's the safest and best way of system updating a softmodded Wii as I recently bought a PAL copy of Monster Hunter Tri and every time I put the disc into the Wii, the console keeps coming up with a System Upgrade disc icon instead of the icon for the game itself.

    This also happens if I try to play other Wii games on disc like Tatsunoko vs Capcom and No More Heroes.

    My Wii is a softmodded PAL Wii running 4.3U at the moment.

    I can run the games on disc via NeoGamma without any problems but I don't want to have to do this every time I want to play a non-backup Wii game.

    If anyone has any suggestions, I'd be more than happy to try them.
     
  2. mayhemgb

    Newcomer mayhemgb Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    go here: http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=171901

    Read the bit "Priiloader
    optional brick protection; recommended to block disc/online updates."

    If you install Priiloader you can block the disc and on-line updates
    of course if you get a game that actually really does need to run something you don't have on your wii then you may need to add something manually as opposed to running the update and risking loosing your softmod.
    .. if that happens look in forumn for the game and see what it needs.

    Always take a nand backup before messing with anything in your Wii using BootMii

    cya
     
  3. borgmanjayce
    OP

    Newcomer borgmanjayce Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've tried using Priiloader but for some reason it doesn't seem to want to work properly when running it... [​IMG]
     
  4. koji2009

    Member koji2009 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,193
    Country:
    United States
    Try running the game through neogamma?
     
  5. borgmanjayce
    OP

    Newcomer borgmanjayce Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That's what I do in any case when playing original discs, but I'd really prefer it if I didn't have to see the Wii System Update message every time I put a original disc in my Wii.
     

Share This Page