What I Believe Is The Best Downgrade Process Right Now

Discussion in '3DS - Tutorials' started by Dribblejam, Jan 5, 2016.

  1. Dribblejam
    OP

    Newcomer Dribblejam Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    United States
    This is thanks to u/perkel

    After Many tries and hours I found this users steps and followed them to success (n3ds). I got through the downgrade process and it automatically rebooted without any problems (no black screen or having to remove the sd).

    Here's Perkels solution, and I quote:

    "- formated my n3ds (had 10.1, updated to 10.3 then format)
    - formated SD (32gb kingstone class10) with SD formater (format overwrite + formatsize adjustements)
    - downloaded 9.2-20E firmware for N3DS
    - checked md5 of above firmware via this site
    MD5: 6dcca8fcbc9a28c82c2a4e5182f3acf8
    SHA-1: e7c77bf205137167f1f1befa0c4db9d879a21a2e?
    - downloaded this systemupdater which julian posted (SULib one) MIRROR

    thread where given (if curious):
    https://gbatemp.net/attachments/sysupdater-zip.34449/

    - downloaded starter kit for homebrew (from smealum site)
    - installed TeraCopy to ensure nothing will be damaged via copy/paste on SD card

    - put SD to pc
    - copy everything lower via teracopy program! (it will show your option when you do it just via copy/paste like normally you do after you install that program)
    - copy starter kit folder content to sd card
    - copy sysupdater to 3ds folder in your SD card
    - copy updates folder to your SD card once you unpacked your downloaded and checked via md5 sum FW
    - get your SD card to your 3DS and set up your 3DS (date, time etc.)
    - change your theme to something else and back to default (to ensure menuhax will work)
    - do browserhax (scan QR code [L+R and then that left sticker] from this site)
    - you should go into HomeBrew thanks to above
    - choose menuhax manager and install menuhax
    - restart your 3DS and hold L to go into homebrewlauncher directly

    Once above is done you have properly installed homebrew on 10.3 and it is confirmed that all files are 100% safe to use (that FW you downloaded) and nothing weird should go wrong (it still has that chance though)

    Once above was done i started sysupdater from homebrewlauncher.
    Since memchunx doesn't work most of the time i had to try 7-10 times before i got #8 success and sysupdater menu.

    Then i pressed Y, nothing happened for 3-5 seconds
    Then cheking CIA files... or whatever that was for 10-30 seconds
    Then it started to install CIA files
    Then it got to autorestart in 10 seconds
    Autorestarted (NO CRASH)
    Booted into 9.2 system without problem perfectly (without taking out SD card)

    In other words perfectly updated without single crash (aside from getting into sysupdate menu)

    I give my humble thanks to whoever worked on memchunks, julian for this fantastic build and ton of other people that showed me way to ensure everything will work correctly (like teracopy, md5 etc).

    Now i have 9.2 and i am wondering what should i do :) Good thing to wonder about :)"

    Happy Downgrading!
     
    Last edited by Dribblejam, Jan 5, 2016


  2. SkyDX

    Member SkyDX Anime Signature Creator, PM me if you want one! :)

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Messages:
    308
    Country:
    Germany
    Glad it worked for you! :) Could you clarify one thing though? My MD5 hash matches perfectly, my SHA-1 hash too but it doesn't have the questionmark at the end which I find weird, do you know what's up with that?
     
  3. MichMaster

    Member MichMaster #Pray4Hykem

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    344
    Location:
    In the IOSU
    Country:
    Canada
    Guess I'll be staying on 10.3, won't bother losing my eshop demos, games, videos, etc
     
  4. Dribblejam
    OP

    Newcomer Dribblejam Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    United States
    Tbh I skipped the MD5 hash match as I wasn't sure what to do. I also feel like it's for people who want to be extra cautious.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    You could always backup your videos and saves then put it back on the sd after. Also, you'd be able to redownload your eshop games. Unless downloading is the part you don't want to do:P
     
  5. SkyDX

    Member SkyDX Anime Signature Creator, PM me if you want one! :)

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Messages:
    308
    Country:
    Germany
    Alright okay!
     
  6. Tzuba

    Member Tzuba GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Messages:
    255
    Location:
    Houston
    Country:
    United States
    I've been trying to psych myself up to format my 3ds. Backed up all the save data for my games and everything but I just can't bring myself to do it. I'd lose all of my friend codes and have to download all of my games again (I have a lot).

    I just wish there was another way. I don't know why I'm having problems. I get nothing but the error screen when I install 9.2. i've been at this for 24 hours now and I'm just defeated at this point.
     
  7. MichMaster

    Member MichMaster #Pray4Hykem

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    344
    Location:
    In the IOSU
    Country:
    Canada
    For some reason some games aren't even available to download anymore (Four Swords Anniversary for example) I also have ambassador games, haven't checked if I can redownload those. I'm also afraid of bricking it so I'll be patient to a better solution :P
     
  8. Coleman_C18

    Member Coleman_C18 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2015
    Messages:
    429
    Country:
    United States
    You can do it, think of all the games you will have after you downgrade *3* let that psych you up.
    Im loving it
     
  9. Dedede

    Banned Dedede Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    Messages:
    112
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    -snip-
     
    Last edited by Dedede, Jan 28, 2016
  10. Tzuba

    Member Tzuba GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Messages:
    255
    Location:
    Houston
    Country:
    United States
    After you formatted, when you needed to link your nnid to your system again, did it let you? And were your downloaded games in the eshop ready for you to download again?
     
  11. Minnow

    Member Minnow GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2015
    Messages:
    454
    Country:
    Canada
    Just open it with WinRar and extract the CIA's (there's probably about 100+)
     
  12. Dedede

    Banned Dedede Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    Messages:
    112
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    -snip-
     
    Last edited by Dedede, Jan 28, 2016
    wormdood and MichMaster like this.
  13. Coleman_C18

    Member Coleman_C18 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2015
    Messages:
    429
    Country:
    United States
    Yep NNID still works, no issues with downloading from eshop on my end :)
    No worries
     
  14. Tzuba

    Member Tzuba GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Messages:
    255
    Location:
    Houston
    Country:
    United States
    *sigh*.. Alright. I'm gonna do it. Wish me luck.

    I'm nervous as hell, cause if I do this and it STILL doesn't work, I will flip out lol.
     
    Coleman_C18 likes this.
  15. Dribblejam
    OP

    Newcomer Dribblejam Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    United States
    I feel for you. I kind of regretted going full digital instead of cartridges. But I sucked it up. Maybe try waiting for the better solution?

    After hours last night trying I decided to wait for the better solution. But seeing everyone doing it I couldn't help myself. So today I went and found this method and it work on the first try! Your patience is a gift.

    And about those games, wouldn't you just be able to install the cia of them once your downgraded?
     
    MichMaster likes this.
  16. ombus

    Member ombus GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2015
    Messages:
    120
    Country:
    United States
    when i used sd formatter it formated the sd card to fat .. and not fat32 .. it doesnt matter ?
     
  17. Dedede

    Banned Dedede Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    Messages:
    112
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    -snip-
     
    Last edited by Dedede, Jan 28, 2016
  18. Coleman_C18

    Member Coleman_C18 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2015
    Messages:
    429
    Country:
    United States
    No worries it will be fine ^_^ let us know when you've downgraded :)
     
  19. ombus

    Member ombus GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2015
    Messages:
    120
    Country:
    United States
    well in what does it have to be ? always used fat32 and works on the console with demos and that... reading the guide i assume he used fat and not fat32 ?
     
  20. Baccabechoppin

    Member Baccabechoppin GBAtemp's Finest Bacca!

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2015
    Messages:
    737
    Location:
    Magnolia Town
    Country:
    Australia
    Don't worry man! I got it to work using this method, all you have to do is remain calm and focus, don't want to fuck anything up :P
     

Share This Page