What firmware?

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by prentle, Jan 14, 2010.

Jan 14, 2010

What firmware? by prentle at 12:41 PM (3,670 Views / 0 Likes) 31 replies

  1. prentle
    OP

    Newcomer prentle Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi there,

    Im a bit of a noob with flashcards. I have a R4 card that supports SDHC. On the card it says

    R4 Upgrade
    Revolution for DS
    (NDSL/NDS)

    What firmwares could I use on this card. I was hoping to use YSmenu.

    Thanks in advance for any help.

    PS I did read the sticky about R4 firmwares but I am not sure where my card fits in to that list.
     


  2. Sir-Fritz

    Member Sir-Fritz GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,336
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Why are people still buying r4's these days...
     
  3. ProtoKun7

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,480
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Who else would we laugh at?

    You can only use YSMenu on legitimate R4s, so most likely not this one.
     
  4. h8isgr8

    Member h8isgr8 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    134
    Country:
    United States
    Completely untrue, in so many ways.


    I just took the R4 Upgrade kernel, encrypted it with r4crypt.exe, and then ran it on my real R4.

    So, from what I can tell, the R4 Upgrade is a R4 clone that runs an unencrypted kernel. It obviously uses the same DLDI or it wouldn't have worked.

    The OP should be able to take a YSMenu build for the R4, decrypt _DS_MENU.DAT, and then be able to run YSMenu on his R4 Upgrade.
     
  5. hundshamer

    Member hundshamer GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,810
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    Of course, if there is a web address on the cart, get the firmware from there.
     
  6. ProtoKun7

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,480
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well, I mentioned in another post, I don't concern myself with lowly R4s, so don't expect my info on them to be entirely correct. [​IMG]
     
  7. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    When building YSMenu for the R4, you encrypt the NDS file.
    This is typically handled automatically by programs like R4YSAuto and a2h's YSMenu Generator.
    If this was possible -- to basically just skip the encrypting -- many more people would talk of using YSMenu on R4 clones.
     
  8. h8isgr8

    Member h8isgr8 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    134
    Country:
    United States
    Well, the OPs card is a R4 clone, it just runs a decrypted kernel. It still uses the original R4 DLDI.

    I have a feeling it can run YSMenu just fine, which would make ProtoKun7's comment false.
     
  9. h8isgr8

    Member h8isgr8 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    134
    Country:
    United States
     
  10. ProtoKun7

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,480
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
     
  11. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    You have a feeling...
    Others have tried.
     
  12. h8isgr8

    Member h8isgr8 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    134
    Country:
    United States
  13. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    That has nothing to do with anything in this topic.

    Find a video of an R4 clone running YSMenu.
     
  14. h8isgr8

    Member h8isgr8 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    134
    Country:
    United States
    Umm, in the first quote you are basically trying to call me out and say I'm lying. Give it a try if you think I'm making shit up.
     
  15. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    I don't think you're making stuff up or lying... in fact I'm sure you're right about running clone firmware as R4 firmware once encrypted.
    But you're going about things backwards. The point isn't to get things to run on real R4 cards, it's to get things running on a clone card.
    I'm just pretty sure -- as sure as I can be without having personally done it myself -- that you're wrong about YSMenu running as firmware.
    People have tried to run YSMenu as firmware on clone R4s and to the best of my knowledge, NONE have gotten it to work.

    To back up my stance, the following guides and posts:They all say the same thing... Use YSMenu as a NDS file -- either as auto-booting (Loads firmware, then loads YSMenu) or as a Moonshell replacement.
     
  16. h8isgr8

    Member h8isgr8 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    134
    Country:
    United States
    I've read some threads about R4III + YSMenu, nowhere can I find any reference to anyone decrypting the YSMenu file after using R4YSAuto. They all build with R4YSAuto and then try loading it that way, which won't work since it's encrypted.

    Maybe the solution is so simple it got overlooked?

    Anyway, I never said with 100% certainty that it will work; I said there is a good chance that it will.

    I sent the OP a decrypted R4 YSMenu build to try. I guess we won't know if it works until he tries it.
     
  17. prentle
    OP

    Newcomer prentle Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for your help H8isgr8.

    I cleared the sd card and just put the following on the card from the r4 ysmenu build you linked me too.

    TTMenu (Folder)
    _DS_MENU.DAT
    TTMENU.SYS

    along with a few files for testing.

    after turning on the power all I get is:

    [​IMG]

    Looking at some other YSmenu installs I also tried putting the r4dldi, r4patch, r4tfdldi and the ysmenu.ini in the root too ( I left copies in the TTMenu folder) but with the same result.

    Does this mean its a no-go? Also I am leaving moonshell on the sd card which I assume will make no difference.
     
  18. h8isgr8

    Member h8isgr8 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    134
    Country:
    United States
    What are the name of the files in your original kernel?
     
  19. prentle
    OP

    Newcomer prentle Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi,

    Files are

    Moonmemo (folder)
    Moonshl2 (folder (v2.09))
    R4imenu (folder)
    DEMON0.SYS
    R4.dat
    SWRESET.SYS

    Thanks
     
  20. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    To try it like h8isgr8 wants, clean your card and rename the "_DS_MENU.DAT" to "R4.dat" and leave all the files in the TTMenu folder.
     

Share This Page