What causes Blue screen of death? : (

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by test84, Sep 13, 2009.

Sep 13, 2009
  1. test84
    OP

    Member test84 GBAtemp's last ninja 2.

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,685
    Location:
    Iran, Tehran.
    Country:
    Iran
    I'm recently facing some nasty BSOD's, some based on paging_on_non_paged_area or something like it and some called Bad_pool_header or something like it. I remember fixing some of these by chkdsk /F /X but it doesn't seem to work here. Strange thing is I didn't change my drivers from past 3 years or so and am basically using same settings. What are your suspicions on the problem?
     
  2. Lee79

    Member Lee79 Hyper...Active...Team Fortress 2 Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    920
    Location:
    ctf_2fort
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you upload the minidump from the day it happened I can take a look at it for you. It is in C:/windows/minidumps or you can watch this tutorial and have a go yourself http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MSN_Qb2S7JQ
     
  3. test84
    OP

    Member test84 GBAtemp's last ninja 2.

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,685
    Location:
    Iran, Tehran.
    Country:
    Iran
  4. Strider

    Member Strider Next to the mainstream

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2002
    Messages:
    901
    Country:
    Well, you can't generalize what's causing a BSOD. In your case however, it seems to be memory / ram related, looking at the error message you posted.

    Try checking your ram. Also, you can open your pc and re-seat the ram. Contacts may get corroded with time.

    Anyway, that's my first guess.
     
  5. sdnoob

    Member sdnoob GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    110
    Location:
    At a Computer
    Country:
    Canada
    It could be caused by dust. My heatsink was clogged with dust and my CPU was at 70*C. It stopped after I cleaned it and reapplied new compound.
     
  6. Lee79

    Member Lee79 Hyper...Active...Team Fortress 2 Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    920
    Location:
    ctf_2fort
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    CODE

    CUSTOMER_CRASH_COUNT: 4

    DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID: CODE_CORRUPTION

    BUGCHECK_STR: 0x8E

    PROCESS_NAME: System

    UNALIGNED_STACK_POINTER: 805bb46e

    LAST_CONTROL_TRANSFER: from c95b5e5f to 00005a64

    SYMBOL_ON_RAW_STACK: 1

    STACK_ADDR_RAW_STACK_SYMBOL: ffffffff805bb5f0

    STACK_COMMAND: dds FFFFFFFF805BB5F0-0x20 ; kb


    MODULE_NAME: memory_corruption

    IMAGE_NAME: memory_corruption

    FOLLOWUP_NAME: memory_corruption

    DEBUG_FLR_IMAGE_TIMESTAMP: 0

    MEMORY_CORRUPTOR: LARGE

    FAILURE_BUCKET_ID: MEMORY_CORRUPTION_LARGE

    BUCKET_ID: MEMORY_CORRUPTION_LARGE

    Followup: memory_corruption



    This what I got from the mindump.
    This could indicate one of several issues.

    - You have one or more bad memory sticks.
    - There is nothing wrong with the memory, but they are poorly seated
    on the motherboard and can therfore not function correctly.
    - The motherboard is faulty. Specifically, the memory controller.
    -CPU if you use AMD as the memory controller is built into the CPU on AMD systems.

    Download Memtest86> http://www.memtest86.com/memtest86-3.5.iso.zip and burn it to CD and boot from it and test the RAM one stick at a time (physically take out the stick you are not testing).
     
  7. test84
    OP

    Member test84 GBAtemp's last ninja 2.

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,685
    Location:
    Iran, Tehran.
    Country:
    Iran
    I used that program though I didn't take one of my modules out and it ran on both modules, after one hour it says no problem but it was strange since both PASS and TEST were still doing something.
     
  8. test84
    OP

    Member test84 GBAtemp's last ninja 2.

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,685
    Location:
    Iran, Tehran.
    Country:
    Iran
  9. Lee79

    Member Lee79 Hyper...Active...Team Fortress 2 Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    920
    Location:
    ctf_2fort
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    CODEPOOL_ADDRESS: 899a0180

    FREED_POOL_TAG: TCPc

    BUGCHECK_STR: 0xc2_7_TCPc

    CUSTOMER_CRASH_COUNT: 1

    DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID: DRIVER_FAULT

    PROCESS_NAME: System

    LAST_CONTROL_TRANSFER: from 8054b583 to 804f9f33

    SYMBOL_STACK_INDEX: 4

    SYMBOL_NAME: vsdatant+3f986

    FOLLOWUP_NAME: MachineOwner

    MODULE_NAME: vsdatant

    IMAGE_NAME: vsdatant.sys

    DEBUG_FLR_IMAGE_TIMESTAMP: 49990c8f

    FAILURE_BUCKET_ID: 0xc2_7_TCPc_vsdatant+3f986

    BUCKET_ID: 0xc2_7_TCPc_vsdatant+3f986



    This one is different it is to do with vsdatant.sys. Do you use Zone Alarm that looks like it cause this alot buy looking on the internet? If you do i would suggest uninstalling it and using Commodo Firewall> http://personalfirewall.comodo.com/download_firewall.html
     
  10. Scorpei

    Member Scorpei GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,295
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Could still be the memory. Memtest isn't the holy grail of memory tests but it for me it has worked for now. It could be that your memory problem caused the zonealarm error. As for the memtest still running: memtest keeps running, and keeps running afaik. Make sure you make at least 1 full pass though your memory (modules in the setup you are / will be using). Could be the clocks / timings are too high / tight. Memory mind you doesn't always work the same in different machines (my memory for example doesn't like running in my server very well, whereas my PC it runs fine).

    Naturally zone alarm could be causing the crash non the less, however I personally never really had any big problems with it (never ran XP SP3 though) aside from failing http on Vista which I can't fully say is ZA's fault. Just keep running diagnostics, you could also try running Orthos from a (windows) live CD to rule out instabilities (it also allows you to test the RAM).
     

Share This Page