What are the functions in preloader (v.029)?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by SG, Oct 28, 2010.

Oct 28, 2010
  1. SG
    OP

    Member SG GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    437
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I installed it as part of a hacked menu but I have 'Installed File' and 'Load/Install File' and don't kow what they're for. I really want to familiarise myself with everything homebrew related. There doesn't appear to be a n00b guide section!
     
  2. koji2009

    Member koji2009 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,193
    Country:
    United States
    Load/install file is so that you can setup a program to run from within preloader then 'installed file' is to run it.

    Do yourself a favor and upgrade to priiloader (a continuation of preloader from another author since preloader is now well over a year out of date) as it's more stable and supports a few more features.
     
  3. hybrid -x1

    Member hybrid -x1 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    124
    Country:
    United States
    this is prii/preloader's sole function..well most important

    if you FUCK UP by doing something on yer wii
    prii/preloader saves your ass a lot of money etc etc.
     
  4. koji2009

    Member koji2009 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,193
    Country:
    United States
    The problem is, priiloader will not save you from 90% of the problems you can cause to your wii. The only things it can really protect you from are....

    A: A bad installed theme

    or

    B: A banner brick (a malformed banner in a custom channel or a corrupted banner in any channel)

    The majority of bricks that people do tend to be IOS related (deleting random IOS because a guide told them to, upgrading their system menu IOS to a stub since they use an older system menu, etc etc) which priiloader won't save you from (since, last I checked, it runs off the same IOS as system menu)
     
  5. SG
    OP

    Member SG GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    437
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    As I already have it I may as well upgrade though. I've downloaded the latest files but don't know how to install - help? [​IMG]
     
  6. Porobu

    Member Porobu Gbatemps Shiny Latias

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,042
    Country:
    Spain
    use ModMii resoftmod your Wii and you have everithing working and updated
     

Share This Page