Weird fan coupling in GameStop refurb 360

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Hacking & Homebrew' started by ZombiePosessor, Feb 20, 2012.

Feb 20, 2012
  1. ZombiePosessor
    OP

    Member ZombiePosessor GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    445
    Location:
    West Virginia
    Country:
    United States
    So I flash drives for all my friends for free, one of them just bought a refurb from GameStop. Came with a LiteOn 16D2S, no big deal. But he had also bought a case for me to swap the guts into, one of those stupid LED clear cases with a custom fan with lights. The thing is, the fan in the refurb had some black netting wire around the power cables, and was routed thru the DVD drive's power cable. If I used the LED fan instead of the one that came with it, the console would NOT power on. I HAD to use the fan included in the refurb'd machine. I'm sure it was just some kind of power dependency thing, but I just didn't think about it. I wish I would've taken a picture to show you guys. Has anyone else ever ran into this? WTF is it, if you have?
     
  2. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,104
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sounds like someone has tampered with it and 12V modded the fans, using the dvd drive 12V as source. Netting just sounds like standard cable braiding to tidy it up. Not turning in with fan plugged in normally, not sure, maybe some sort of fault with the fan header (possibly why they were taking power from dvd instead).
     
  3. ZombiePosessor
    OP

    Member ZombiePosessor GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    445
    Location:
    West Virginia
    Country:
    United States
    Well it came from GameStop as a gameStop refurb, so I'm assuming gamestop did it. And it wasn't 12V'd, I did that to my JTAG, soldered the two points together, this fan ran normal speed when on.
     
  4. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene The Gift of Dino

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    12,902
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Reroute the fans to the power plug connector and connect the DVD normally without any cable attached and see if it boots.
     
  5. dilav

    Member dilav GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,225
    Country:
    United States
    I've seen a lot of these fan mods with different variations. From your description it reminds me of this one:
    http://i1260.photobucket.com/albums/ii574/dilavalid/xfan/IMG112.jpg
    dvd pin 11 - brown
    dvd pin 12 - 75ohm(IIRC) - red

    Not sure why it won't turn on if you are not using it though.
     
  6. ZombiePosessor
    OP

    Member ZombiePosessor GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    445
    Location:
    West Virginia
    Country:
    United States
    yep that's exactly it, wtf is the point of that?
     
  7. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene The Gift of Dino

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    12,902
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Resolder the fan mod to the bottom side of the power plug.
    It should bootup normally after that.
     
  8. ZombiePosessor
    OP

    Member ZombiePosessor GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    445
    Location:
    West Virginia
    Country:
    United States
    nope
     
  9. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene The Gift of Dino

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    12,902
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    It can't possibly be the power brick....

    How many fans/LED's are installed?
     
  10. ZombiePosessor
    OP

    Member ZombiePosessor GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    445
    Location:
    West Virginia
    Country:
    United States
    This is in a refurb 360, and I hadn't put any LEDs in yet, I only replaced the stock rigged fan with a Talismoon fan. When the fan wasn't plugged in, it wouldn't power on. I resoldered the fan mod like you suggested and it did nothing also, I HAD to have that relay set up or it wouldn't power on. I'm thinking about trying a different power supply and see if that does anything.
     
  11. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene The Gift of Dino

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    12,902
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Hmm.

    A bigger PSU should provide more power to the box (I got a 203w Xenon powersupply for my Falcon because the 175w models fan gave the up the ghost)

    I hope that it will do the job for you.
     

Share This Page