WEIRD ERROR MESSAGE

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Kurizh, May 26, 2019.

  1. Kurizh
    OP

    Kurizh Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    May 25, 2019
    Spain
    Hello everyone!! I wanted to post here my little issue hoping someone can help me because this webpage has been a good source of information for me since I softmodded my wii a few days back and in my opinion it has no competition between others.But I will go straight to the point

    I have a problem playing a copy of Metal Slug anthology (NTSC) IOS9 on my PAL WII.
    I can boot the game and play it for a few time but quite often it appears the following error:
    (Can't post the error because it is an hyperlink) But is a black screen with white weird characters that it's not any kind of language and in the middle of that weird message that doesn't mean nothing appears the word OFF (Which is literally the only word that appears)
    When the error happens I can't do nothing but turning off the console.
    And the error happens when I run out of batteries or when the controller turns off by inactivity...

    Can anyone help me please? I would really appreciate it because I don't know what to do.

    Some info about my console:
    I made priiloader booting up straight to the usb loader gx (last update) , my wii is 4.3E (not updated to that ¨4.3E v2¨). And it's also a wii family edition that I bought second hand (but I think that's not really important)

    Hermes CIOS that I have installed:
    Warning: Spoilers inside!

    CIOS D2X that I have installed
    Warning: Spoilers inside!


    Thanks in advance!!
     
    Last edited by Kurizh, May 26, 2019
  2. Larsenv

    Larsenv Dr. Wii, Ph.D

    Member
    7
    Sep 28, 2013
    United States
    DFW
    Could you post a picture? That can be more helpful than words.

    P.S. You could've done a syscheck instead of listing the IOS.
     
  3. Kurizh
    OP

    Kurizh Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    May 25, 2019
    Spain
    I can't because gbatemp doesn't allow newbies to post pictures....
    Unfortunately I can't do that because technically it's not my wii, it's the wii of my brother who lives on a different house. I can only fix the wii on my weekends that is when I see him.
    I was the one who did all the modding to that wii console so I can reply to any question of which it has or has not but I can't simply do a syscheck :wink:
     
  4. Larsenv

    Larsenv Dr. Wii, Ph.D

    Member
    7
    Sep 28, 2013
    United States
    DFW
    Are you able to upload a picture to an image hosting site?
     
  5. Shadow#1

    Shadow#1 Wii & 3DS Softmod Expert

    Member
    12
    Nov 21, 2005
    United States
    Stick with same region games to region of console
     
  6. Kurizh
    OP

    Kurizh Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    May 25, 2019
    Spain
    No ,it doesn't allows me to post it till I get to 100 messages

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    What about these games that aren't in my region? I can play japanese games such naruto gekitou ninja taisen special just fine. If a modded a console was to play any game of any region....
     
    Last edited by Kurizh, May 26, 2019
  7. Shadow#1

    Shadow#1 Wii & 3DS Softmod Expert

    Member
    12
    Nov 21, 2005
    United States
    No that was never the case
     
  8. Kurizh
    OP

    Kurizh Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    May 25, 2019
    Spain
    Are you insinuating anything? Never said that I support something illegal, I just want to play games that normally would be incompatible on my wii. Is that a problem?
    Some people wants for modding for X reason and other for Y, where is the problem? I just don't get it
     
    Last edited by Kurizh, May 26, 2019
  9. Shadow#1

    Shadow#1 Wii & 3DS Softmod Expert

    Member
    12
    Nov 21, 2005
    United States
    Not insinuating your pirating habits at all just saying that your having problems because the games your pirating is having problems because of different region
     
  10. thekarter104

    thekarter104 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Member
    8
    Mar 28, 2013
    United States
    Some games require the same region such as Mario Party 8. Even a disc won't boot if a certain game supports 60Hz only on a PAL Wii.
    Don't know if this is the case with Meal Slug, but try setting the Wii Video Mode to NTSC and the Game region to USA in AnyRegionChanger.

    Not sure if there's any kind of video mode setting on USB Loader, see if they are before using AnyRegionChanger.
     
    Last edited by thekarter104, May 26, 2019
    Kurizh likes this.
  11. Kurizh
    OP

    Kurizh Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    May 25, 2019
    Spain
    Loooooooooooooooooooooooooooool
    Well that's a good one,I laughed hard.
    Look dude, I have a nice collection of games but I just try if I can play it before buying it for me or for someone else. Is that a problem for you? I really don't care because I'm not doing anything illegal. I really dunno why you mod your consoles if it's not for backing up your games but unlike you I won't do any filthy supposition.
    Nice welcome tho :yay::yay:

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Thanks dude! I will try it and see what happens. Will post results when I be able to.^_^

    Thank you so much!
     
    Last edited by Kurizh, May 26, 2019
  12. Kurizh
    OP

    Kurizh Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    May 25, 2019
    Spain
    I was searching on the net and it said that AnyRegionChanger and RegionFrii are outdated and the same loader should be able to force it. Anyways I don't think that is a problem of the region as I can play without issues, I think that maybe I have to do some changes on the usb loader gx but I don't know what to change yet. Is that or is a problem related of having usb loader booting up from the start...I really don't know.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Oh I forgot.
    Why would you want to play Summon Night Swordcraft Story: Begginings Stone if it wasn't released in your country? Don't wanna make some accusations but it smells like ¨pirating habits´ isn't it?
    Oh wow ! What an hypocrite guy
     
  13. XFlak

    XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Member
    9
    Sep 12, 2009
    Canada
    Ontario
    You seem to have a unique set of mods on your console. I would recommend resoftmodding using hacks that are widely accepted as being the standard. Use ModMii to help you with this. You can either follow the main modmii wizard or its syscheck updater wizard.

    After refreshing your mods, check to see if your problem disappears. Region changing is not without risks, but if you decide to region change as a last resort I suggest you use Modmii's region change wizard/guide.

    Lastly, what the heck is system menu 4.3E v2? V2?? Lol
     
    Kurizh likes this.
  14. Shadow#1

    Shadow#1 Wii & 3DS Softmod Expert

    Member
    12
    Nov 21, 2005
    United States
    There was 2 v4.3 system updates
     
  15. Ryccardo

    Ryccardo and his tropane alkaloids

    Member
    14
    Feb 13, 2015
    Italy
    Imola
    Region free only means that the loader doesn't care about the region (which is true of every one except the unpatched Wii Menu)
    That in turn means every disc/backup/wiiware will be launched, but it doesn't mean it will run correctly, because of technical reasons like:
    - being strictly tied to the video mode (geckoOS/usb loaders offer user-selectable patches but results/compatibility is still variable),
    - translations implemented by loading from hardcoded paths depending on region/language/country (the infamous "semi brick" of the Wii Menu, where settings are broken and display a web browser 404, is a well known example)
    - other issues ultimately caused by the software being forced to run on a console that shouldn't be able to, that has non-trivial differences from one that should

    On 3DS and WiiU, the second type is pretty much the only one - and it's solveable with region spoofing (a concept very different from region free); on the Wii (which doesn't have a real operating system in the background, just a kernel - IOS) this luxury doesn't exist (yet) and the only potential solutions are actually region changing your console (which may range from "changing the values in AnyRegionChanger is enough" to "do a full region change as described in ModMii"), or maybe creating a foreign emunand and running the problematic game in said emunand (which has its own problems)

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    3, iirc - the regular one, then they blocked the change-IOS-version-halfway-through-its-installation to block TBR and the like, then the IOS62 launch...
    ...the Wii Menu didn't change in the two last updates, but of course Nintendo asked for it with their stupid "Wii version" numbering scheme ;)
     
    Kurizh likes this.
  16. Kurizh
    OP

    Kurizh Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    May 25, 2019
    Spain
    Amazing reply!
    I have some additional doubts :(

    I know that some games works on 480p 60hz in the NTSC version while the PAL versions usually runs on 480i 50Hz , if I play one of those NTSC games on my PAL console using only the usb loader gx (and it works) it will give a real 480p 60HZ output ?

    If I change a console to NTSC the compatibilty with PAL games would be higher compared to a PAL console with NTSC games?

    Sorry for being such a noob

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    I don't have anything too weird...I made a custom modding based on the use I will give it to the console , took me too long to get it and I wouldn't like to change it now by the very first problem I run into it because i'm pretty sure is not something that surplus if not something that lacks (I don't know if that last line was well written :shy::rofl:)
     
    Last edited by Kurizh, May 26, 2019
Quick Reply
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...