Warning about Rudolph's NDS Backup tool for 3in1

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Magnifico, Oct 22, 2007.

Oct 22, 2007
  1. Magnifico
    OP

    Member Magnifico GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    106
    Country:
    United States
    Jjust a warning to everybody, ive been using Rudolph's NDS backup tool quite a bit lately with my r4 and ez flash 3 in 1. great tool and generally works great, but a warning based on my recent experiences:

    backup in general is a good idea, but make sure to backup important stuff (saves etc) especially bevfore using this tool. When dealing with signle files it seemed to be ok, but lately when i was dumping 5+ saves or games in a row, it consistently created corrupted data in the NDS_BACKUP folder which eventually led to corruption of my entire card after running the tool again. Its happened 3 times now. The last two times i reformatted immediately after getting the corrupt data, but the first time it corrupted my card so bad that neither my computer or r4 would recognize the micro sd. only my digital camera would.

    just be careful, and in general remember to backup your saves!!
     
  2. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    What version of the 3in1 Expansion Pack Tool are you using? Do you have your microSD card formatted as FAT, or FAT32? Also, what specifically do you mean by "dumping 5+ saves or games in a row"?

    The only problem I've had is that _DS_MENU.DAT got corrupted (only a couple of bytes different) so that it couldn't launch _DS_MSHL.nds when I hit the middle button in the menu. This happened twice, and both times it seemed to be related to the 3in1 ExpPack Tool, though I'm not totally sure it was the cause.



    EDIT: Nevermind, I'm thinking of the wrong app.
     
  3. cory1492

    Member cory1492 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,489
    Location:
    Home, WhereElse?
    Country:
    Canada
    If you have a look at Rudolph's site, I beleive he explicitly mentions this as a warning, something along the lines of backup your stuff, else you might lose it when using this tool - "Until now the same, always SD backup to use please."

    Unfortunately, people seem to go all drooling idiot like when they see a tool like the backup tool posted and wind up completely ignoring or sharing a translated warning when spreading the binaries.
     
  4. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've had this happen to me a few times (moonshell corruption that is) now and I don't own a 3-in-1 so I don't think it's anything to do with that. I thought it was just a random thing happening to me.
     
  5. betawind

    Member betawind GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Messages:
    192
    Country:
    United States
    I made an autorun file that runs a batch file that copies my saves out of the directory. Works like a charm.
     

Share This Page