Waninkoko's Menu Patcher>Gamma/softchip?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by LolDaktoa, Dec 20, 2008.

Dec 20, 2008
  1. LolDaktoa
    OP

    Newcomer LolDaktoa Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United States
    Quick question, does Waninkoko's menu patcher eliminate the need for a backup launcher? From my understanding, running the menu patcher and loading a 1:1 backup disc from the disc channel would allow the game to run at it's full speed with 100% compatability? Unlike in gamma/softchip? Correct me if I am wrong.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. CheatingSoi

    Member CheatingSoi Graphic Designer

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,099
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    I know withCustom IOS36 rev07 you can use the menu patcher and it plays games without the backup launcher. But I dont know how reliable it is.
     
  3. Leobgood

    Newcomer Leobgood Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    I've used it, but you have to reload the patcher everytime you reset or turn the wii off.
    It's been easier for me to just use a backup launcher instead.

    As far as full speed and 100% compatibilty - I don't know.
     
  4. kitt050383

    Member kitt050383 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    648
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    no softmod runs at 100% speed...
    softmod 3x
    modchip 6x

    -kitt050383

    as far as i'm aware....
     
  5. LolDaktoa
    OP

    Newcomer LolDaktoa Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United States
    Okay thanks. You seem to be a pretty knowledgeable person Kitt, could you tell me which backup loader/launcher is the best right now? In terms of compatability/speed. Softchip, Gamma, or uhh booting from the disc channel using waninkoko's menu patcher?
     
  6. kitt050383

    Member kitt050383 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    648
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    I'm a modchip man myself....
    But I did install gamma on my friends Wii... Being it's base is of GeckOS... it's got some nice features...
    And I like it...

    But that's just my opinion... I know allot of people keep both softchip and gamma on their Wii's for full range of compatibility...

    -kitt050383
     
  7. Jotokun

    Member Jotokun GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    165
    Country:
    United States
    Its a matter of personal preference. I haven't tried softchip, but the other two are the exact same in terms of speed(3x) and compatibility(very high). I perfer Gamma due to its features, but like I said, its a matter of opinion.
     
  8. Chemical_Warfare

    Member Chemical_Warfare GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    Canada
    i use neither. i use cios rev7 and menupatcher only. games load from the disc channel, i have not seen any difference in compatibility than with using gamma or softchip. also when you play a game, it lists the game name in your history, not time spent in "0.3 Gamma".
     
  9. dnmn8r

    Member dnmn8r GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    404
    Location:
    sydney
    Country:
    Australia
    what is this menupatcher?
    is it a permanent patch? or is it just like the one in gamma where its until you turn off the console
     
  10. megahunter

    Newcomer megahunter Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    55
    Location:
    sweden
    Country:
    Sweden
    actually if you use backuplauncher 0.3gamma and press b you will get back to the wii menu and be able to launch the game in the disch channel and then you vill have the game listed as you played it
     
  11. CIJC

    Member CIJC GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    463
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    why would you bother doing that if you could just boot menupatcher every time [​IMG]
     

Share This Page