Vista not connecting to websites or bittorrent

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Mewgia, May 27, 2008.

May 27, 2008
  1. Mewgia
    OP

    Member Mewgia drifter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,161
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Country:
    United States
    So yeah as the title says, only my Vista computer I have a problem. The little Windows icon thingie in the corner says that the computer is connected, but it doesn't connect or takes at least an hour to load any websites. This includes my router configuration page. Bittorrent transfers at a maximum of 1 kbps, but usually does not work at all.

    However, Instant messengers and steam game updates work just fine. Also, I can ping website via the cli just fine. The response times are normal.

    I have eliminated every hardware possibility and isolated the problem down to my computer. I'm 95% sure that Vista suddenly doesn't like my LAN adapter. When I try ipconfig /renew it says that the LAN adapter is not in a state to complete the operation (or something like that, the computer is off right now).

    Occasionally it will work for the first minute or so that I turn my computer on, and then it starts hanging again.

    I don't really want to reinstall (I already tried an upgrade reinstall and it didn't like my nVidia drivers and BSOD'd).
    I tried rolling back the drivers, and I installed the drivers on the driver CD that came with my motherboard.


    Any ideas?

    Thanks,
     
  2. Maverick_z

    Member Maverick_z When did i join again??

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2002
    Messages:
    590
    Country:
    Canada
    you can always downgrade to XP if you want otherwise you probably have to get vista-compatible stuff for it to work (in other words upgrade some of the stuff on you comp)
     
  3. Mewgia
    OP

    Member Mewgia drifter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,161
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Country:
    United States
    It has been working perfectly for the past 2-3 months and just started bugging up last week.

    And no, I'm not downgrading to XP.

    It's Vista 64-bit, by the way. Doubt that would effect anything but meh just in case.
     
  4. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
    I may potentially know a solution.

    If you restart, does it work normally after a while?
    Does it only slow down after using torrents or having utorrent open?
     
  5. Mewgia
    OP

    Member Mewgia drifter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,161
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Country:
    United States
    It could be utorrent, I have it set to start up with my computer. Never thought about that possibility.

    I'll go try that now.


    And what do you know, that was it. uTorrent suddenly decided to bug up my internet.


    New thread topic: What to do about uTorrent messing up my internets.
     
  6. Saturnplanet5

    Member Saturnplanet5 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Messages:
    652
    Country:
    Australia
    I'd say email utorrents website. See if they come up with a fix. I'm guessing it's got to do with the half open connection thingy XP SP2 was so famous for.
     
  7. Mewgia
    OP

    Member Mewgia drifter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,161
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Country:
    United States
    I think I will just switch to another client. Or just try a simple reinstall.
     
  8. Jiggah

    Member Jiggah GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,223
    Country:
    United States
    You might be choking your connections. You would have to limit the number of connections or use your router's Quality of Service feature to allocate the correct amount of bandwidth for surfing while torrenting.
     
  9. Volsfan91

    Member Volsfan91 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Messages:
    203
    Country:
    United States
    What version are you using?

    Try changing the port too; mine is ticked to change on startup.
     
  10. porchemasi

    Member porchemasi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    172
    Location:
    CANADA
    Country:
    Canada
    you are using a firewall obviously
    temporarily disable it, and see if that fixes [​IMG]
     
  11. Mewgia
    OP

    Member Mewgia drifter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,161
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Country:
    United States
    Do you think I'm that stupid to not think about the firewall? I did that on at least 3 separate occasions while troubleshooting.
    It just never occurred to me that uTorrent, which I have been using since I installed the OS and has not been updated at all, would suddenly start bugging up and killing my connection.


    I am now using Azureus.

    Topic Closed.
     

Share This Page