Virtual Console Question

Discussion in 'Wii - Console and Game Discussions' started by Prior22, Sep 25, 2010.

Sep 25, 2010

Virtual Console Question by Prior22 at 9:41 PM (1,414 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

1. Prior22
    OP

Member Prior22 GBAtemp Fan

United States
    I just started playing Wii Virtual Console titles and thought there were some obvious omissions for what was available. Perfect Dark, Golden Eye, Banjo Kazooie and most of all (atleast for me) Conkers Bad Fur Day. I don't know what the release schedule for VC titles is, but can we expect new N64 releases anytime soon? Also of the titles I listed are any unrealistic to expect for a VC release (because of license issues or something along those lines).

2. Rydian

Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    United States
    Licensing issues is one, but technical is another.

Something like Super Mario 64 is light on an emulator.
    Somethinglike Goldeneye is very heavy and likely to lag on the same specs that would run Mario fine.

3. Juanmatron

Member Juanmatron Slater Color

Spain
    All they are IP´s of Rare. Except GoldenEye. Nintendo didn´t sell the original GoldenEye (but Activision has the license of James Bond).

Maybe Nintendo doesn´t have interest on VC for something named Wad Manager.

4. Bladexdsl

Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

Australia
    all these and more will be available when wii64 is perfected [​IMG]

5. CarbonX13

Member CarbonX13 GBAtemp 台灣人

Taiwan
    Since all but Golden Eye was developed by Rare, which is now owned by Microsoft, I doubt any of those will ever be released. I loved Conker's Bad Fur Day as well, but we'll likely never see it on Virtual Console. Thus, licensing issues killed three of them.

And as mentioned already, Golden Eye will be tough on the emulation hardware, making it difficult to reproduce whereas a Mario game (with far less action) would be much easier.

6. Juanmatron