Virtual Console Limitations?

Discussion in '3DS - Games & Content' started by wiibob, Jun 16, 2011.

Jun 16, 2011

Virtual Console Limitations? by wiibob at 4:31 AM (1,410 Views / 0 Likes) 21 replies

  1. wiibob
    OP

    Member wiibob GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    255
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    What limitations does the virtural consoles have? can it run games from the gba or does it focus on older systems. i know you need a flashcard with alot of power to run gba (dstwo) on dsi. does the 3ds have enough juice to run it on its own? i would love to see gba pokemon games.
     


  2. Schlupi

    Member Schlupi Gbatemp's Official Earthbound Maniac™

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    3,985
    Location:
    Rozen Queen Co, Chicago Branch
    Country:
    United States
    Last time I checked it IS in fact powerful enough to play GBA games, they just choose not to have GBA titles (yet, hopefully they will add them later).
     
  3. hendrix5757

    Newcomer hendrix5757 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    United States
    Zelda four swords was a gba game. That should indicate that gba games will be coming to eshop.
     
  4. Slyakin

    Member Slyakin See ya suckers

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    4,450
    Location:
    Soviet Slyakin
    Country:
    United States
    Well, the thing is, people are saying that it's powerful enough to run GBA games using the example of Four Swords. However, Four Swords is coming to the DSi Shop, not the eShop (you can still get it in the eShop, but it doesn't rely on the 3DS's extra power). So technically, doesn't that mean that the DSi can run GBA games?

    I'm going with a maybe on GBA so far. Sure, we got Four Swords, but it's probably been edited in some way to work for the DSi/3DS. I guess we'll have to wait to see.
     
  5. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    That's ported, not emulated.
     
  6. Slyakin

    Member Slyakin See ya suckers

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    4,450
    Location:
    Soviet Slyakin
    Country:
    United States
    Uhh, could you explain this?

    I kind of don't understand. [​IMG]
     
  7. Schlupi

    Member Schlupi Gbatemp's Official Earthbound Maniac™

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    3,985
    Location:
    Rozen Queen Co, Chicago Branch
    Country:
    United States
    It's different in the sense that a "port" is making a game to a new system completely written in the new system's coding, in other words, you're not going to be playing "Four Swords" from GBA on the DSi with wifi... it'll be a whole new game (MAY have the same graphics, sounds, etc.) just written in DSi code. An emulator is something that would literally just play the GBA rom on the DSi.

    It's like playing Super Mario 64 DS, it's not the same game, but it it completely redone. Or Zelda Ocarina of Time 3DS. Whole new game (well, you know what I mean). Instead of straight up just playing Super Mario Bros emulated on NESDS.

    Porting= remaking game
    emulating= literally playing the same game in a program designed to run it on another platform

    Hope that clears it up. [​IMG]
     
  8. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    The main difference for this conversation is that emulation requires the playing unit to be a lot more powerful than the original.

    With a port, that's not the issue. It's like how a game can come out for both the 360 and the PS3. One is certainly not emulating the other, the game was simply ported.

    "Why don't we port games instead of emulating them?" - Porting requires the game's source code.
     
  9. machomuu

    Member machomuu Drops by occasionally

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    8,437
    Location:
    The Courtroom
    Country:
    United States
    no
    No
    NO!

    A remake =/= port, they are very different. Remakes and ports are not the same thing and have different prerequisites. Well actually, a remake is a port, but a port isn't always a remake.
     
  10. Schlupi

    Member Schlupi Gbatemp's Official Earthbound Maniac™

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    3,985
    Location:
    Rozen Queen Co, Chicago Branch
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry, you're right. I'm tired, and was just trying to explain it as simple as possible. [​IMG]
     
  11. machomuu

    Member machomuu Drops by occasionally

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    8,437
    Location:
    The Courtroom
    Country:
    United States
    Actually, I'm sorry. I didn't mean for it to come out like that, I just get a little defensive when I hear things like that.
     
  12. Schlupi

    Member Schlupi Gbatemp's Official Earthbound Maniac™

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    3,985
    Location:
    Rozen Queen Co, Chicago Branch
    Country:
    United States
    No, no, I completely understand.

    (LEGEND of Mana is the best in the series, right behind Children of Mana. [​IMG])

    Warning: Spoilers inside!
     
  13. Jono1250

    Newcomer Jono1250 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Country:
    Australia
    I have never seen a more polite converse on any thread on any websites.....

    btw personally think, that the 3DS does have enough power to emulate a GBA game.
     
  14. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    PSP can play almost every game at full speed.
     
  15. wiibob
    OP

    Member wiibob GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    255
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    Technically the original DS Phat could run gba games at full speed. im not sure if it "emulated" them though....hmmmm.
     
  16. chris888222

    Member chris888222 GBAtemp's Flygon Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5,532
    Country:
    Singapore
    Kinda off topic but- is there a difference between the 3D classics and virtual console? It has been bugging me for quite awhile.
     
  17. wiibob
    OP

    Member wiibob GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    255
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    3d classic is them remake the game with 3d effects. virtual consoles just the old games untouched.
     
  18. Nathan Drake

    Member Nathan Drake Obligations fulfilled, now I depart.

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    6,192
    Country:
    Antarctica
    The DS slot 2 got all the power and had the GBA hardware required to run GBA games. It was better than a GBA emulator, you basically had the GBA put in there with the DS. The GBA parts could just kind of mooch off of the DS's RAM and processor.

    As for GBA emulation on the 3DS, hell yeah, it is easily possible. Whether Nintendo is willing to do that or not, is a whole different story. As it stands now, they have announced absolutely zero plans of bringing actual GBA games to the Virtual Console.
     
  19. NiGHtS

    Member NiGHtS GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Messages:
    803
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Considering the 3DS is at LEAST as powerful as PSP.

    I'd say it's MORE than possible without exploits and homebrew.
     
  20. Nathan Drake

    Member Nathan Drake Obligations fulfilled, now I depart.

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    6,192
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I would say that the 3DS is definitely more powerful than the PSP (at least, I would hope considering the age of the PSP).
     

Share This Page