Hacking VCFE Wip...

MorPhiend

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 18, 2009
Messages
32
Trophies
0
XP
77
Country
United States
Here is the process I used before:

1. Run "WAD Unpacker.bat" to unpack "in.wad".
2. Use "U8Tool10.1" to extract "00.app".
3. Use "U8Tool10.1" to extract "banner.bin".
4. Use "U8Tool10.1" to extract "icon.bin".
5. Use "brlyt tool" to edit the "banner.brlyt".
6. Use "Save Icon Maker" to make the three icons.
7. Place "banner.tpl" in extracted WAD.
8. Place "VCPic.tpl" in banner_bin_OUT>arc>timg.
9. Place "IconVCPic.tpl" in icon_bin_OUT>arc>timg.
10. Use "U8Tool10.1" to pack "banner.bin". (Delete recursive folders, Use LZ77 compresion, IMD5)
11. Use "U8Tool10.1" to pack "icon.bin". (Delete recursive folders, Don't use LZ77 compresion, IMD5)
12. Use "U8Tool10.1" to pack "00.app". (Delete recursive folders, Don't use LZ77 compresion, IMET)
13. Use "Save Icon and Save Title Injector", select "SNES", source is banner.tpl in extracted WAD, target is 01.app, change "SNES Save" to the title of my WD, click "Set ALL".
14. Use "WAD Packer" to re-pack all app's, cert, tik, tmd and trailer files.

When I tried this before my other post, all went fine until it gave me that error at step 13. I ended up with a functioning WAD with a blurry icon on the Wii Menu, a crisp icon on the next screen and a default SNES save icon.

I just tried RS's suggestion (thanks a ton!). After step 12 I used "U8Tool10.1" to unpack "05.app", copied the "banner.tpl" from the extracted WAD to the extracted "05.app", then re-packed it. I did step 13 and 14 with no errors!

But now I have a channel with a blurry icon on the Wii Menu, a clear icon on the next screen, a clear (but tiny) save icon with a correct title, but when you click on the save it shows the title, plus the old DKC2 sub-title (Diddy's Kong Quest).

I made the .png 256x192. Isn't that the right dimensions? If anyone has any further input on the blurry Wii Menu icon or the sub-title of the game save, let me know. In the meantime, I'm going to experiment with using a smaller image for the save icon instead of the title screen.

And I don't know if these Q's I have are issues that would be helpful for HC to hear in order to iron out problems, or if I'm just plain dumb for not being able to figure them out. If there is a better thread for me to post this, let me know. Thanks.
 

Dr.Rawr

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 4, 2010
Messages
5
Trophies
0
XP
27
Country
United States
I have a problem with Save Inject. When I select the 01.app for the SNES, it crashes with the error "Run-Time Error '5': Invalid procedure call or argument" It won't crash if I select the app file with another Console selected.

Additional information: I have the FM20.dll in the folder, along with the zip file and application. I injected Earthbound into DKC2 using this tutorial.

TIA,
-Dr.Rawr
EDIT: Nevermind, I used a hex editor and stuff. It would be nice to have an answer anyways.
EDIT EDIT: Nevernevermind. It didn't work. I think if I had Save Inject working, the rest would work.
 

jaceguay

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Jul 5, 2008
Messages
1
Trophies
0
XP
68
Country
Brazil
everytime i click Inject in save icon injector it gives Run-time error '76': Path not found, and if I choose Genesis as a console and click the file brower button in source Tpl it goes to the folder choose screen and not the file choose.
Any ideas what I can do?
 

RadioShadow

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 30, 2007
Messages
550
Trophies
1
Age
35
Location
UK
XP
629
Country
You know how in certain SNES WADs you can only use one line instead of two lines for the "Save Name"? Well, that's pretty easy to fix to allow the use of both lines in any SNES WAD.

In the "00000001.app" file, locate the save name. Just after the space for the second line, you will notice a hex value that says either "1A" or "1B". See blue circle in image below:
SNES-Save.png


If the hex value is set to:
1A = Displays both lines of text
1B = Only displays the first line of text
 

G0dLiKe

who needs a title ;)
Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2009
Messages
1,674
Trophies
0
Website
db.tt
XP
206
Country
United States
Dr.Rawr said:
I have a problem with Save Inject. When I select the 01.app for the SNES, it crashes with the error "Run-Time Error '5': Invalid procedure call or argument" It won't crash if I select the app file with another Console selected.

Additional information: I have the FM20.dll in the folder, along with the zip file and application. I injected Earthbound into DKC2 using this tutorial.

TIA,
-Dr.Rawr
EDIT: Nevermind, I used a hex editor and stuff. It would be nice to have an answer anyways.
EDIT EDIT: Nevernevermind. It didn't work. I think if I had Save Inject working, the rest would work.

I found out that save inject for SNES/SFC games is working like that: unpack your wad, then open the 00000005.app with u8 tool, run save injector, select tpl and 00000001.app, set the save text, save and hit inject. You will see it works this way
wink.gif


Dont forget to repack the 00000005.app
smile.gif


Pack wad with wwpacker and install.

Enjoy your inject with save banner and text
 

Vahkiti

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2009
Messages
114
Trophies
1
Age
32
Location
Canadialand
Website
www.youtube.com
XP
397
Country
Canada
Hey, here are my fast packed folders:
http://www.mediafire...ni1anhdn410wpdy
I hope everything is included, I use them regulary and they work well ;)

Judging by the apparent replacement, I'm guessing this doesn't need the "CCF Tools" program. You are a live saver. Many thanks. ^_^

EDIT: Uh.. never mind that previous statement, I actually still can't find a way to extract the CCF file. =/ (Injecting a Genesis rom)
 

Kirä69

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 9, 2013
Messages
9
Trophies
0
XP
77
Country
I need CCF Tool 2.0 but I can't find any online link to download it. Will someone do me a favor and upload it? Thank you.
 

gootube2000

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 20, 2014
Messages
6
Trophies
1
XP
130
Country
United States
I realize that this is an outdated topic, but would anyone happen to know why I'm getting the following error on VC brlyt?

"Component 'comdlg32.ocx' or one of its dependencies not correctly registered: a file is missing or invalid"
p.s. Yes, I Googled it.

Edit2: Download Microsoft ActiveX Control Pad to get this to work. In some cases it may need more setup.
 
Last edited by gootube2000,

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    the internet
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    @Psionic Roshambo i have 16 gb in my pc and i run into issues with ram more than i'd like to admit
  • HiradeGirl @ HiradeGirl:
    I got only 8GB of RAM. But I want 32GB.
  • Sonic Angel Knight @ Sonic Angel Knight:
    Time to just download more ram
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Yeah search Google
  • Sonic Angel Knight @ Sonic Angel Knight:
    Or, I also heard that if you use flash memory, it can act as more "RAM" at least windows tell me when I stick a flash drive into it.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    It can act as a swap drive but that isn't more RAM, it's slooow.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I wish we could have 1Gbps external storage by now
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Like for micro
  • Veho @ Veho:
    New Myoo.
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @Veho, Yooo noice
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    Looks like a Famicom handheld
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Yeah, they were going for that.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    It's not very good though.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    I'm watching the review, the emulators it uses suck bawls.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Software update might improve it.
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Or maybe someone will make like Emulation Station for it or something?
  • Veho @ Veho:
    That counts as a software update :tpi:
    +1
  • OctoAori20 @ OctoAori20:
    Ello
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I can think of the design teams process another joystick and no audio or a joystick and mono audio
  • Veho @ Veho:
    "You think we can just put the speakers at the top
    ?" "NO!"
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Pft stereo speakers you're fired
    +1
    K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2: Pft stereo speakers you're fired +1