moo948

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Hello,

I am new to the whole hacking/homebrew idea, but after I was able to get the Homebrew Channel through the Twilight Hack, things are pretty good.

However, I have a problem that needs resolving.

As many of you know, a form of Visual Boy Advance( the GBA/GBC Emulator) can be used in the Wii Homebrew Channel.
I downloaded the newest version of VBA for Homebrew Channel from wiibrew.org.

Its called "Visual Boy Advance Version 1.7.2 Port to Wii".

VBA works fine in the Homebrew Channel. It loads my ROMs perfectly.

However, some of my ROMs have issues. Pokemon Firered for instance, is 16MB, so it takes a little while for the emulator to load it. Not a problem at all.

But, after you press start at the title screen of Pokemon Firered, it shows a message: "The 1M sub-circuit board is not installed." Then the game continues on with no problem, until I try to save in game (like you would on a real GBA).

It says "Save error, Please exchange the backup memory".

On VBA on the Hombrew Channel, upon choosing Pokemon Firered ROM, it says: 16MB (128Mbits)

Whenever I save the game using the VBA Pause Menu, it always says "save OK!"

However, if I exit the channel or ever try to play Pokemon Firered again, I must start all over with the same "sub-cicuit board" message and in game save error.

I have noticed, that all of my ROMs that are 16MB (128Mbits) will not allow me to save my progress or load it. Whenever I exit a game that is 128Mbits, I must always start over again upon loading it.

I have been told that some GBA games (Pokemon Firered/LeafGreen), save in Flash 128K instead of Flash 64K.

This is the problem, I need to be able to save/load my games fro ROMs that use 128K for saving.

I can fix this problem on the computer version of VBA. I just go to options --> save type --> Falsh 128K. Then it works!

However, I cannot do this on the Wii version. (as you know)