VBA saves

Discussion in 'EZ-Flash' started by Isaac, Dec 22, 2012.

Dec 22, 2012

VBA saves by Isaac at 11:13 PM (631 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. Isaac
    OP

    Member Isaac American

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    318
    Location:
    Here? Right here? What about, say... over there?
    Country:
    United States
    I'm getting a ez-flash 3in1 in the mail sometime soon. Should be next week. So I have been playing games on an emulator (VBA) and Its has an option to export a game as a battery file. Is it possible for me to use these saves on my ez flash?
     
  2. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,747
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah that export function (plus a rename to whatever your 3 in 1 handling program expects) sorts it out in most cases. The biggest annoyance usually comes from pokemon and VBA's subpar save handling (if you had to select the version of save to have pokemon work then you have encountered it)- VBA stops a few steps short of where flash carts do.

    There was a little program to help matters but I seem to have lost the link, if you can drag up the EZ4 threads it works in much the same way though. Try out the basic export first though and if you have problems post back and we can start linking tools and maybe try to sort a method.
     
  3. Isaac
    OP

    Member Isaac American

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    318
    Location:
    Here? Right here? What about, say... over there?
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, I'll try that when I get it. One other question, if I were to get a pokemon rom would I be able to migrate pokemon to nds games?
     
  4. Wizerzak

    Member Wizerzak Because I'm a potato!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,784
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Completely unrelated but I could swear when I went to sign up 2 1/2 years ago the username 'Isaac' was taken. :(
     
  5. Isaac
    OP

    Member Isaac American

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    318
    Location:
    Here? Right here? What about, say... over there?
    Country:
    United States
    The world may never know.
     
  6. Pedro_Lambrini

    Member Pedro_Lambrini Gēmu Bōi Adobansu

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    Messages:
    293
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It kinda surprises me that there isn't full save file compatibility between VBA and (the very few) GBA/slot 2 flashcarts.

    Now that the K1 and K101 are out maybe the VBA-M devs might think about supporting them too?

    Maybe it's worth a post over at the VBA-M forum...
     
  7. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,747
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There is save compatibility though- you export a battery save (after saving properly in the game) and most of the time it works. When it does not (and assuming it is not a filename issue) it tends to then be a matter of trimming or padding the save to the appropriate size (a trivial act).
     
  8. Isaac
    OP

    Member Isaac American

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    318
    Location:
    Here? Right here? What about, say... over there?
    Country:
    United States
    It worked! thank you. but I have another question. Can I continue playing on vba? When I try to import the battery file It gives me an error message.​
     
  9. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,747
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    VBA gives you an error message or the game eventually gives you an error message?

    Also what cart/software are you using with your 3 in 1 and what game is it that is causing the problems?

    If you can upload the save somewhere so someone else can try some stuff that might help too.
     
  10. Isaac
    OP

    Member Isaac American

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    318
    Location:
    Here? Right here? What about, say... over there?
    Country:
    United States
    Vba gives me an error message. I'm using an acekard 2i, and I'm trying to play Pokemon ruby. I just tried again and it no longer giving me an error message but my saves not there, but it still works on my ds.
     
  11. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,811
    Country:
    Antarctica
    AKAIO adds a header to all gba saves it makes. this header has to be removed if you wish to use it in VBA or in a real cart.
     
  12. Isaac
    OP

    Member Isaac American

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    318
    Location:
    Here? Right here? What about, say... over there?
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, I'm a noob. Whats a header and how do I remove it? plz.
     
  13. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,811
    Country:
    Antarctica
    The header can be removed with a hex editor. there is an app on filetrip that can remove the header, that you can look for.

    The header is boxed in red.
    [​IMG]
     
  14. Isaac
    OP

    Member Isaac American

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    318
    Location:
    Here? Right here? What about, say... over there?
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you! The helped tremendously!
     

Share This Page