1. catlover007

    OP catlover007 Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2015
    Messages:
    433
    Country:
    Germany
    VBA-next switch is a port of the Game Boy Advance emulator VBA-M for Switch. It's based off the libretro version of VBA-M(VBA-next) but is completely detached from libretro.

    Because it's based of VBA-M the compability is very high and almost all games run at fullspeed.

    It probably works on all FWs where the hb menu is available(but no guarantees).

    Downloads:
    You can find the newest release always here:
    https://github.com/RSDuck/vba-next-switch/releases

    Screenshots:
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Old post:
    A quick port of VBA-next(VBA-M https://github.com/libretro/vba-next). I developed it on 4.1 so, it definitely works on this version. It's partly based of 3DSGBA https://github.com/shinyquagsire23/3DSGBA.

    I tested it with only a few games, but as far as I can tell they run great, except the menu of Fire Embled The Sacred Stones, were the music in the start menu has small hiccups. Works now perfectly for me

    For more infos see here: https://github.com/RSDuck/vba-next-switch
    Get it here: https://github.com/RSDuck/vba-next-switch/releases
     
    Last edited by catlover007, Jun 14, 2018
    XAIXER, gabrieldantasv, tpax and 54 others like this.
  2. Deathbot64

    Deathbot64 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2014
    Messages:
    330
    Country:
    Canada
    Well I'll give this a go on 5.0.2 shortly
     
  3. JJTapia19

    JJTapia19 I fight for my friends.
    Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Messages:
    2,172
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    Working great on 5.0.2 in terms of performance but audio is not working for some reason :unsure:
     
  4. DogParty

    DogParty GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Messages:
    169
    Country:
    United States
    Excellent job! Is there a rom loading GUI? Also, do the roms have to be in a specific folder? I can't test atm but looking forward to it :)
     
  5. JJTapia19

    JJTapia19 I fight for my friends.
    Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Messages:
    2,172
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    There's a minimal rom loading gui. No need for a specific rom path. :)
     
  6. Yoshi9288

    Yoshi9288 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    122
    Country:
    Germany
    Works Great on 5.0.2 but it has no Audio, but great job anyway. ^^
     
  7. catlover007

    OP catlover007 Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2015
    Messages:
    433
    Country:
    Germany
    there was a problem with the audio, it's fixed now! Just download the new version here: https://github.com/RSDuck/vba-next-switch/releases
     
    H1B1Esquire and JJTapia19 like this.
  8. Karl_87

    Karl_87 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    anyone got a screenshot/video of menu?
     
  9. IC-Cojiro

    IC-Cojiro Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 22, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Brazil
    omg! Now its perfect! thx a lot man!
    Playing Metroid fusion! no glitches.
    4.1 here
     
    Last edited by IC-Cojiro, May 22, 2018
    Pluupy and H1B1Esquire like this.
  10. CatmanFan

    CatmanFan Anxious and regretful
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2016
    Messages:
    1,951
    Country:
    Morocco
    Not sure if you would be able to port other LibRetro cores like you did with this one...
     
    ownedlol likes this.
  11. Yoshi9288

    Yoshi9288 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    122
    Country:
    Germany
    Audio works now but Sound is extremly Scratchy. But thanks for porting this. :)
     
    jakibaki likes this.
  12. JJTapia19

    JJTapia19 I fight for my friends.
    Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Messages:
    2,172
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    Tested and audio is working now but really choppy in all the games I've tested for some reason :unsure:. Not sure if it's the same in 4.1
     
    jakibaki likes this.
  13. catlover007

    OP catlover007 Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2015
    Messages:
    433
    Country:
    Germany
    it depends on the game. As I said above I haven't tried many games, can you please name the game you're playing?
     
  14. JJTapia19

    JJTapia19 I fight for my friends.
    Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Messages:
    2,172
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    I've tested: TLOZ link to the past, Super Mario Advance 4, TLOZ Minish Cap, Wario Ware Inc., Wario Land 4. In 5.0.2 it doesn't seem like it's game dependent :unsure:
     
    Last edited by JJTapia19, May 22, 2018
  15. Yoshi9288

    Yoshi9288 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    122
    Country:
    Germany
    Super Mario Advance, Super Mario Advance 4, Mario Kart Super Circuit, Advance Wars and Advance Wars 2
     
    Last edited by Yoshi9288, May 22, 2018
  16. ownedlol

    ownedlol GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Messages:
    121
    Country:
    United States
    Fantastic work.

    Are you working on any other projects alongside this?
     
  17. Cencil

    Cencil GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2016
    Messages:
    232
    Country:
    Canada
    Thanks a ton for porting this over. I too have scratchy sound in all the 6 roms i tested. Curious, the screen size seems smaller than GDKgba - is there any way to increase it to be near the size of the switch's screen?

    edit: tested on 5.1
     
    Last edited by Cencil, May 22, 2018
  18. SimplyBobo

    SimplyBobo Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    Crashing when I load my GBA ROMs folder. Full set. 4.x.
     
  19. angelhp

    angelhp GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Messages:
    476
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for this port ...Can you add bilinear filter ??
     
  20. Cencil

    Cencil GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2016
    Messages:
    232
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm getting an issue with the emulator finding certain roms. Majority of them are there but weirdly enough both Zelda's alttp and minish cap don't show up? Double checked on gdkgba and my sd card and the roms are there :huh:
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Switch(works,