Using a Slot-2 device with the R4

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by tsunamikitsune, Oct 17, 2008.

Oct 17, 2008
  1. tsunamikitsune
    OP

    Newcomer tsunamikitsune Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    With the English Mother 3 patch on its way, I'm looking into buying a Slot-2 device for use with my R4. The EZ Flash 3 in 1 looks pretty nice, but I'd like to know a few things first:

    How many GBA games can I play at a time with one of these? It doesn't look like there's any microSD slot or anything, so are the ROMs run from the R4's memory?

    Also, is the EZ Flash 3 in 1 the best way to go? It seems nice to have the other functions in there, too, but if something without the RAM and rumble would function better, I'd probably rather have that.

    Thanks in advance for helping me out. [​IMG]
     
  2. psycoblaster

    Member psycoblaster Divine

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,132
    Location:
    Seoul.. (in Korea)
    Country:
    Korea, South
    I don't quite get what you are trying to say about that.
    If it has rumble or extra RAM, you will get it?
    Well the rumble pack and the extra RAM are both separate slot 2 devices.
     
  3. tsunamikitsune
    OP

    Newcomer tsunamikitsune Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    This is what I get for typing when I'm tired. [​IMG]

    I meant to ask, are the games stored on the R4 so I can play as many as I can fit on the card? I assume so because there's no kind of storage on the 3 in 1 itself (to my knowledge).

    As for my other question, I was wondering if there are any downsides to having all three of those functions in one. This 3 in 1 card seems pretty cheap compared to some other cards, so I'm wondering why that is. The 3 in 1 has more functions, but do they have a negative effect on the card's ability to play GBA games? Is it simply a lower quality model?
     
  4. dogman

    Member dogman GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    174
    Location:
    Santiago, Chile
    Country:
    Chile
    gba expLoader. It lets you run games in:

    PSRAM mode (
     
  5. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    seems like all the 3-in-1 facts have been stated for you. i own one and love it. works great, some problem games can be patched. also functions as a ram expansion for quake2ds and other homebrew that can use it. the other of quake told me he found the 3-in-1 to clock the fastest for ram and the most reliable. if you have the money to spend i can also recommend a m3 lite. i own one as well and it is great for ram expansion, gba, and nds via passme.

    cheers,
    -another world
     

Share This Page