USB Loader GX

By cyrex, Apr 19, 2009 6,142,392 27,264 40

  1. jeannotte

    jeannotte GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2016
    Messages:
    3,017
    Country:
    France
    Hello,

    Yes I also confirm
     
  2. ukigh4ie

    ukigh4ie Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2020
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Germany
    How do I pair the main/first WiiMote when the game has been launched with full EmuNAND emulation via USB Loader?

    I have to copy the entire NAND to the EmuNAND every time. Is there an easier way? In which path/file of the NAND is the information about the paired WiiMotes?
     
  3. XFlak

    XFlak Wiitired but still kicking
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    11,296
    Country:
    Cyprus
    Gx has a feature to dump sysconf, that will do it. However, that's just for neek iirc, otherwise you should be able to sync wiimotes from within a game the same way you would from the official system menu
     
  4. blackb0x

    blackb0x GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2019
    Messages:
    211
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Like I said before...
    The codes basically there, but to only disable the filter it needs some changes and it obviously needs to be optional.

    Have you ever tried using "Force NTSC480p" either with or without dol patching also set to ALL?
     
  5. johw

    johw Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2020
    Messages:
    76
    Country:
    Brazil
    When the mod tab file comes out will it stay in the two download description? USB Loader GX normal and Mod Tab?
     
    Incure likes this.
  6. NoobletCheese

    NoobletCheese GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2018
    Messages:
    165
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, in fact I tried all the video patching options in all combinations.

    Question: when USB Loader forces NTSC480p, is that referring to...




    edit: it seems USB Loader's video mode patching is somewhat unreliable as I haven't been able to successfully force a video mode change for Mario Kart Wii NTSC to any other mode.

    So it probably wouldn't work anyway and we'd need to do offline patching of the game's main.dol file using a hex editor.

    edit2: I tried patching Mario Kart's main.dol according to these instructions by Draxikor, and USB Loader successfully loads the patched dol (since blanking the file causes system to hang on launch) but I observe no difference in image clarity.

    edit3: I patched Metroid: Other M and SSB: Brawl, and it is definitely working -- graphics are much clearer in both game and system menu overlay, and Brawl's deflicker on/off menu setting no longer does anything (it is always off regardless of what I set it to).

    Therefore it appears Mario Kart Wii does not use Ntsc480ProgSoft. I suspect it may use Ntsc480ProgAa, and perhaps it is possible to patch it to Ntsc480Prog as well. I have no idea how to discover the relevant hex values -- using Dolphin's debugger maybe? Paging @Extrems ... :)

    edit: probably best to continue this discussion in the relevant thread: https://gbatemp.net/threads/possible-to-disable-the-wiis-de-flicker-filter.477163/#post-9431042
     
    Last edited by NoobletCheese, Apr 6, 2021
  7. totakeke95

    totakeke95 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2020
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    Spain
    Well, last night I was playing Adventures of Tintin and still freezes after a while... Need any specific adjustment?
     
  8. alexander1970

    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2018
    Messages:
    13,176
    Country:
    Austria
    Hello.:)

    Oh,that is sad to hear......:(

    Exactly on the Same Time/Position/Scene ?

    I will have look on it.:)


    Do you use an ORIGINAL Nintendo Wii Motion / Wii Motion Plus / Motion Plus Adapter / Nunchuck ? :unsure:
     
    ca032769 and jeannotte like this.
  9. totakeke95

    totakeke95 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2020
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    Spain
    It happens at the end of chapter or when I go to the 2D phases. I think the AP of this game is very fucked up :P

    And of course, my controls are originals purchased 14 years ago. I use wii mote and nunchuk.
     
    jeannotte and alexander1970 like this.
  10. alexander1970

    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2018
    Messages:
    13,176
    Country:
    Austria

    Ok,it freezes randomly.....
    (.....I am sorry,I did not played the Game before,I only tested the Boot Up and the first Level Flight)

    First: Right after the Plane Crash
    Re-Boot - reloaded Savegame - continues on exact the Point were it crashes

    Second: After Tim bought the Ship and then he go to the old Man and read in the Book about the Ship.
    Re-Boot - reloaded Savegame - continues on exact the Point were it crashes

    Third: After he founds the secret Pergament in the Model Ship
    Re-Boot - reloaded Savegame - continues on exact the Point were it crashes

    Forth: After the Ending from Chapter 1 and in the Loading Screen
    Re-Boot - reloaded Savegame - continues on exact the Point were it crashes

    @blackb0x

    Seems maybe a (Real) Save Issue.After the Game freezes and Reseting/Re-Booting the Game,it exactly continues on the Point were it has freezed.

    emuNANDSave is disabled.

    EDIT: It is not really a Wii FREEZE,because you can return to the Loader by Short Pressing Power on the Wii.

    Thank you.:)
     
    Last edited by alexander1970, Apr 8, 2021
    ca032769, jeannotte and totakeke95 like this.
  11. jeannotte

    jeannotte GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2016
    Messages:
    3,017
    Country:
    France
    Hello,

    I tested it, and it often freezes in several places as @alexander1970 notes.

    I had to relaunch the game several times, and it ended up saving, so I was able to continue playing.
    I think there is a problem in the game or others ??
     
    ca032769 and alexander1970 like this.
  12. blackb0x

    blackb0x GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2019
    Messages:
    211
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Last edited by blackb0x, Apr 8, 2021
  13. alexander1970

    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2018
    Messages:
    13,176
    Country:
    Austria
    jeannotte and ca032769 like this.
  14. matto21

    matto21 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    359
    Country:
    Italy
    The adventures of TIN TIN
    Driver San Francisco
    they have protections and they lock
    only with Sneek do they start
     
    jeannotte, ca032769 and alexander1970 like this.
  15. blackb0x

    blackb0x GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2019
    Messages:
    211
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    https://gbatemp.net/posts/8841134

    I've personally played Driver without Sneek. And alexander1970 confirmed that it works now too. You just need to use the default settings with no video patches or cheats (Ocarina off).
     
    Last edited by blackb0x, Apr 8, 2021
  16. SubElement

    SubElement Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Wondering if anyone can help me out.

    I’m having a weird bug where USB Loader GX thinks it’s the completely wrong date and time. Currently it thinks the date is 05/20/2157. I have no idea where it’s getting this date from.

    The date and time are correct in the system menu and other homebrew such as WiiXplorer pulls the right time.

    Any ideas anyone?
     
  17. blackb0x

    blackb0x GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2019
    Messages:
    211
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    As far as I'm aware only the Wii menu displays both the date and the time and you'd adjust them from the calendar settings. The loader should only ever display the time, as shown in Google images.
     
    Last edited by blackb0x, Apr 12, 2021
    cvskid likes this.
  18. SubElement

    SubElement Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Apologies, I should clarify.

    You are correct, the menu does just show time. But when I go to save a game, let’s say in Super Mario Galaxy, that’s where it has the date. Save files are time stamped far in to the future.

    Edit: I should also state that the time in the USB Loader GX is also incorrect and matches the time win the game save time stamps.
     
    Last edited by SubElement, Apr 13, 2021
    alexander1970 likes this.
  19. Shawshank

    Shawshank Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2011
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    Belgium
    Hi everybody,

    I have bought a Samsung Fit 256GB flashdrive because it seems to be a good choice (also practical and esthetically, not only technical) for my Wii and it worked well during some weeks, then stopped to work with USB Loader GX v1272 only (still working with Cfg USB and Wiiflow Lite). it is stuck on 'Initializing USB device'. I re-format/re-parititon several times with different tools/OS and tried with different cIOS. it is changing nothing and I am completely lost :-(

    So, I am kindly asking some advices to the community : if you have an idea...


    Note that I tried USB loader GX with all these cIOS, and only 58 and 249 (very slow for this one as USB 1.1) are listing backups. But with 58, I can't run any backup.
    Cfg loader and Wiiflow are working well and fast with IOS 251 and USB loader GX is aborting 'initializing USB device' step with this one.
    Nintendont does not have any issue with this flashdrive. neither Windows, Linux, Blu-Ray player or any other device.
    I also tried others versions of USB loader GX (1271, 1248, 1269 mod4 by Cyan) : same results
    I also tried 1272 mod6 by blackb0x, but it is worst as I have a crash before 'Initializing USB device' step.

    I am usually using only 1 FAT32 partition of 256GB with 32K, MBR and aligned with Mib, but I also tried with 2 primary partitions (2 FAT32 and 1 FAT32 + 1 NTFS) : same result unfortunately. I tried this in case there is a partition size limit of 128GB hard coded somewhere.

    I am maybe used some weird slots (like 247) which is usually unused. is there hard coded controls in source code to force using slots between 249 and 251 only for example ?

    Please, don't ask me to install some weird tools like 'Pimp my Wii', I will NOT. I would like to really understand what is the reason and what I did wrong.

    Regards,
    Shawshank
     
    Last edited by Shawshank, Apr 22, 2021
    alexander1970 likes this.
  20. SubElement

    SubElement Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Okay, weird. I just loaded back in to my Wii to do some more troubleshooting and the issue is no longer present...

    I truly have no idea what happened yesterday. I changed nothing...

    Thank you everyone who helped out!
     
    alexander1970 likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Loader,